We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanside Resort Motel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Awful!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The cabin was dirty smelly house keepers Didnt come to ur cabin to see if u needed anything very much only one time and I stayed there for a week really expensive for not having much in the cabin and lazy staff members sketchy people outside that live there drinking smokin weed and just a bunch of dirty people i wouldn't recommend this place to anyone worst place I've ever stayed at

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulBCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
34
23
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had this placed reserved for my hubby's bday weekend. Aug 9-11 we had 6 of us two we're kids. The "Oceanfront" cabin did not have a deck as we were told it would. Only 1 of the cabins has a walkout deck. Ours had a bunch of rusted out broken lawn furniture and coat hangers and garbage lying in front of it. The "fire pit" was a rusted out tire rim littered with cigarette butts and drug paraphanelia. The toilet seat was melted and brown. The cabin stank of urine and cigarette Butts because there were other guests staying at the interior rooms smoking by our door. Customer service at this place was excellent and they let us cancel with no charge. We wound up spending extra money to ferry back to the island and staying at a resort on qualicum beach at a last minute price of 250 a night. Thanks for ruining my vacation Oceanside resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teenas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a fabulous stay for a week at the end of July. The cabins are rustic with modern amenities and the waterfront cabins all have a deck facing the ocean. We love our spending time on the deck, on the beach searching for shells, kayaking and the campfires each evening in our own firepit were amazing. Our son had a great time as well with the indoor pool and games room. He also met lots of other children to play with. We come every year and we look forward to our visit next year.

Room Tip: Think ahead--a year if possible to book a waterfront cabin. It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently stayed at this motel, because everything else in town was taken. I now why this was still available. It was rundown, dirty, and very old. example, bed was 4 feet long, sofa was old and dirty, covered with a tattered sheet, Tv was not working, because there was no plug in on the wall to plug it in. Flooring was lifting, and sticky. I had to unplug the fridge to plug in my flat iron. It smelled, looked and was dirty.
The people hanging around were drinking and smoking weed. Kids running around unsupervised. This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loriarndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed over the long weekend in May for my nephew's wedding. What a great place for a family event. There was a space for two large wedding tents so the wedding dinner for 150 people could be under the tents in case of rain. The children enjoyed the playground and beach and the adults enjoyed oysters and clams and the fire pits by the beach, It was easy to prepare food in the kitchens.
The staff was helpful and the rooms were clean. A great place for a wedding or family reunion.

Room Tip: The cabins along the beach front are large and have a beautiful view. Room 103 up the stairs is new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamont, Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed for six days and attended my son's wedding that was held at this resort. Very relaxing and we found the staff and owners to be very accomodating. The two rooms we stayed in were very clean and comfortable. I would recomend this motel for anyone who is planning to relax or host an event oceanside was the best! This was the second time I was there and already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comox valley
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very clean, affordable and accommodating. Just attended a wedding where we rented out almost the whole resort. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms, pool and play area very clean.Amazing view, firepits, decks, patio furniture, dishes,just about everything you need for a nice little beachside getaway on the cheap.There also is a common BBQ kitchen for the oysters and clams you can get right off the beach.Think we should make that a yearly tradition.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Powell River hotels
6.2 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.5 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
#2 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beyond Bliss Suites
Beyond Bliss Suites
#1 of 19 in Powell River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
5.9 mi away
Seabreeze Resort
Seabreeze Resort
#7 of 10 in Powell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
3.5 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#5 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Resort Motel

Property: Oceanside Resort Motel
Address: 8063 Highway 101, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 4Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanside Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oceanside Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing