We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Courthouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our planned trip up the sunshine coast and over to Vancouver Island. Our plan only allowed for one night in Powell River but wish it had been more. I try to find hotels with some character rather than the regular chain sameness. The Old Courthouse Inn has character and much more. I can understand that people might not be impressed with the location near the lumber mill but there was no smell and the area was completely safe. Understanding the history of the area (thanks to JC) just makes the location that much more interesting. This is the original old company town and much nicer than the newer town next door. As other have said, the hotel is full of interesting antiques and many pictures. I found our room very comfortable and roomy. The bed was great and we had the room with the bathtub which was really nice. Did not find the prices out of line especially since it included breakfast. The breakfast is just wonderful, you have to have the eggs benny! It's all so fresh and tasty. JC recommended the Alchemist restaurant for dinner and we couldn't have been more pleased. Will write a review on that too.

Considering this is under new management, JC has managed to immediately make a statement that he is out to do all the right things. I wish him luck, thank him for a memorable stay and encourage others to try it out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 363 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed three nights at this Inn, and overall I think it was a pleasant one. The host JP was quite welcoming and gave us the tour of the property, including its historic heritage. I found the room quite clean although I would suggest an update to the small fridge in the room,as it was quite noisy when put on.
The meals at the cafe downstairs where quite good, and the staff were friendly. It seems to be a favourite of the locals as tables where all booked up for Mothers day.
Our room was room 12, which overlooked the pulp mill and the sea. This may not be appealing to some people, however, given that Powell River was an industrial town, we didn't let it spoil our enjoyment.
We however, found the room prices somewhat pricey, in comparison to other hotels we had stayed during our stay in Canada. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at this Inn, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myntec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The property is under new ownership and as such many of the changes are to be commended. We stayed three nights and the room was number 12 with views over the sea and the pulp mill. This was not a problem for us as it is understood that Powell River has a forestry/industrial heritage. However it is not a pretty setting! The house is surrounded by concrete in the form of parking lots. It is quite distant from the ferry and the main drag which consists of a few shops. It was a $14 ride from the ferry. We felt you need a car if you stay at the Old Courthouse.The house is full of history and JP gave us an interesting tour pointing out various historical facts. There are many antiques of varying quality and there is a strange mish-mash of styles some not so appealing but that is certainly a matter of personal taste. The rooms were clean, the bathroom tiny.
We found the cost of the stay high. We paid similar prices for a boutique hotel in Victoria with more space and amenities and this was certainly not high season.
We enjoyed our stay at the Old Courthouse. JP is a very friendly host and attentive. We had to leave early and he provided us with a packed breakfast to go.
Plusses: friendly staff and clean room. We have stayed at many heritage hotels and this one is in early development and has great potential. However it is quite pricey for what is on offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12 with an east facing outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoriandavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Old Courthouse Inn is under new management with an eye for detailed heritage restoration. There are only 8 rooms but each is lovingly restored. Breakfast is included and should not to be missed. Whether work or play brings to PR, you won't go wrong at this stop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

When we first drove up to the hotel and noticed the big plant across the road, we thought we were going to be disappointed. But the hotel itself is so delightful, and the owners are so accommodating, the lack of a pristine view didn't seem so important. This inn is full of history, nick-nacks and is like going to visit an elderly aunt whom you love. Touches such as having magazines and books in the room, comfy furniture and real tea cups along with a kettle made it feel more like home and less like a hotel. And there is wifi, so if you need to work or catch up you certainly can. There is some refurbishing happening, but it didn't detract from the experience. The breakfast was FABULOUS with everything fresh and home made, and included in the price of the room. I found myself smiling over all the personal touches - including flannel sheets on the comfy bed. It is an old building and so if you are looking for sterile same-ness, this isn't the place for you. Myself, if I am ever in Powell River again, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catha14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

As a business traveller I have stayed in many chain hotels. This hotel is defiinitely not your cookie cutter chain hotel. With 10' vaulted ceilings, antiques strategically placed, photos of times past; this hotel celebrates both its own place in the history of Powell River, and that of the town itself.
The free breakfast was very good, and had a home cooked flavour though with the 'in-house' chef feel. Homemade jam, homecut potatoes, and thick slice bacon really made it!
The minor downsides were small shower stalls (minor), and lack of a (fire suppression) sprinkler system, (though there were smoke detectors). These as mentioned were minor in comparison to the hospitality of the innkeepers and their staff.
The great part of going to a town like Powell River, BC, is that the people have a tendency to be just a little more genuine than you might find in the urban sprawl. This was certainly the case with JP and his staff at the Old Courthouse Inn.
I would definitely stay at the Old Courthouse Inn again should my travels take me back to Powell River.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hey. As noted by others this is an historic hotel that has been renovated enough to give one a warm and comfortable feeling
Well done
The breakfast cafe is very cool and the food was fabulous
I am looking forward to the newly rebuilt deck with drinks and dinners in the summer

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maiseymaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
2.7 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
110 reviews
11.9 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
959 reviews
5.2 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
#2 of 7 in Powell River
215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Powell River
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Courthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Courthouse Inn

Address: 6243 Walnut St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 4K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range: $97 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Courthouse Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel guests can enjoy the unique charm and character of each of the 8 rooms. An eclectic mix of antiques and collectables adorn the rooms and halls reminding guests of the days gone by. Enjoy a free breakfast at Edie Rae's Cafe with your overnight stay. Our guests can also take comfort in the modern Amenities of today. We welcome you into our Quaint and Unique Little Heritage Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Courthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Courthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing