We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free with Accommodation”
Review of Edie Rae's Cafe

Edie Rae's Cafe
Ranked #5 of 72 Restaurants in Powell River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Healthy, Canadian, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Free with Accommodation”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Old Courthouse Inn offers free breakfast to hotel guests. I use "hotel" lightly as it is much more of a B&B, small and quaint oozing with personal attention. The Cafe is within the "hotel" and service provided (both days) by JP, Proprietor. You are welcomed to breakfast by first name and service and food both excellent. I believe the cafe is open to the public as well as to "hotel" guests.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    24
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Spectacular FOOD”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food is amazing and the prices are very reasonable. Amazing atmoshphere and when you realize it was all done for Edie the love is palatable with each bite.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pattycakes1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Have a Historic Breakfast”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visitors should never be allowed to leave Powell River without visiting the National Historic Site of Townsite, where the city began. Go when you're hungry, as tiny Townsite now boasts a handful of good restaurants within shouting distance of one another.

If it's breakfast you're after, Edie's Cafe in the historic Old Courthouse Inn will serve you your favorites and local specialties along with dollops of local history. The walls are adorned with blowups of b/w Fifties photos of Edie Rae, the glamorous mother of one of the partners (who are also the new owners of the hotel). If it's Sunday, when one may have to wait for a table, take advantage of the moment to explore the antiques in the hallways of the refurbished hotel or relax in an old-fashioned chair while absorbing the view of the mill, still operating after a century.

At present, Edie's is open from 7 in the morning until 3; so there's a two-page breakfast/brunch menu. Many dishes bear locally or historically significant names, like "Raging Grannies' Granola Yogurt", "Millworkers' Breakfast" or the "BOMB Squad Sandwich", named for the Bloody Old Men's Brigade, a volunteer group who develop trails around Powell River. There's a plethora of old-fashioned comfort food, too: steel-cut oats, Scotch eggs, spiced fruit and sauce for your pancakes or French toast, baked beans, hot chocolate with whipped cream, or English bangers, in addition to the usual bacon-and-eggs or pancakes-plus breakfast menu.

There are four versions of Eggs Benedict! I chose the Powell Riviera, which sports a combination I love, eggs and avocado. The muffin was freshly baked in the restaurant. The accompanying hash browns were the real thing, done in a slightly piquant creole style. Very satisfying. Next time it's the salmon bene for me.

I left nothing on the plate so didn't pay the quaint "Food Bank Fine"--if you can't finish your meal, you're asked to donate $1 to the PR Food Bank!

Service is personalized and accommodating. I'd love to go every day I'm in Powell River..

The whole family will find a yummy way to start the day at Edie Rae's. There's something for everyone, all made with ingredients as locally sourced as possible. The restaurant is quite new; so expect menu changes. The coffee and tea menu will, I hope, be expanded to include espresso coffees and green and herbal teas.

Cash only, but there is an ATM in the hotel hallway.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Loved my recent meal at Edie Rae's Cafe with girlfriends. Great food and a great time along with a personal greeting from the owners made my day!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edie Rae's Cafe also viewed

Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
Powell River, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Edie Rae's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing