We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach Gardens very nice rooms with a view not to miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Vancouver
Level Contributor
130 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beach Gardens very nice rooms with a view not to miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I've stayed at the Beach Gardens a number of times now over an 11 year period. The resort was upgraded several years ago and the rooms in this two story unit that I stay in are brand new looking. The ocean view out the large door/window is world class with beautiful sunsets, eagles, herons, Orca whales, boats, ferries, tugboats, Texada Island and Vancouver Island in the distance. This view never ceases to amaze me. The room is very adequate and clean with modest, but nicely kept appointments.

The walls are paper thin, so you'll hear everything next door, including snoring, romance, arguments and loud TV's. It didn't keep me from sleeping, but some would have a problem with it possibly.

The pub downstairs is very good with a nice selection of local and national brand beers. The patio at night is to die for with a gas fireplace to keep you nice and cozy as the chill sets in.
Breakfast (supplied by the hotel in my case) was very lacking with mostly sweet white flour stuff, sweet juices, and sweetened cereals and packaged oatmeal. We begged for boiled eggs and cheese and yogurt and that came about day 5 of a 13 day stay.

The resort seems popular with clientele as most of the rooms were pretty full (mid to late June). There is private marina right at the ocean and one can watch the comings and goings all day long from the room.

There is a workout room with an adequate supply of good machines.

For tourists, couples this is a marvelous place if you want scenery. Modest as far as rooms go, but the big attraction is the great outdoors, ocean, sky and mountains in the distance.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean (I think they all do in the modern section).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boneblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    67
    49
    20
    14
See reviews for
56
57
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We visit the Sunshine Coast every year with friends and always take side-by-side rooms on the 2nd floor of the old building because we love the adjoining balconies overlooking the tiny marina and the glorious, unobstructed sea and island vista. Rooms are large and clean, beds comfortable. Front desk people are friendly and helpful. Love dinner on the terrace of the Savory Bight at a table right by the water's edge. We'll be back again and again!

Room Tip: Second floor of the old building has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
205 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

There are several building on this property and some are old while others are new. I have no idea if they charge more for the new buildings, but the value for the old rooms is barely acceptable. It depends on your expectations: if you're bike touring in the rain, then this will be an oasis of comfort with clean sheets and towels, generous water pressure and fantastic views. I just disembarked a cruise ship, so it was a bit of a shock with regard to decor as the old building I was in was in desperate need of a renovation.

Room Tip: Try for a new room close to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Powell River hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

While there is not a lot of reason to visit Powell River, if you do, this is a good location over looking the water. Prices are reasonable, beds are comfortable and it is very quiet. It is also pet friendly which may be useful. There is a restaurant under the hotel that was the very worst meal we had in a week of travelling on the Sunshine coast. We went there as it was convenient but a big mistake. All of the locals we mentioned this to just shook their heads and agreed.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view on the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Want to go somewhere where the fishing and scenery are spectacular but you don't feel like roughing it? This is the place. The rooms are modern,clean and quiet and the views spectacular. Walk about 150 ft and you're on your boat with lines in the water in ten minutes.There is a liquor store and restaurant in the same building so if you are hard core about keeping your lines wet you need not venture off property. Value is exceptional. Nowhere on the west coast would you get this view at this price. Staff were folksy friendly and efficient. Highly recommend you give this hidden gem a try.

Room Tip: Top Floor Corner New Section
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolf1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Beach Gardens. I've stayed there a number of times over the years for our salmon fishing trips. As usual the views from the top floor of the new section are gorgeous. The new rooms are great and the staff were very helpful. With the marina right out front, this the place top stay if you're thinking of doing some fishing in the area. Totally enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Top floor of the new section gets you the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The resort has a great location. My room had a lovely view of the water and marina, however the room itself was dingy and dated. Some Lights didn't work and wifi was sketchy.
Staff were OK but abrupt, I prefer friendly, patient staff. I only stayed one night and as this is a resort, they may hope that the place will grow on you after a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailorbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
5.2 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.8 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
16.5 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beyond Bliss Suites
Beyond Bliss Suites
#1 of 19 in Powell River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Gardens Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Gardens Resort Hotel

Property: Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Address: 7074 Westminster St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Gardens Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beach Gardens Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Gardens Hotel Powell River
Beach Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing