We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the beach Gardens for three nights and found it to be wonderful.
The staff at the hotel were all great. We had dinner at the Savory Bight and the food great and had the greatest waitress serve us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes great service and quiet times.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorvette2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    69
    50
    20
    14
See reviews for
57
58
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
474 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel was as expected from the website description and outdated however the ocean view made up for it. Doggy friendly but they can not be left alone in the room so we ordered takeout from their restaurant which was of good taste and portion size (calamari, snapper and seafood linguini, lava cake). Liquor store onsite and beach access may be limited depending on the tide. On the pier there is also a shuttle to get you around town if you are without a vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Where_to_travel_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Paid $110 for a "standard" room. There are no pictures of these rooms on the website. First one has to cancel 7 days before booking or be charged (warning!), and they are unable to send a confirmation(warning!). At desk, there is a large sign not to abuse the receptionist (warning!). The room was very dirty, unkempt, filthy carpets, dirty walls, terrible smell. We complained and were told we could pay an extra $40 for an upgrade, but couldn't show us the upgrade unless we paid! And no refund no matter what we did. There was no lock on the patio door, no air conditioning - so one had to leave door open at night (unsafe). People on ground floor shared balcony in front of our patio door smoking and noisy until very late - so very smoky room. Noise until 2:00a.m. as there was a party in the restaurant or someplace that carried over to rooms. This place should be torn down! I haven't reviewed before, but think I should warn people about this one. We came from Vancouver Island (via Comox) and would suggest that you plan your trip to avoid Powell River, unless you are fishing or going to Lund. Lovely places to stay on island and in Sechelt. Views were great, but looking at a view at 3:00a.m is not my cup of tea!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank centrali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachGardens, General Manager at Beach Gardens Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to bring your stay to my attention with regard to one of our standard rooms July 1st, 2012. I have addressed your concerns with both our Housekeeping Staff and our Maintenance Department.

I intend to review each of my standard rooms with my Staff and prioritize necessary upgrades to ensure that each guest has a positive experience at the Beach Gardens.

The purpose and wording of the sign at the Front Desk when you checked in refers to our pool closure policy: "In order to comply with Vancouver Coastal Health, we reserve the right "without notice" to close our pool to hotel guests as deemed necessary by the Health Standards Act. Our Front Desk Clerk has no control over the situation and will not discount your room or tolerate abuse under "any" circumstances".

Our goal is to make your experience at the Beach Gardens a good one. Please feel free to send me an email to beachgardens@shaw.ca so we can speak directly about your concerns.

Thanks again for your time.

General Manager,
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Powell River hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed at the Beach Gardens last June and I am planning another trip there again this Spring. My 3 night stay was fantastic. The hotel was fully booked and the only rooms left were in the older section. The room had a nice ocean view patio, was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable, I slept great my entire stay. The stunning view's and sunsets at the Beach Gardens are truly amazing - I have attached a photo (view from my room) to my review. I ate lunch and dinner at the Savoury Bight Restaurant and both meals were delicious! Great stay all around.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Van-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Had a great stay at Beach Gardens over Easter. Even though it was the long weekend this hotel still seemed quiet. Rooms were clean & comfortable with waterfront balconies overlooking the marina. They have adjoining rooms if you have quite a few in your party.
Below the rooms along the Marina there is a liquor store and pub which is convenient. Didn't check out the pool but the lobby seemed quiet like there wasn't much for amenities there. Only restaurant was the pub so had to make a trip into Powell for breakfast.
If you book here just make sure you're in the newer building (I think that's where they put most guests) because the older sections look tired and run down.
Staff was really friendly and accommodating and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you're booked in the newer building. All rooms appear to be on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALfromtheCITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Incredible views and the staff are always so friendly and helpful. Lovely beach
close by and we enjoy walking down to the marina.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
426 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Arrived there from the ferry off Vancouver Island. It is called the sunshine coast but the rain was pouring down. Stayed on the second floor with an absolute gorgeous view of the Pacific. Room was clean and everything was just perfect. The restaurant was on the ground floor and the food and service was excellent. Never had time to get breakfast as I had to be at the next ferry at 6.00 am. Had to pay in advance which was not a problem. Probably the best hotel in Powell River with a view. Enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Never used room service and have no idea if they had a pool. Did not seem necessary with the rain co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
5.2 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
300 reviews
2.8 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
105 reviews
16.5 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
54 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#5 of 7 in Powell River
59 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beyond Bliss Suites
Beyond Bliss Suites
#1 of 19 in Powell River
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Gardens Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Gardens Resort Hotel

Property: Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Address: 7074 Westminster St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Gardens Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Beach Gardens Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Gardens Hotel Powell River
Beach Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing