We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place - a little tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok place - a little tired.”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I had occasion to stay in the Powell River on a course for 3 days. I booked a king sized room with a refrigerator (an extra $15 day), this also included a microwave. The room was large and clean and comfortable with a view of the marina. There was a large and modern flat screen TV and a couch and sitting area. Pretty standard but comfortable. No bargain at around $139 a night plus tax. Note: the internet can only be accessed via cable. Okay for most but if you are carrying a Mac Air Book you will need an adapter. Did not try the restaurant as time did not permit, but they have a well-stocked liquor store with snacks available as well. The entry to the hotel drive is very and needs serious re-paving. All in all not a bad stay. Nice staff at the front desk both times I dealt with them.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room in the "new" building. Nice view of the marina and water - hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    68
    50
    20
    14
See reviews for
57
58
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We spent one night at the hotel on the top floor which has a nice view of the harbour and Texada Island. When I called to book I stated the need for a quiet room. I was told to upgrade from the $89 room to a newer one on the top floor. We paid $119.00 + tax for this supposed upgrade. What we received was a sleepless night. The walls were paper thin and I could hear the semi muffled and sometimes clear conversation of the people next door, a child crying, the door opening and closing and even their trips to the bathroom. Listening to that alone was nothing short of disturbing.
Though there were very few travelers noticeable (the parking lot was nearly empty) apparently putting those of us who were there in one area made sense to whoever was booking. The atmosphere and food at the restaurant was OK (again beautiful view) but we had one dish of battered fish that was underdone. The rest of the complex looked tired, somewhat confusing in its layout with no proper signage and certainly didn't inspire use of the facilities. I have never felt compelled to write my opinion until this hotel. I truly believe that what is shown on site is the best part of what they have...a view that mother nature provided. Anything man made is starting to lose its beauty and restful it was not!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Powell River hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Port Alberni, Bc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a room on the top floor of the older building. It's a retro styled room and is in no way fancy. But we slept well and it was quiet.

The view is spectacular - bobbing boats in the Beach Gardens harbour. You can see across the inlet to Texada Island.

We paid $99 inc tax, and this was high season during Blackberry Festival (we had come back to town to go to the street party). The shower worked really well.

I would be so glad if the owners installed screens on the sliding doors. It's so difficult to ventilate the room without screens or air conditioning.

The older building is a bit rickety, but if older motels don't bother you, it's a pleasant place to stay. Maybe we're more forgiving of the decor, but the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemoteCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

not bad. pool is under lock and key from manager which is wierd. we were there to kayak in desolation sound and that was almost 50 min away by car but you are closer to "town" which was good. room was clean, doors windows dont have screens and there are bugs so you need ac in summer and ac is loud. canada in general is expensive. this place was 175/nite and should have been like 80 but like i said canada especially bc is expensive

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This Hotel is luckily situated on the ocean front but otherwise, I wouldn't recommend this Hotel to anyone. We were happy to learn that we were booked in a newer part of the hotel but greatly disappointed to find our room is similar to motels such as Super 8. For a "deluxe room" at $139 a night - the rooms were finished cheaply, hallway entrance to your room is straight from a horror film and the rooms aren't equipped with an iron/board (do not use the ironing board because the cover is so thin that your pants/dress/shirt will be left with marks.) Reception Staff are quite rude and seem disorganized. At the desk, there was a sign that the reception is open from 7AM to 10PM and when we went to check out at 7:05AM (so we can line up to catch the 8:10 ferry to Comox) there was no one there but there was another sign at the door that reception wasn't open till 9AM.

Don't bother paying for their overpriced hotel rooms and opt for a lovely B&B or hotel. Everything in Powell River is close by and driving from one end to the other is no more than 20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancouverVioletBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel is located right on the ocean so the view is exceptional and is the best thing about the hotel. The hotel itself is only okay - clean and confortable enough but not anywhere near a luxury standard. Stayed in the "newer" building but unfortunately the walls are not well insulated so you will hear your neighours. There is a restaurant/pub located on the premises which is nice (again not high quality) but good for what it is. The pub has pacific hold'em poker and the full restaurant menu is available. If your expectations are not high this is a hotel that will fit your needs

Room Tip: ask for a room in the newer building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Will find another place to stay next time. Two Queen bed room was clean in new building but over priced. Access to room was awkward. Air conditioner did not work properly, too loud to even talk. Customer Service was poor. The view was lovely. Pool is difficult to access and wary of cleanliness due to health region notices. Kitchenette not avail due to long term rentals. Restaurant and beer and wine store on site.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
5.2 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.8 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
16.5 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
#6 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#5 of 7 in Powell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beyond Bliss Suites
Beyond Bliss Suites
#1 of 19 in Powell River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Gardens Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Gardens Resort Hotel

Property: Beach Gardens Resort Hotel
Address: 7074 Westminster St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Gardens Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Beach Gardens Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Gardens Hotel Powell River
Beach Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing