We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away from Home”
other traveler has booked this property
Boxwood Cottage I, facing Vancouver, Texada, and Harwood three Islands, Fantastic ocean and sunshine view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boxwood Cottage I, facing Vancouver, Texada, and Harwood three Islands, Fantastic ocean and sunshine view
Bedroom #1 with ocean view Bedroom #2 has its own door to the back porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Boxwood Cottage I, facing Vancouver, Texada, and Harwood three Islands, Fantastic ocean and sunshine view
Bedroom #1 with ocean view
Bedroom #2 has its own door to the back porch
Bedroom #3 with garden view
Bedroom #4 with ocean view
Full kitchen, stove and fridge on the right hand side of the photo
Living room with wood burning fireplace insert
Bath room with large tub
Treehouse has a double bed with ocean & garden view and creek running below
Sunset view from Boxwood Cottage, Boxwood Suite and the Treehouse.
Outdoor Bar-B Q area
Outdoor bathroom build with local materials
The path takes you from the Greenhouse to the Cottage
Gazebo over looking the garden
Teahouse next to a lily pond
Victorian style swing surround by lavendars
Orginally grown vegetables
Bridge to the meditation hut
Boxwood Suite
Local farmer's market
Palm Beach at south of town
Bamboo Grove in the garden
An entrance way to the creek
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Powell River, Sunshine Coast, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
BoboliTor...
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Diana's inn during one of the worst heat waves in the history of Powell River. Thankfully, the "Alice in Wonderland" gardens surrounding the inn provided us with a respite from the heat at the end of each day and the cool breeze from the ocean quickly cooled the suite down every evening. The view from the suite is lovely. The suite itself was clean, spacious, comfortable and safe for our toddler to be in. Diana went above and beyond when she helped us find the name of a doctor and clinic when we needed one when our baby spiked a fever. She is also very knowledgeable about things to see and do in the area and will take the time to answer all your questions. If you are looking for a comforting and welcoming space for your family stay in Powell River, along with a caring and welcoming host who is eager to make sure your needs are taken care of, look no further. Our family will be travelling back to Powell River every summer for our daughter to visit her grandmother- and thanks to Diana and the Boxwood Cottage, we have found our "home away from home". If Powell River is an idyllic Canadian retreat, then surely here at the Boxwood cottage is the Idyll within the Idyll.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of welcoming
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banneyxbn
1 review
“Excellent place to stay in Powell River”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Four of us stayed in Diana's place for two nights. The place was clean, convenient, and gougers. Diana is very friendly and informative and knowledgable with Powell River. Very good experience of staying in this place. We would definitely go back.

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen S
Parksville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting Place to Stay - just loved it”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the treehouse at Boxwood Cottage. What an enchanting place to stay. The grounds are amazing - and Diana was kind enough to let us pick her boysenberries and blackberries. There are all sorts of little paths and walkways, lawn areas, a gazebo, garden swing, bamboo grove, bridge, and all kinds of beautiful hydrangeas. Diana is a fabulous hose. I highly recommend this place - comfortable, casual, and beautiful surroundings

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds
Liked least: Liked everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin W
1 review
“Clean, friendly, convenient and just special”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed at Diana's place during a business trip and it was my one my best stays for all the business trips I have been on.

What makes Diana's place special is not because of how fancy everything is but it is how down to earth Diana is and how special this place makes you feel.

Boxwood has a huge garden that any city dweller will enjoy visiting. Her garden has a japanese tea house, bamboo garden, fruits and vegetable garden, bonsai garden, green house, covered outdoor dining area and even a real tree house!

During our stay Diana had three wwoofers (search google if you are not familiar) stay over also and it was a pleasure to meet and mingle.

I truly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend Boxwood to anyone staying in Powell River.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cchan_11
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint , warm and a nice getaway !”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This my second time staying at boxwood suites. The host,Diana, is very warm and welcoming and she provided everything we needed. She even taught us how to make a fire! We enjoyed the spectacular gardens and campfire. We really felt at home. View is wonderful and overall I would come Bach anytime. Rooms are clean and cozy !

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raoul S
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Very pleasant 3 bedroom, bath & kitchen. Close to downtown, lovely view. Diana is very sweet, helpful and welcoming. It's quite nice.

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon B
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
“Peaceful & Relaxing”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Boxwood Cottage & Gardens was a fantastic B&B to stay in while I was visiting Powell River for work related reasons. I stayed in the Boxwood Suite, which was a beautiful suite that was both comfortable and cozy! Although, I had never visited Boxwood before I immediately felt at home and welcomed by the fire that Diana had going in the wood burning fireplace, which made our arrival on a cold January night very cozy! The Boxwood suite is beautifully designed and decorated with heritage and antique furniture that adds to the charm of the heritage suite! I will definitely be back in the summer with my sisters to visit Diana who is an amazing hostess and to enjoy her beautiful suite and magical gardens! Looking forward to visiting again!

Date of stay: January 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2014
Helo Shannon,

Thank you so much for your review, I would love to see you and your sister to stay at Boxwood Suite again. If you like roses and lilies, the month of June is a good time to visit. Garden Tour this year will be on june 15th, the lunch will be served in my garden, And life music will be played under the grape arbour. And another date is August 16th , there will be music concert in my garden. It is a fund raising event for the scholarship and botanic garden.

Thanks again for your wonderful review!

Warm Regards,
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing