We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rodmay - a delightful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodmay Heritage Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Don't be put off by the fact that the Rodmay is located accross the street from what used to be the world's largest pulp and paper mill. Its glory days long gone, the mill recently has survived through a combination of gov''t subsidies and hydoelectric power sales. We feel the mill adds historical charm like everything at the Rodmay including water pipes that take TLC to heat water and various other amenities the hotel falls shy of. For us it was like stepping into a page of history with everything from exquisite carpentry of the wooden bathroom doors to the view from our window (of the mill) with strange ghostly hulls of sunken ships to act as a breakwater. Wood lovers would find the ambience in the hotel very pleasing ranging from the real wood burning fireplace to the hardwood floors in the rooms. And the rates are so reasonable, anything can be forgiven.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

I would never stay at this "hotel" again. It is terribly run down. The bed lamp didn't even have a bulb in it, you could not open the venetian blind as the cords where missing. Perhaps that was a good thing since the windows were filthy along with other things. We had a room whereby you heard a compressor running all night. There are no services in this hotel. Think twice about staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giant10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

An old Hotel in the process of being renovated. Charming lobby with friendly staff but needs proper reception desk with people in attendance. Rooms are clean and adequate, but water facing rooms noisy because of the paper mill. Poor water pressure, a shower that did not work and the fact you have to wait five minutes for warm water was a downer also the mattress and pillows had seen better days. I think a decent mattres and hot water for a hotel would be a prerequisite.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britpaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Perhaps we were expecting too much, but we were disappointed with the hotel. The exterior is very run down, and though some interior areas have been renovated, there remains much to be done to restore this building to even a shadow of its former glory. In the middle of tourist season, there was no reception desk, much less any other service. We checked in at the Cold Beer & Wine store at the back of the building. In the morning we dropped the room key through a slot in the door of the store. (Not a soul around.) Upon exiting to the parking lot (at 7 a.m.), it appeared we were possibly the only guests that night. The "ocean view" was obstructed by the pulp mill which is directly in front and across the street from the hotel.
However, the room itself was clean, and for one night it was adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

My husband are interested in heritage hotels so decided to stay at the Rodmay. Upon arrival it was very concerning as the hotel did not appear to be renovated as the pictures on the internet had indicated. The reception was the same location of the liquor store located at the rear of the hotel. We insisted on checking out the room before staying. The rooms were not renovated as shown on the internet. they were not renovated at all. We forfeited the money we had paid when we reserved the room our one nights. They would not reimburse our money nor would they respond to our phone calls or emails.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nella52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

The Rodmay hotel is an affordable option for travelers who like to go off the beaten track. I was interested in checking out the architecture of the Townsite area, now a national historic site, and this hotel is right in the heart of it. Service was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getawayvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I cannot say enough about how pleased I was about my stay here. I came during the holidays and the staff was more than accomodating for my not having called ahead. The woman I dealt with, Linda, was friendly and personable and went out of her way to ensure I had a pleasant stay. The atmosphere was calm and quiet, making a restful sleep easy to come by. The bed was comfortable and warm and the room and washroom were clean and tidy, with fresh towels replaced daily. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Powell River for a vist or a business trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdb3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell River
0.1 mi away
The Old Courthouse Inn
The Old Courthouse Inn
#1 of 7 in Powell River
368 reviews
2.6 mi away
Town Centre Hotel
Town Centre Hotel
#3 of 7 in Powell River
111 reviews
12.0 mi away
Historic Lund Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Westview Centre Motel
Westview Centre Motel
#4 of 7 in Powell River
68 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
Beach Gardens Resort & Marina
#2 of 7 in Powell River
215 reviews
6.2 mi away
Oceanside Resort Motel
Oceanside Resort Motel
#2 of 10 in Powell River
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodmay Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodmay Heritage Hotel

Address: 6251 Yew St, Powell River, British Columbia V8A 4J9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Powell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Powell River
Price Range: $42 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodmay Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful full service heritage hotel located in historic district. Close to beaches, kayaking, hiking, theatre, restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Rodmay Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing