We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while exploring Waterton Lakes National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Northland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northland Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while exploring Waterton Lakes National Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Quiet place away from the downtown yet within easy walking distance of town.
We stayed in the "bear den" Room 9 (basement)
Ask the host for the family story.
Enjoyed the scenery from the balcony at sunset. The room was clean and the beds comfortable.
The Northland Lodge staff made us feel right at home.
Restaurant recommendations were excellent.
During the breakfast we met interesting people staying at the lodge and went outside to find deer lounging in the back yard.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinagirl002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
38
87
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
213 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights late August. Hostess was out when we arrived, key and a note were there waiting for us. We checked ourselves in; each room is a bit different (I had gone online ahead of time and requested a specific room, which was all ready for us).

Waterton townsite is full of deer, and mom deer and her 2 fawn were the official Northland Lodge greeters!

Room was clean. Bed was very comfortable. It was very quiet (the area is quiet also). We could hear some people on the stairs, but after a day of hiking, most people conk out early (as we did the 3 nights we were there).

Breakfast in the morning is juice, coffee, tea and homemade muffins. If you ask, Jeanne will give you a copy of the recipe (i asked as they were quite good).

Jeanne is very amiable and is happy to give you suggestions (or to leave you alone if that's what you want). The nice thing about this place is that you an visit with other guests over breakfast, hearing about their hikes the day before, which may help plan your own. All in all, it was a pleasant 3 nights and we would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finegael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Northland Lodge is the best choice to take, if you are looking for a quiet place with great hospitallity. Jeanne the manager is the one who can make your stay a memorable event ( if you like ;-). She is very handy to bring different people of all ages and origins together as friends. And of course she is a perfect guide for the waterton area too. Any helpful information needed? She got it! And we loved to listening a lot more interresting stories while sitting arround the fireplace. Jeanne is a wonderful host and the freshmade muffins with jam for breakfast are awsome. Northland Lodge "rocks"!!! .......to be continued.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joiner42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

My daughter, son in law and I stayed here for one night. My room was very large and could have slept 5-6; my daughter and son in law had a slightly smaller room. Both were clean and comfortable. The beds had great mattresses. The bathroom in my room was tiny w/ a stall shower and a toilet. A large person would have a difficult time of it. There is a sink in the room itself as well as a refrigerator, table and chairs, and access to a wonderful balcony I loved not having a tv, radio, etc in the room as I'm an avid reader and could indulge myself. Breakfast is light but tasty: Jeanne makes great muffins. An unexpected perk was the connection w/my hometown of St Paul MN USA. The lodge was built by the son of James J Hill who built the Great Northern RR and the Prince of Wales Hotel, also in Waterton. Hill and his family lived in St Paul in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Without a doubt, I felt very at home at Northland Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerosmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
190 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed at the Northland Lodge in Waterton Lakes for four nights in September 2008. The B&B offers a large number of very disparate rooms, so you need to be precise on what you like so as not to be disappointed. We wanted quietness, and therefore booked a secluded room, even though it meant we had no view. The breakfast can get a bit crowded in the dining room, so we had it outside, despite the cold! The host is very friendly.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The breakfasts are too light before a day's hike. Plan some extra food supplies!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheotherside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

Nice place at the edge of Waterton townsite. The lodge has 9 rooms, some with shared bath. Most rooms are on the small side for a hotel but clean and comfortable. Each room also has a small fridge and (mine at least) has a small heater. The lodge has a common area with a television, a small movie library, a small book library, couches and dining tables. During the warm sunny days - sit around at the balcony. The lodge also has free wifi.

The proprietor (Jeanne) is a really nice lady; very familiar with all the attractions on the park. She has good recommendations for all kinds of hiking trails (Waterton is a hikers' park - mind you).

Every morning, coffee, tea and muffins are served in the common area. The muffins are baked on premise by Jeanne - and they're good! Don't forget to liberally slather the muffins with saskatoon spread. This spread is really big here - made from saskatoon berries - and yes - the hype is warranted.

The clientele are pretty cosmopolitan. During my stay, they had patrons from US (Texas), Toronto, Spain, Netherlands and Belgium. Jeanne also encourages interaction between guest during the breakfast hours without being intrusive. It makes the stay experience bed-and-breakfast like.

The drawbacks (for some people) are the room size and lack of in-room TV and phone. But really - at Waterton, days need to be spent on the trails and nights are for total rest.

The lodge overlooks the townsite campground grassy areas which is frequented by deers. There are so many of them here. The deers very often came up to the lodge yards, eating grass and the vegetation.

On the 2nd evening that I spent there - there was a big brown bear ambling across the lodge and went straight to the grassy area of the campground. The bear moved north to south and grazing on the grass, oblivious to the surrounding.

  • Liked — Very clean, great host, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Smaller-sized room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank r0m8470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

We had been camping for 5 days in Glacier and wanted to find a nice B&B for a "break". We stopped at the Waterton Visitors center and they told us about a number of places and to look for "vacancies". Found Northland, had vacancy and asked for a tour. Great host(thanks Jeanne), great ambience and great home made muffins with home made Saskatoon jam with excellent coffee and OJ in the morning. FYI.....we did "some mores" at the fire place that night and traded stories with guests! Had a great hike the next day right out the back door and hated to leave. Also, loved the lavendar ironed sheets.

  • Liked — location, ambience, friendliness hitory
  • Disliked — Not much of anything.......liked it all.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eugenep47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northland Lodge

Property: Northland Lodge
Address: 408 Evergreen Ave, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northland Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic lodge was built and designed in 1928 by Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway, the famous builder of The Prince of Wales Hotel along with many of the lodges built in Glacier National Park. Our hillside hideaway is located in the quiet part of Waterton nestled against the mountain and is a 5 minute walk to anywhere in town. Open your window and listen to the sound of the waterfalls all night or hang out on the large deck and watch the deer come off the mountain. And while it was undoubtedly the largest home in the park in 1928, it is small by today's standards. What we lack in size we make up for in hospitality. In the mornings we offer coffee, tea, juice and hot muffins with our famous Saskatoon Berry jam. A sit and sip to visit with other guests and learn about all the adventures available to you in Waterton Lakes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Northland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northland Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Northland Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing