We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, and great muffins”
Review of Northland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northland Lodge
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights late August. Hostess was out when we arrived, key and a note were there waiting for us. We checked ourselves in; each room is a bit different (I had gone online ahead of time and requested a specific room, which was all ready for us).

Waterton townsite is full of deer, and mom deer and her 2 fawn were the official Northland Lodge greeters!

Room was clean. Bed was very comfortable. It was very quiet (the area is quiet also). We could hear some people on the stairs, but after a day of hiking, most people conk out early (as we did the 3 nights we were there).

Breakfast in the morning is juice, coffee, tea and homemade muffins. If you ask, Jeanne will give you a copy of the recipe (i asked as they were quite good).

Jeanne is very amiable and is happy to give you suggestions (or to leave you alone if that's what you want). The nice thing about this place is that you an visit with other guests over breakfast, hearing about their hikes the day before, which may help plan your own. All in all, it was a pleasant 3 nights and we would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank finegael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 186 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Northland Lodge is the best choice to take, if you are looking for a quiet place with great hospitallity. Jeanne the manager is the one who can make your stay a memorable event ( if you like ;-). She is very handy to bring different people of all ages and origins together as friends. And of course she is a perfect guide for the waterton area too. Any helpful information needed? She got it! And we loved to listening a lot more interresting stories while sitting arround the fireplace. Jeanne is a wonderful host and the freshmade muffins with jam for breakfast are awsome. Northland Lodge "rocks"!!! .......to be continued.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joiner42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

My daughter, son in law and I stayed here for one night. My room was very large and could have slept 5-6; my daughter and son in law had a slightly smaller room. Both were clean and comfortable. The beds had great mattresses. The bathroom in my room was tiny w/ a stall shower and a toilet. A large person would have a difficult time of it. There is a sink in the room itself as well as a refrigerator, table and chairs, and access to a wonderful balcony I loved not having a tv, radio, etc in the room as I'm an avid reader and could indulge myself. Breakfast is light but tasty: Jeanne makes great muffins. An unexpected perk was the connection w/my hometown of St Paul MN USA. The lodge was built by the son of James J Hill who built the Great Northern RR and the Prince of Wales Hotel, also in Waterton. Hill and his family lived in St Paul in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Without a doubt, I felt very at home at Northland Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nerosmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed at the Northland Lodge in Waterton Lakes for four nights in September 2008. The B&B offers a large number of very disparate rooms, so you need to be precise on what you like so as not to be disappointed. We wanted quietness, and therefore booked a secluded room, even though it meant we had no view. The breakfast can get a bit crowded in the dining room, so we had it outside, despite the cold! The host is very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheotherside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Nice place at the edge of Waterton townsite. The lodge has 9 rooms, some with shared bath. Most rooms are on the small side for a hotel but clean and comfortable. Each room also has a small fridge and (mine at least) has a small heater. The lodge has a common area with a television, a small movie library, a small book library, couches and dining tables. During the warm sunny days - sit around at the balcony. The lodge also has free wifi.

The proprietor (Jeanne) is a really nice lady; very familiar with all the attractions on the park. She has good recommendations for all kinds of hiking trails (Waterton is a hikers' park - mind you).

Every morning, coffee, tea and muffins are served in the common area. The muffins are baked on premise by Jeanne - and they're good! Don't forget to liberally slather the muffins with saskatoon spread. This spread is really big here - made from saskatoon berries - and yes - the hype is warranted.

The clientele are pretty cosmopolitan. During my stay, they had patrons from US (Texas), Toronto, Spain, Netherlands and Belgium. Jeanne also encourages interaction between guest during the breakfast hours without being intrusive. It makes the stay experience bed-and-breakfast like.

The drawbacks (for some people) are the room size and lack of in-room TV and phone. But really - at Waterton, days need to be spent on the trails and nights are for total rest.

The lodge overlooks the townsite campground grassy areas which is frequented by deers. There are so many of them here. The deers very often came up to the lodge yards, eating grass and the vegetation.

On the 2nd evening that I spent there - there was a big brown bear ambling across the lodge and went straight to the grassy area of the campground. The bear moved north to south and grazing on the grass, oblivious to the surrounding.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank r0m8470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We had been camping for 5 days in Glacier and wanted to find a nice B&B for a "break". We stopped at the Waterton Visitors center and they told us about a number of places and to look for "vacancies". Found Northland, had vacancy and asked for a tour. Great host(thanks Jeanne), great ambience and great home made muffins with home made Saskatoon jam with excellent coffee and OJ in the morning. FYI.....we did "some mores" at the fire place that night and traded stories with guests! Had a great hike the next day right out the back door and hated to leave. Also, loved the lavendar ironed sheets.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eugenep47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Waterton offers a number of places to stay, and from what I could tell, none of them were elite-class. That having been said, Northland Lodge would be my choice when I return. The reason why for me would be the manager of the lodge, Jeanne. She really helped us out and our stay in Waterton would not have been as satisfying if it wasn't for her.

The lodge: It is easy to locate when you drive into town. It is within walking distance of the center of town. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We did not have breakfast there, so I can't comment on the quality of the offerings. The bed was was adequate. The linens and the towels were very clean. There is a small fridge in the room and a table and two chairs. It was very quiet and we had no problems getting to sleep. The only downside to the room was that it was a bit drafty when the wind was blowing hard, but there was an extra blanket, and in any case we didn't use it.

About Jeanne: this lady helped us out when she didn't have to. Northland Lodge only had a room available for two nights, and we were staying in Waterton for three. Jeanne was able to book us a room at another lodge for the remaining night and get us dinner reservations for all three nights at the Kilmorey Lodge. This took all the stress out of our stay while we were there. And the main reason I am writing this review is so that people know what a great hostess she was. She gave us tips on where to hike and knew about the trail ride that were were going on. She said that the outfit was good and she was spot on. The ride was a great time. Jeanne is the person you always hope to encounter on your travels.

Overall, I would recommend the Northland Lodge highly. Don't expect the Four Seasons, but do expect a staff that cares about you and will go out of their way to help you have a great time in Waterton.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urabus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northland Lodge

Address: 408 Evergreen Ave, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: $108 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northland Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic lodge was built and designed in 1928 by Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway, the famous builder of The Prince of Wales Hotel along with many of the lodges built in Glacier National Park. Our hillside hideaway is located in the quiet part of Waterton nestled against the mountain and is a 5 minute walk to anywhere in town. Open your window and listen to the sound of the waterfalls all night or hang out on the large deck and watch the deer come off the mountain. And while it was undoubtedly the largest home in the park in 1928, it is small by today's standards. What we lack in size we make up for in hospitality. In the mornings we offer coffee, tea, juice and hot muffins with our famous Saskatoon Berry jam. A sit and sip to visit with other guests and learn about all the adventures available to you in Waterton Lakes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Northland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northland Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Northland Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing