We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENJOYABLE STAY IN A FUNKY, HISTORIC B&B”
Review of Northland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northland Lodge
St Paul MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ENJOYABLE STAY IN A FUNKY, HISTORIC B&B”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

My daughter, son in law and I stayed here for one night. My room was very large and could have slept 5-6; my daughter and son in law had a slightly smaller room. Both were clean and comfortable. The beds had great mattresses. The bathroom in my room was tiny w/ a stall shower and a toilet. A large person would have a difficult time of it. There is a sink in the room itself as well as a refrigerator, table and chairs, and access to a wonderful balcony I loved not having a tv, radio, etc in the room as I'm an avid reader and could indulge myself. Breakfast is light but tasty: Jeanne makes great muffins. An unexpected perk was the connection w/my hometown of St Paul MN USA. The lodge was built by the son of James J Hill who built the Great Northern RR and the Prince of Wales Hotel, also in Waterton. Hill and his family lived in St Paul in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Without a doubt, I felt very at home at Northland Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerosmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    56
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
39
95
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed at the Northland Lodge in Waterton Lakes for four nights in September 2008. The B&B offers a large number of very disparate rooms, so you need to be precise on what you like so as not to be disappointed. We wanted quietness, and therefore booked a secluded room, even though it meant we had no view. The breakfast can get a bit crowded in the dining room, so we had it outside, despite the cold! The host is very friendly.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The breakfasts are too light before a day's hike. Plan some extra food supplies!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheotherside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Nice place at the edge of Waterton townsite. The lodge has 9 rooms, some with shared bath. Most rooms are on the small side for a hotel but clean and comfortable. Each room also has a small fridge and (mine at least) has a small heater. The lodge has a common area with a television, a small movie library, a small book library, couches and dining tables. During the warm sunny days - sit around at the balcony. The lodge also has free wifi.

The proprietor (Jeanne) is a really nice lady; very familiar with all the attractions on the park. She has good recommendations for all kinds of hiking trails (Waterton is a hikers' park - mind you).

Every morning, coffee, tea and muffins are served in the common area. The muffins are baked on premise by Jeanne - and they're good! Don't forget to liberally slather the muffins with saskatoon spread. This spread is really big here - made from saskatoon berries - and yes - the hype is warranted.

The clientele are pretty cosmopolitan. During my stay, they had patrons from US (Texas), Toronto, Spain, Netherlands and Belgium. Jeanne also encourages interaction between guest during the breakfast hours without being intrusive. It makes the stay experience bed-and-breakfast like.

The drawbacks (for some people) are the room size and lack of in-room TV and phone. But really - at Waterton, days need to be spent on the trails and nights are for total rest.

The lodge overlooks the townsite campground grassy areas which is frequented by deers. There are so many of them here. The deers very often came up to the lodge yards, eating grass and the vegetation.

On the 2nd evening that I spent there - there was a big brown bear ambling across the lodge and went straight to the grassy area of the campground. The bear moved north to south and grazing on the grass, oblivious to the surrounding.

  • Liked — Very clean, great host, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Smaller-sized room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank r0m8470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We had been camping for 5 days in Glacier and wanted to find a nice B&B for a "break". We stopped at the Waterton Visitors center and they told us about a number of places and to look for "vacancies". Found Northland, had vacancy and asked for a tour. Great host(thanks Jeanne), great ambience and great home made muffins with home made Saskatoon jam with excellent coffee and OJ in the morning. FYI.....we did "some mores" at the fire place that night and traded stories with guests! Had a great hike the next day right out the back door and hated to leave. Also, loved the lavendar ironed sheets.

  • Liked — location, ambience, friendliness hitory
  • Disliked — Not much of anything.......liked it all.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eugenep47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Waterton offers a number of places to stay, and from what I could tell, none of them were elite-class. That having been said, Northland Lodge would be my choice when I return. The reason why for me would be the manager of the lodge, Jeanne. She really helped us out and our stay in Waterton would not have been as satisfying if it wasn't for her.

The lodge: It is easy to locate when you drive into town. It is within walking distance of the center of town. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We did not have breakfast there, so I can't comment on the quality of the offerings. The bed was was adequate. The linens and the towels were very clean. There is a small fridge in the room and a table and two chairs. It was very quiet and we had no problems getting to sleep. The only downside to the room was that it was a bit drafty when the wind was blowing hard, but there was an extra blanket, and in any case we didn't use it.

About Jeanne: this lady helped us out when she didn't have to. Northland Lodge only had a room available for two nights, and we were staying in Waterton for three. Jeanne was able to book us a room at another lodge for the remaining night and get us dinner reservations for all three nights at the Kilmorey Lodge. This took all the stress out of our stay while we were there. And the main reason I am writing this review is so that people know what a great hostess she was. She gave us tips on where to hike and knew about the trail ride that were were going on. She said that the outfit was good and she was spot on. The ride was a great time. Jeanne is the person you always hope to encounter on your travels.

Overall, I would recommend the Northland Lodge highly. Don't expect the Four Seasons, but do expect a staff that cares about you and will go out of their way to help you have a great time in Waterton.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — A bit drafty, and the outside door wasn't so secure, but hey, it's Canada.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urabus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

First, I have to say that I screwed up big time. I made a reservation at another lodge in Waterton, but they only had one night available, so I needed another night at another lodge. I emailed Northland and they were quite accommodating (we were planning two nights in Waterton in conjunction with our 5 nights in various spots around Glacier National Park). It dawned on me a couple of days before our arrival that I had reserved our room for the wrong night! I called and luckily Jeanne told me that, despite being full for the rest of the month, it would be no problem to switch dates and keep the same room.

It turns out Jeanne is not the regular manager, but maybe she should be. She is the most cordial, pleasant, accommodating, and just plain nice person we met on our trip. After only one night there, we felt that she was like a member of the family. (Imagine hugging any other hotelier goodbye after a one-night stay!)

The room (#2) was quite comfortable for the 3 of us. In particular, it and Room #1 both have a spectacular sunset view of a nearby mountain peak from the balcony outside the 2nd floor rooms. There's a small refrigerator in the room, as well as a ceiling fan. Although there is no air conditioner, we found there was no need. The shower stall, however, was a bit cramped for the men in our party (6-ft+) and the bathroom in which it is located has a very low doorframe, so DUCK as you enter. An exhaust fan in the bath would have been nice, too, but it was a minor detraction.

Waterton is overrun with very tame deer. It is also grizzly and mountain lion country, so I was reluctant to walk down to the car at night without a flashlight. I heard from another guest that a bear walked by the lodge during breakfast.

The breakfast, served in the lobby/living room is very nice. Fresh-baked fruit/bran muffins (ask for the recipe!) with Saskatoon Berry Jam (or was it preserves?) with coffee and juice was wonderful. Equally enjoyable were the other guests who joined us for breakfast, including a couple from Scotland, an English couple, a North Carolina family, etc.

Jeanne recommended that we eat at the Kilmorey Lodge (serving dinner in the lounge until 10 PM) since the other places in town are inconsistent. We ate in the lounge there two nights and were very pleased. We had great meals and the lounge was cozy and intimate. Both nights we struck up extended and entertaining conversations with other diners, much as I would expect to occur in a UK pub.

Because we had been so isolated (via cell and email) during our trip to Glacier/Waterton, Jeanne gave us access to her wireless internet connection, which allowed us to check in on my mom in the hospital back home. This was a HUGE help, and I am very grateful for the favor.

  • Liked — The view and the lady who ran the place
  • Disliked — Small shower stall and low doorframe into bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank doodleysquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Waterton is lovely and so is the Northland Lodge. Nestled in the hill next to the the Cameron Falls it is quiet and clean and very friendly.It so reminded me of all my stays at B&B's while in the British Isles. It is a short walk to town and other hikes right from their door.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nhnatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterton Lakes National Park
0.4 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
475 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
1,054 reviews
15.8 mi away
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mountain View
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northland Lodge

Property: Northland Lodge
Address: 408 Evergreen Ave, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northland Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic lodge was built and designed in 1928 by Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway, the famous builder of The Prince of Wales Hotel along with many of the lodges built in Glacier National Park. Our hillside hideaway is located in the quiet part of Waterton nestled against the mountain and is a 5 minute walk to anywhere in town. Open your window and listen to the sound of the waterfalls all night or hang out on the large deck and watch the deer come off the mountain. And while it was undoubtedly the largest home in the park in 1928, it is small by today's standards. What we lack in size we make up for in hospitality. In the mornings we offer coffee, tea, juice and hot muffins with our famous Saskatoon Berry jam. A sit and sip to visit with other guests and learn about all the adventures available to you in Waterton Lakes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Northland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northland Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Northland Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing