We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, beautiful, like being at home!”
Review of Northland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northland Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy, beautiful, like being at home!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wonderful, warm and gorgeous setting. We call this a B&B back East!! Our room had a spectacular view of the mountains across the road......sitting on the wrap around deck with a glass of wine, snapping pictures of the sun going down was simply the perfect ending to a busy day of hiking and viewing scenery in Glacier National Park!! Sitting by the fire in the fireplace( a real one, not gas logs!)meeting and visiting with other guests from other parts of the U.S. ended our evening....what could get better! Woke up to rain, clouds, and another fire in the fireplace visiting with more guests!! How cozy and inviting! Breakfast of warm, freshly baked muffins, coffee, juice, and hot tea made us want to hunker down and stay another day and night!! DEFINITELY DO NOT MISS Northland Lodge in Waterton!!!(one other thing....wifi is excellent!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
38
87
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very enjoyable stay. Am a bit of an architectural history buff and really enjoyed learning about the history of this B&B. Enjoyed the morning muffins and even some afternoon tea - learned what Saskatoon berries are. Stayed in the garden room - nice view of the sun rise and enjoyed sitting on the deck with morning tea. (Watch out for the low door to the bathroom if you are over six feet). Would definitely stay here again if we get back to Waterton!

Room Tip: From what I could tell the Garden room is best location-wise - it is a little more private and still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DennisDFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Waterton. The stay at Northland Lodge made our trip complete. The charm and comfort of Northland Lodge was perfect for the beautiful setting of Waterton. We stayed in a lovely upper room, at night we left the windows open so we could hear near by Cameron Falls. We felt we had stepped back 40 yrs. to a by gone era. It was neat to learn the lodge was also built by the person who built the Prince of Wales Hotel. You can see many similar design elements. Within a short walk is Cameron Falls, the town, and the lake. Not to be missed is a walk to the lake at sunset. We will definitely be back! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
320 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed here a few times. It's close to Cameron Falls. There are always deer in the area, and we saw a fox run across the front yard during breakfast.
Waterton is small, so we leave our car parked here and walk where ever we want to go. There is a trail head on either side of the Lodge which makes it close for hiking to Cameron Lake or Bertha Falls.
The rooms are very much like staying at Gramm's. Linens are hanging on the line in the back of the lodge. A comfortable wood fire burns in the fireplace in the evening in a gathering/living room. Coffee is at 7:30am, with fresh baked muffins, butter and local Saskatoon berry jam, juices, tea and hot chocolate at 8:00.
This is like coming to your own cabin, except you have none of the worry or upkeep. Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debimlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed in the danish tree house so we had to share a shower with a downstairs room. Luckily, we were traveling with another couple so they got the room with the shower. This made it slightly less awkward to coordinate shower usage. Loved the bran muffins and jam. Just two of those muffins got me all the way to Crypt lake! It is not the Ritz, but it is clean, comfortable and everyone we met was very friendly! As an added bonus the lodge has a fascinating history if you are into engineering and/or architecture. I would not recommend this place if you are looking to spend all your time in your room, but if you want to get out and see the sites and/or hike this place is fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Once we found the place, its tucked away from the main streets and parking is up a small road in the back, we struggled to find someone to check us in. Once I found someone I had to wait several minutes for them to finish a phone call. We were shown to our room around back and the room was fine for a night to sleep, but it was advertised as having access to a patio. The patio was a strip next the parking lot with a deck overhead, maybe 4 feet wide with cheap plastic lawn chairs. there was coffee, juice and muffins at 8, but we didn't stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckienen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although Northland Lodge wasn't our first choice of accommodation as we had been a little late in getting round to it, we couldn't have made a better choice if we had tried! The lodge is perfectly situated in a quiet yet central location and is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the Waterton experience. The decor is a step back in time - this is after all a B&B that has been running for many generations - but everything was clean, comfortable (and quiet!) and more than adequate for our needs. No TV - thank goodness - but internet access available. Stacey, our host, was friendly and welcoming and her coffee and muffins were the perfect start to the day. The plethora of eateries in the village were right on the doorstep for other food requirements later on, and we took advantage of the deck outside our room to enjoy these. Future trips to Waterton will definitely see us heading for Northland Lodge again - we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs ( steep stairs) have access to a lovely deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzumbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northland Lodge

Property: Northland Lodge
Address: 408 Evergreen Ave, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northland Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic lodge was built and designed in 1928 by Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway, the famous builder of The Prince of Wales Hotel along with many of the lodges built in Glacier National Park. Our hillside hideaway is located in the quiet part of Waterton nestled against the mountain and is a 5 minute walk to anywhere in town. Open your window and listen to the sound of the waterfalls all night or hang out on the large deck and watch the deer come off the mountain. And while it was undoubtedly the largest home in the park in 1928, it is small by today's standards. What we lack in size we make up for in hospitality. In the mornings we offer coffee, tea, juice and hot muffins with our famous Saskatoon Berry jam. A sit and sip to visit with other guests and learn about all the adventures available to you in Waterton Lakes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Northland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northland Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Northland Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing