We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking Beauty and No Crowds”

Upper Waterton Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Beauty and No Crowds”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have visited Alberta several times and we usually gravitate towards Banff and Lake Louise. This summer my Canadian cousins took me to Waterton Lake, south of Alberta. In fact the lake is half in Canada and half in the USA. The scenery was breathtaking, the atmosphere tranquil and the heritage Prince of Wales Hotel at the head of the lake a real walk back in time. Best of all, the lake is serene and, unlike Banff and Lake Louise, is not overrun with tourists. And this was August! We saw a bear in the wild for the first time and enjoyed great walks in the mountains.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    29
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“breathtaking scenery”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I travelled to Waterton just for the day this summer. Did a bit of hiking but there are many trails for experienced and avid hikers. We hiked up Bears Hump and given as we were all a little past middle aged we found it fairly strenuous but the view from the top was spectacular. Every area of the park is lovely. Didn't do the boat cruise as it was very windy and cold by the shore. Saw a lot of wildlife. A grizzly bear crossed our path at one point and another had been spotted on the trail moments before we got there. We saw bears on four more occasions that day. Quite thrilling.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank nancycary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best scenery in north America”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

At least best I've seen in 48 states...haven't gotten to western Canada yet, tho. Stayed at the Prince of Wales for a night, and took the boat ride to Goat Haunt, the backpackers customs station at the US (south) end of the lake. Just amazing scenery.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kootenai Lake Hike”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The boat ride by Waterton Shoreline to Goat Haunte was very enjoyable, quite windy going south so if you plan on sitting outside, take a windbreaker or blanket.
The hike to Kootenai Lake isn't spectacular, easy walk through wooded areas with little or no views. Kootenai Lake itself is scenic and peaceful and apparently moose are frequently sited there but none during our visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank just4fun_as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Upper Waterton Lake - breath-taking!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Moderate hike up to Upper Waterton Lake for a breath-taking, spectacular view! Must see & experience!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Waterton Lake also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Upper Waterton Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing