We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In serious need of a steamclean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In serious need of a steamclean”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at the Bayshore from Sept 19-23 in room 212, one of the "deluxe suites."
The Bayshore has location on it's side. It is the only hotel in Waterton village on the lakefront. And the views are gorgeous, but...the place obviously hadn't seen a good steam clean in some time. The pics of my husbands feet with all the dirt on them came from walking around our room barefoot. We asked housecleaning to vacuum our room on the first night of our stay and they did, but the carpets are so soiled that throughout our trip if one walked on the carpet without shoes, either in sock feet or barefoot, your feet were filthy.
The room was expensive for what we got. The screen was kep in place in place with duct tape. Truly not a good impression. Our family has the intention of returning to Waterton, but certainly we would endeavour to stay elsewhere than the Bayshore.

Room Tip: The Aspen looks fairly new. Hopefully it is in better shape than the Bayshore for future travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TanyaHarpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertonalberta, General Manager at Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hello - I checked the carpet in room 212 and you absolutely correct. It looks clean to the eye as it is a dark color but it is dirty. It has of course been completely steam cleaned since your visit. As we are an outside entrance hotel (all our hotel room doors face outside and there is no hallway or lobby to walk through) and being located in the Rockies with the majority of our guests spending all their time in the outdoors we steam clean our room often. This summer was extremely busy for room 212 which is a suite and was full everyday for almost three months we found it difficult to steam clean as it takes time to dry. We have just bought a new carpet cleaner with an extra dryer that should cut our drying times in half allowing us to steam clean more often thus eliminating this problem. We do offer complimentary slippers and if you had let us know the carpet condition we would have run up as many pairs as you wanted, we write that in our guest directory however we are now leaving two pairs in every room. I inquired about the duct tape holding the screen in place and was informed by maintenance that the previous guest had broken the screen and we were using the wrong size screen as the replacement was on order, it too has been fixed. I am truly sorry for your experience as as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction. We will do doing upgrades to that room and i hope you will give us another chance to get it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    162
    101
    35
    33
See reviews for
103
228
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We were traveling through Canada with our small dog looking online for dog friendly hotels. There were not many to choose from in the Waterton area. After reading the reviews we were very hesitant to reserve one of their dog friendly rooms. When I called to reserve I expressed my concern and was told that the rooms have been upgraded since the poor reviews were noted.
Not so! They were just as the other guests with pets had written about. The carpeting and matresses were very warn and the carpeting smelled of urine. The hotel looks tired or at least the dog friendly rooms.
The restaurant is over priced and not great service.
It's sad that more of an interest is not taken on the up keep of this property as it is a gem of a location

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhwytreehuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertonalberta, General Manager at Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hello

I want to first truly apologize that you were not totally satisfied. It has come to my attention that the pet friendly rooms have begun to look tired. We did however just update the bathroom with granite counters, new sinks and hardware. We also added new queen beds in every room by Serta and new bedding. The carpets are not in the best condition and are slated to be replaced shortly as we close for the season this weekend. Our pet rooms do suffer the most abuse and over a long busy summer and at the end of the season it starts to show. We will be re vamping those rooms to meet the standards of the rest of our guest rooms. I hope you will give us a chance next season to meet and exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Beausejour, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I Have stayed in Waterton 4 times in the last 8 years. This year we decided we would spend the big money and stay at the Bayshore for its location. We stayed on the second floor in room 246. With the hype you get from the advertisements we were a bit disappointed. The view from the balcony was awesome but it could have used a table to put your drink on. The average room in Canada has a small refridgerater but the Bayshore does not. No where to keep beer or wine for a longer stay. The beds in our room were dated. If my wife and I stayed in the same bed we rolled to the center, so we slept in seperate beds for our 5 day stay. We like to sleep in on vacation but the tour bus outside our room started up at 7:45 AM each morning, a bit annoying. If the bus wasn't enough the Inn had a contractor installing some siding for the last 2 days we were there. They were noisy ,you would think they would do maintenance in the off season. It is a nice location but over priced for the quality of room.

Room Tip: Most of the Lakeside rooms on the second floor have the view blocked by the trees. First floor bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertonalberta, General Manager at Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hello - i am truly sorry that you were not completely satisfied as we work hard to provide a quality product and we take it seriously when we fail. I have heard from a few guests that they would like to see a table on the patio and we have gone ahead and ordered a small cocktail table for all our balconies. Many of our guests would like to see a fridge in the rooms, our problem is that the hotel is over 50 years old and our electrical system cannot handle a fridge in every room. We are looking into upgrading but in the meantime we offer to deliver a fridge to your room at no charge for those that request it. I am very surprised you did not like our beds as they are Serta mattresses that are 7 months old. I have sent a copy of your complaint to our Serta Rep and he will check out the beds. There was a tour bus outside your room and for that i truly apologize, we usually only put guests that are traveling on tour buses in the room you stayed in. You were put close to the tour bus by accident. I am very sorry, we always put our regular guests away from the bus for this reason. I looked into the maintenance noise you were hearing and it was not Bayshore staff, the Park staff was doing some path work and for that i also apologize and have requested that the park does not start and work until 9 or 10am. We will be continuing to renovate and improve and i hope you give us another chance to meet and exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed one-night at this Inn August 31 with advance reservation for a lake front room. Although this is an older property IMO probably the best location in Waterton Lakes, Alberta CN. The room was quite small , fairly cramped, small bathroom - only 2 queens available for the lake front rooms which had only a partial lake view - but overall fine for a one night stay. This property has no elevator - requiring schlepping of bags to the second floor. Your room key is required to access ice located near the office - a fair walk especially in inclement weather. This property is within easy walking distance of townsite shops, restaurants, etc. The on-site restaurant is attractive & served good fare albeit pricy and insects/flies were present making the dinning expereince less desirable. Overall - good. But not sure we would again stay at this property. FJG

Room Tip: Book a room a quieter lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at the Bayshore Inn on September 3rd and 4th. When we arrived the manager upgraded us to a waterfront view. The service was wonderful. The staff was informative and helpful. The room was clean. The restaurants were very good and so was the service. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

No complaints...we will certainly return and recommend this inn! The room was clean and spacious. The service was outstanding and the food in the restaurant was excellent. The check in was quick and we even got into our room a few hours early...very impressed with the management

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed two nights here as part of a Caravan tour. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Beds were comfortable, restaurant and bar attached to motel, and everything in town is a five minute walk away. Very nice place!

Room Tip: Second floor has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CactiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa

Property: Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 111 Waterton Ave, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa is the only Lakefront hotel in Waterton. We are newly renovated and boast the Lakeside Chophouse, Bistro, Fireside Lounge & Wine Bar, Thirsty Bear Saloon and the brand new Serenity Spa! Most all our renovated rooms and suites are lakefront with balconies steps from the water. We are located right on Main St. in the heart of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Inn Resort And Spa
Bayshore Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Bayshore Hotel Alberta
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing