We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A super experience!

Our boat ride was so beautiful, with lovely scenery, and the Capt. pointed out the International... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Amy L
Well worth the cost!

This cruise was one of the highlights of our trip to Lethbridge and surrounding areas! Keith did an... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2018
CLCVG
Read all 557 reviews
  
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
432
97
14
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
97
14
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews goat haunt tour guide boat ride lower deck ranger station great commentary nice boat short stop excellent tour hour trip passport stamp bald eagles bring a jacket border crossing interesting facts international border great trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our boat ride was so beautiful, with lovely scenery, and the Capt. pointed out the International Boundary. Crew were very polite and helpful. You go through customs on the return trip and the crew helped with our questions on the forms. I would recommend this trip. Plus, the boat is a very well maintained classic boat from the 1920s.

Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

This cruise was one of the highlights of our trip to Lethbridge and surrounding areas! Keith did an excellent job of explaining the history of the area. The beauty and splendour of this area is unmatched!

Thank CLCVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Was a chilly day when we went on our boat ride but I still had to sit on the top to see all the beautiful scenery and take pictures. They were very informative!

Thank 757tammyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

A must tour! Interesting history between USA and Canada, lots of information from the guide. View of mountains and the lake is amazing.

Thank Getaway293096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

We too the boat tour in early September 2018. The scenery is beautiful, and we found it very comfortable even though the day was a bit on the cool side for summer. The boat has seats inside and also a covered area at the back of the boat where the sides are open. We thought that was the best place to sit to maximize the view. There is also seating on the top but I expected that is far more windy. The tour takes you across the border to the ranger station (no passport required) and you can walk around there for a about half an hour until the trip back.

Thank Tj678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

This is a 2 hour plus cruise on Lake Waterton Canada south into Montana. The trip is expertly narrated by the mates on the boat. You will see wildlife and receive plenty of information on the area and the rock formations in the mountains. Highly recommended.

Thank line10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

At $51 Canadian including tax, this was well worth the money for the 2 1/4 hour trip. We did get to cruise on the oldest wooden vessel, very cool (literally and figuratively). There weren't a lot of passengers this day so it was nice to be able to walk around the boat, sit inside or outside as we saw fit depending upon the weather. IF it's not a 'nice' day and in a busy time of the year, you might want to get to the dock a little earlier just to ensure you get to sit inside, otherwise make sure you dress for what could be a cool or wet voyage. Also, use the washroom before boarding as it's an hour before you'll have another opportunity (in Montana no less)!

The tour guide was really very good. I've researched this area a lot and his information was spot on, no need to fact check after the trip as this guy really knew his stuff. And that included answering numerous questions ranging from weather stats to elevations to geological formations; this guy had the answers.

This day, very little wildlife, a bald eagle which in this part of the world is hardly worth noting. IF someone does spot anything they will point it out, stop the boat and let everyone know so you don't have to worry about scouring the shoreline the entire way, there will be other eyes doing that. Scenery is spectacular, don't really worry what side of the boat you are on. When stopping at the end of the lake (in Montana), because of the current forest fire situation we were not allowed to walk to the border patrol office, just hung out on the beach where the boat docked. So, that was a little boring but of course that spectacular scenery made up for it.

All in all, highly recommend. As they will do the trip in pretty much any weather, plan ahead for that and know just how variable conditions can be here in the mountains. Also don't worry about getting motion sick, that boat rides low and slices through pretty much any water conditions with ease.

Thank Ydnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

This tour is a "must". The view of the mountains surrounding the lake spectacular. We were fortunate to be on the 90+ year MV International which added a nice memory for us. Tour guide Mathew was knowledgeable and entertaining. First stop was at the ticket office where Ellie met us with a smile--great first impression of the tour. If you go to Waterton, don't miss this tour.

Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Been to Waterton a number of times over the last decade and have always been tempted to take the cruise, but managed not to get around to it. Got around to it this trip and enjoyed it soooo much. I'm a fan of wooden boats (but smart enough not to own one and watch my cash evaporate into maintaining one) and so it was a delight to step aboard a 91-year old vessel that is as meticulously maintained as this one. The narration from a native and life-long resident of Waterton could not have been better. Learned so much about the boat, the lake, the history, some geology and about the effects and benefits of the wildfire that hit the area last year. Even though the Goat Haunt area was very limited due to (again) wildfire near the area, it was a superb trip down the lake and back. Highly recommended!!

Thank Cascadefirechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

International Peace Park... Waterton and Glacier... the boat trip allows you to experience both!! We were hoping to do some hiking when we got to Goat Haunt, but the area was closed due to fire fighting activity. Great way to see the beauty and the tour guide provided us with some interesting facts about the boat, the Parks, the wildlife and area in general. Matthew did a great job and so did our captain, from NY and I can’t remember his name!!! Both were happy to answer questions. US Park Ranger Frank John ride out with us and gave us more info on the Peace Park and its significance. Great tour!!

Thank RoadtripMN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews