We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Challenging.”

Carthew - Alderson Trail
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Challenging.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We have done this hike many times, but this time we wanted a bigger challenge. We wanted to do the Triple Crown (Crypt Lake, Alderson-Carthrew and Akimina), however the road to get to Akimina trailhead was washed out. So instead, From the Townsite of Waterton, we hiked down to Goat Haunt (in the USA, bring your passport), then hiked back up to the Boundary trailhead, hiked that up to Summit Lake, then did the Alderson-Carthrew trail back to town. It was 50km. It took us 13 hours (we stopped lots). Just before we started to climb to Summit Lake, there was a severe thunderstorm with a lot of hail. Luckily, we were on the outskirts of the storm, however, navigating through the 3 inches if hail was tricky. It was a great feeling of accomplishment completing this hike. If you are interested in a hike this long, pack moleskin, extra socks, lots of food, and headlamps.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybellelovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Allis, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Unfortunately the Akamina parkway is currently closed due to a wash out with the June flooding. We hiked from the townsite to Carthew summit and then returned. It was a long hike, but the great views made it worthwhile!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I plan on doing this one again this summer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

There is two ways to do this hike: You can start at Cameron Falls and hike up the mountain to the lake (the hard way) or you can start at Cameron Lake to the Falls which is a bit hard to the peak(about 30 minutes from start to finish), but easy after that. It is a hike you would have to plan ahead for so that you have a vehicle at the end to take you back to get your other car from the start. It is a hike that will take you a good part of the day - we did it in 6 hrs and I am in okay shape. There is switch backs at the start that I find difficult for personal reasons, but they are not that bad. The views are breathtaking and it is worth every drop of sweat to the peak. I like the lake to falls way as you are better able to enjoy the beauty around you. Just remember to use the rest room before you start as the next one isn't until you get to the town site at the end.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carthew-Alderson Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I love this hike. I hadn't been back for nearly 35 years!! I had been doing a lot of running and cycling before going back to this trail l had done with my dad and uncle when I was 15. I completed the hike in 4 hours and have a goal to return and do it in under 3. The views are completely spectacular and it is unprecedented as far as hiking experiences go. Not for the faint of heart as it is a brisk climb to the summit and some less than smooth spots from the summit to Alderson Lake. All in all most people can make the hike, just make sure to leave enough time for your fitness level. Most people should leave themselves 6-7hrs for this hike.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank steeletolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Carthew-Alderson: Absolutely a wonderful hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were extremely fortunate - on the day of our hiking, it was a perfectly still day. The Moon guidebook talks about wind so strong that people have to crawl over the top of the Carthew Pass on their hands and knees. But on the day we took the hike, it was sunny and no clouds and no winds. We had unobstructed views for miles in all directions - and what magnificent view they are!

The trail looks a bit daunting the beginning because our map showed a series of tight switchbacks on the first section leading up to Summit Lake, but that first 4 km stretch is not too bad, those numerous switchbacks mean the trail isn't steep. Summit Lake itself is a gem, and from that point onward you climb up above the trees and enjoy the scenery that makes the Carthew-Alderson trail so famous.

If you have a chance to go, then do so! The great memories will last forever. We were back in Waterton by 2:30 PM, so there is still time for other activities, if you still have the energy...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carthew - Alderson Trail also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Carthew - Alderson Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing