We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“World Class Hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crypt Lake Trail

Crypt Lake Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“World Class Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hike has vista, waterfalls, lakes and wildlife to beat the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Band! The scenery is fabulous. The trail is lovely with just enough challenge to make you good and tired by the end of the hike. I would do it again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    32
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quite a climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is quite a long hike and steep in places, we never got to the top as we had smaller kids with us but it is beautiful . There is a chance of bears so be noisy and stay in a group for safety. The lake is at the end and top of the trail.

Helpful?
2 Thank gail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike that should not be missed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I have done this hike numerous times ourselves, with friends, and family. It is a gorgeous hike with great photo opportunities and different scenery changing as you progress. We have seen grizzlys a couple times (no where near the path, rather the lakes below) which is pretty neat, but seeing bears in Waterton is no tough feat. I'm very timid of the ledge you have to hold onto the steel cable with, but in the end it is worth it. We will definitely hike it again, it's one of our regular hikes and would encourage anyone to try it. You will not be disappointed!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DKazakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two's company, three's a crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

14 or 15 k round trip if you skip the Hell's Falls detour. It\s all hard work and very narrow untill the last couple of k. It\s a great destination and i was lucky to have been first to the lake and back in Waterton by 1515.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very adventurous hike, a little scary but worth every step!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hike was very fun! The views, different sceneries, waterfalls are incredible!! You do need to be careful w/ your steps along the ledge, in the tunnel and along the steel cable, but I took my time and it was no problem! We visited Waterton off-season (end of Sept) so there were only about 20 of us on the entire trail!

It was a little stressful to have time constraints (ie. needing to finish at 5:30pm when the boat comes to pick you up). However, we turned out to be "average hikers" (actually more toward the end of our group) and finished w/ about 15 mins to spare.

There is a pit toilet right near the lake too.

I think that you do need to be in above average shape to finish this 11 mile hike. There is a lot of uphill and few places to rest on the narrow portions. Plus, you can't take your sweet time or you'll miss the boat!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank yellowbear613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crypt Lake Trail also viewed

Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Crypt Lake Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing