We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing But Pure Relaxation..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterton Glacier Suites
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Waterton Glacier Suites and enjoyed our time there immensely.
We stayed in Room 203, a romance suite, and enjoyed the very clean, big and comfortable suite. The room had a king size bed, a two person jacuzzi tub and full bathroom.
The staff was at all times courteous, friendly and very professional. They ensured that we got the most of our time there.
The purpose of our trip was to get away from the hustle and bustle and enjoy some down time. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck and watching the multiple deer frolic and eat on the grounds below. There is so much to see and do in Waterton and would definitely recommend this hotel and the area for anyone looking for pure relaxation.
I can’t say enough good things about this hotel and area. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SpruceGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 366 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Waterton Glacier Suites July 18 and 19, 2010. The room rate was the highest paid during our visit to Canada. However, room options are limited in this area and we were in "high season". The facility was clean and the rooms comfortable. We had two power outages that were corrected shortly due to heavy rain storms in the evening.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
This was an excellent location to explore Waterton Park and also Glacier National Park in Montana. You are a 45 minute drive from the US border entry point and 1 1/2 hours from Glacier National Park. We spent ten hours driving from Waterton down to Glacier National Park and back to Waterton. Well worth the time. Beautiful country and scenery. The "going to the sun" road in Glacier is spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowtrooperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed in Loft room 207 for 3 nights midweek in June 2010 checking in Sun and checking out on a Wed.

Check In; We arrived early (noon) from our drive from Calgary (2.5 hrs) and they had been full the night before so they did not have the room ready yet but gave us several suggestions on what to do for a couple of hours and we could park the car in the lot, gave us maps etc.

Check Out: Efficient - everything was ready.

Staff: all of the staff were very friendly and helpful when asked for anything. Throughout Waterton most of the staff is temporary (only 60 people live there in the winter while the summer population is around 3,000) and you will notice on their name badges that underneath their name is where they are from (Alberta, Ontario, New Zealand etc).

Room: Loft style. Ground Floor: Full Bathroom (shower), fridge, microwave (no cutlery or dishes), pull out sofa bed, murphy bed, jacuzzi tub, gas fireplace, tv. Loft Level: Queen bed, drawers, hanging space, nightstands, full bathroom (shower). Balcony with 2 chairs.

Security: Digital safe that fits a laptop, deadbolt from inside, peephole, patio doors lock securely. Waterton feels like a very safe town.

Internet: Free Wifi and I was able to VPN into my office - but you really don't want to do that in this wonderful area do you? :)

Town: ATM, small grocery store, gift stores, moutain supply store, gas station, about 6 restaurants, laundromat. Groceries are expensive - best to bring some in with you - nearest large town is Pincher Creek 48km (30 miles).

Restuarants: pricey but this is a tourist town that makes its money from May to Sept. $13 for burger and fries, $18 large pizza. There are 2 fancier restaurants at the prince of wales hotel and the bayshore lodge. Also, pasta, subway, 3 ice cream / pie shops. Vegetarians - veggie burgers are there too.

Boat Ride: You can take a boat ride down the lake to Goat Haunt at the south end and back. The south part of the lake is in Montanna. You can get off and walk around for about 20 min before the return trip or you can hike back to Waterton (about 8.5 miles) along the shore trail. If you want to hike back or take another trail you must bring your PASSPORT. There are two US customs agents who will check your passport (and you get a Goat Haunt stamp). Without it you have to take the boat back. No swimming the lake is way too cold. Cost was $36 rtn or $18 one way on the boat. Boat Tour guide did a nice job.

Hiking: Lots of trails from easy to difficult but check with the Visitor Information Center (just as you come into town) for the latest trail update. In early June all of the high level trails (the most difficult ones) were still snowed in with mushy snow - not even good for showshoes etc. The Bears Hump trail is a short steep trail (gain 700 ft elevation in 3/4 mile) but the view is stupendous. It is very windy up there and no shade. There are two benches at 1/3, and 2/3 the way up. Slow and steady with breaks is about 35 min, fit and experienced hikers can do it in 20 min.

Drives: Cameron Lake drive we saw 4 black bear (1 was a cub, deer, big horn sheep), Red Rock Canyon drive was gorgeous but we did not see any animals on that trip. The parking lot at RRC was closed for construction so you could drive down there but not park. If you want to hike there the parks service is offering a free shuttle bus. Details at the Visitors Center.

Bears: There are bears in the area and on the trail. Per the park rangers do NOT use bear bells, whistles etc. These are inorganic sounds and are not effective and disturb the wildlife. The best thing to do is converse with others while hiking the trail - if you are alone shout every 4 or 5 min. If you see a bear while driving do NOT get out of your car, try to feed it, or even stick your hands out the windows.

Deer and Big Horn Sheep: Saw many and they come into the town and graze on the grass. They are used to people being near them but do not try to touch them - they are still wild.

Please DO NOT FEED the animals - even the birds, chipmunks and squirrels. A fed animal is a dead animal as they 1) rely on humans for food and the larger ones become dangerous 2) the smaller animals do not store the food needed for the winter or develop the necessary skills to survive and end up starving over the winter. Just admire their beauty and take photos.

If you can trek it in you can trek it out. Take only photos and leave only footprints as the saying goes. It is an amazingly gorgeous area let's keep it that way for future generations. Thanks and enjoy your trip there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NYC-Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean, the service friendly and helpful. We booked a romantic package which was well worth the cost. We had a beautiful room with a kingsize bed and corner fireplace. The setting was fantastic with great views of the mountains. The hot breakfast in the lobby was an unexpected pleasure. They also served delicious lunches for a reasonable charge. The perfect place to stay while enjoying cross country skiing in the mountains.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldfarters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

My husband & I booked 4 days at this hotel to take a break from his hectic work schedule. We knew most of the town would be closed this late in the season, but were planning on simply relaxing anyways. The spacious deluxe suite is divided into three rooms, with a corner gas fireplace in both the living room & the bedroom. The microwave, coffeemaker and minifridge are always a bonus when staying mulitple nights. The bathroom had a whirlpool tub and in the bedroom, there is a sliding patio door, with chairs stored in the closet to sit outdoors. Staff were very friendly and helpful at this hotel, and also their sister hotel, The Bayshore Inn, where we enjoyed a delicious
dinner & breakfast. Great location in the village & deer wandering by the windows!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgary,AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This property is not on the lake, but is a great place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The suites are very clean and well-appointed. The bed is comfortable. There is a bedroom, bath (jacuzzi tub) and living room. There is a "closet" with microwave and refrigerator -- along with the coffeemaker and coffee. We wouldn't stay any place else in Waterton.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandJ-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We have made a couple of trips to Waterton and always stayed at the Kilmorey Lodge. Since it burned down in January 2009 we had to find other accommodations for our September trip. After reading all the reviews on Waterton Glacier Suites I was a little hesitant to book a room but did so anyway. We were not disappointed. The property not only met our expectations it exceeded them. None of the negative comments regarding staff, cleanliness, missing items, noise, etc were experienced during our stay. We will surely return to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbcoolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
485 reviews
0 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterton Glacier Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Glacier Suites

Address: 107 Wildflower Ave | Box 51, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: $82 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterton Glacier Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterton Glacier Suites is Waterton's newest and highest rated hotel. We have three different types of suites - Deluxe, Romantic and Loft Suites with two full bathrooms! This all suite property boasts a fireplace, jetted tub, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, in room safes and heavenly bedding in all our rooms. We are located in the center of the village and we are a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Waterton Glacier Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Glacier Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Hotel Waterton Glacier
Waterton Glacier Suites Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing