We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, greater service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterton Glacier Suites
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in mid-September and found the room clean, comfortable, and perfect for a stay in the mountains. Even when there was an issue with bath towels and wash cloths, the manager personally delivered those needed to our room within 5 minutes of calling the desk. This is our 4th stay at this property and they are always very hospitable and professional.

Room Tip: The romantic suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjcraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 371 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful views wherever you look! Nicely appointed rooms - Jacuzzi suites available - loft suites, quiet building probably because it is a bit newer so you don't have the typical "plumbing" noise of older hotels. No issues - bed was nice - pillows were ok - plus since most rooms have a balcony they have nice little deck chairs for you as well.

Room Tip: Again views are equally great on either side of the building - I don't think you would get a bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryTraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked a room for two nights at this location, and were very happy with our accommodations. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the jacuzzi tub was a real treat after hiking. The only change I would make in the room would be to have electrical outlets more conveniently located near the countertops in the bathroom areas. The staff was very pleasant and professional, and assisted us with various reservations for dining. The location was perfect, as most of the restaurants in town were within a block or two from our room. We will definitely be staying at Waterton Glacier Suites on our next visit to Waterton.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel was in a good location. It was easy to walk to town for meals. I expected to have a view of the lake and mountains, but since I did not make a much earlier reservation I understand not getting the best room. The in-room Jacuzzi was definitely a fun addition to our two night stay. The employees were super & answered all of our questions. Their advice was solid. The price was high but in line with the other hotels in this small town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have stayed at nearly all the hotels now in Waterton, and sadly this is one of the better ones!
The suite was OK in size. Bedroom, kitchen area and bathroom were great but the sitting area was tiny. It was nicely furnished, but frankly the 80's called and want their decor back! They have tried, with fresh bedding and a flat screen TV, but it really needs new furinture and a paint job.
All that aside, when I go back to Waterton, I will try to get a room here as most of the alternatives are dreadful. Only other decent place is the Crandel Inn.
I have some mobility issues, but this is close enough that I can walk to the bar and reatuarants. Staff were very helpful and efficient.
It is on the higher end of the price scale, but then so is everthing in Waterton. You are paying for a very short season there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagzRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertonalberta, Owner at Waterton Glacier Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Hello- I am glad you feel that the Waterton Glacier Suites is the best hotel in Waterton Park and you felt the staff was friendly and efficient . I am a little surprised you feel the decor was from the 80's and you thought we needed new furniture and a paint job. The hotel is a little over 10 years old and our rooms were redone 6 months ago with new wall coverings, new furniture, new lighting & new carpets. The bathrooms were just overhauled with new granite counter tops , sinks ,faucets and lighting. I feel maybe you are expecting a newly renovated city hotel or a high end hotel in Whistler or Banff that is open year round and unfortunately that is not what Waterton is about. We work very hard to upgrade and renovate every year to keep our guests happy and stay at the top of Tripadvisor. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were given the keys to someone else's room by the general manager Sonny when we checked in Sunday night, we entered the room that was already occupied and was humiliated. We had to return to the front desk, was told by the general manager that it sometimes happen that the keys are right beside each other, no apology to us what so ever. We had booked the romantic room for our 25 th anniversary, we had nothing put in the room to acknowledge this. We will not ever return to Waterton lakes, there was little if any customer service anywhere in town, and especially in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertonalberta, Owner at Waterton Glacier Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hello - I want to first apologize for the embarrassment and poor service you faced during your recent stay. There is no excuse for the manager not to give you an apology and ensure you were happy. We have been diligently working on our customer service as that is our business. I am sorry that we failed you. We do not have a key card system as we are an outside entrance hotel and key cards do not work in the winter so we are forced to use keys and that mistake, although very rare, can happen. Waterton is the jewel of Alberta and i am sorry that you had a sour experience. If you find it in you to give us another chance please call me before you come and i will prove to you that we take customer service as our #1 priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stopped by Waterton for two days on the way home from Banff. The town is charming and the property is located one block from town. Our suite was clean and roomy. We found that most of the properties are about 25-30% higher in Waterton than other resort areas due to the limited places to stay. If your on a budget stay outside the park and make daytrips into Waterton. Make sure to hike Bear Hump Mts for great sunrise and lake shots. You can walk to the base of Bear Mt from the the property. We actually were the first on top and on the way back down met another couple from Reno NV, our hometown. Its a small world. After hiking if your up for a glass of wine or beer (great wine list) be sure to visit Prince of Wales Hotel. Amazing five star view of the lake. We checked out the rooms and we recommend this historic place to anyone. Just remember the prices for ALL properties are higher in Waterton and not necessarly better. So it may seem your not getting the same value as you would pay less, for more in Banff or Lk Louise. If you need anything..or forgot anything go to Pats. This store has camping, fishing, rentals, food and more than I can list. For the best sweet potato fries go to "Weiners"...it was packed so i'll assume the hot-dogs are also great:0) Happy Trails..

Room Tip: The Suites are roomy and plenty of space for two couples or a family. The Jacuzzi Tub was a plus af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ohminihaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
1,143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
485 reviews
0 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterton Glacier Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Glacier Suites

Address: 107 Wildflower Ave | Box 51, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: $109 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterton Glacier Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterton Glacier Suites is Waterton's newest and highest rated hotel. We have three different types of suites - Deluxe, Romantic and Loft Suites with two full bathrooms! This all suite property boasts a fireplace, jetted tub, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, in room safes and heavenly bedding in all our rooms. We are located in the center of the village and we are a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Waterton Glacier Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Glacier Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Hotel Waterton Glacier
Waterton Glacier Suites Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing