We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much needed break from the hectic life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterton Glacier Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Much needed break from the hectic life”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After talking with someone who had been to waterton before, we decided to visit. usually we just do day trips, but we decided to stay for a few nights to get the whole experience of waterton and what it had to offer.The hotel was quite nice and it was clean and well maintained very friendly and helpful staff not too pushy or annoying like some places..Helpful and knowledgable of waterton and the surrounding area, lots of different ideas on what to do, but unfortunately did not have enough time to do it all, so we will return again, the weather was very good while we were there so we were really lucky. Would be a very nice place to go on a romantic getaway, to enjoy some quiet time with someone very special.The fireplaces in the room could sure set the mood.
I would recommend it to anyone, the prices are a lot better than Banff and Jasper for sure and not as crazy hectic.Bonus, not too far from the U.S. Border.

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what your looking for they r the experts afterall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    122
    61
    24
    13
See reviews for
85
200
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MilkRiver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel was nice loved the fireplaces newer hotel very friendly front. end staff, manager, and other staff. very quiet and peaceful..lots of things to do staff was helpful in giving directions and answering any questions. Large spacious bright room one of the newer hotels in waterton looks like alot of old dumpy places in waterton this was definiteley a nice hotel, not too extravagant just right for our needs. would definiteley come back agan hopefully next year. Alot of choice for rooms
staff was quite accomodating considering how busy it was this time of year Very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylvl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We recently returned from a wonderful vacation visiting Waterton and Glacier National Parks. Our initial stop was in Waterton, a quaint town in the midst of natural beauty. Our family of four, had booked a room at the Waterton Glacier Suites for three nights. We stayed in the Loft Suite on the second floor (per the manager, the only available room to accomodate our family size). The price quoted was $279 CAD, however there is an additional $20 charged for each child, each night over the age of 12 years. For us, this meant that the cost per night was $299 CAD not including the 5% GST and the 4% Alberta Tourism Levy per night. The total cost for the room was very very pricey at $977 CAD. The exchange rate of $0.96 US to $1 CAD. We inquired about the AAA discount and apparently they do not acknowledge the discount during their busy (summer) season. Outside on the sign post, they proudly display a AAA sign yet they do not acknowledge the reciprocating discount with this affliation. Their explanation was that they have their greatest patronage for only 6 months of the year and hence need to make up for the lost revenue during the tough winter months. This response is very irritating and in poor taste given that the cost is already pricey. For the staff to state that your visit with them is too help pay for the rest of the year is bothersome and rude, to say the least. The room was large and comfortable overall. However, the photos on this site are misleading in that there is no view of the mountains to speak of. Our front window on the second floor looked out to the front door of the town's Mormon Church. We did have a limited view of the Prince of Wales Hotel through the back entrance door of our room. Construction noise was ongoing during the day from the backyard area of the hotel.
In regard to the room, the screen door in the front area was broken. We were unable to open the glass door due to this broken screen. We also had difficulty understanding the relationship between the heating system via the fireplace and the air conditioner. The air conditioner would not turn on if the room was too hot, very querky. It was actually quite hot when we were there in early August. Another bothersome note was that every added perk to the room required payment. If you wanted to use a DVD for the system in the room (available in the check-in area), there was a $5 CAD charge per day. At the registration time, they also automatically add an additional $150 CAD to your credit card to cover to any extra expenses during your stay.
We did not get a warm and genuine feel from this place. The manager seemed hostile, disgruntled and more interested in managing the payment aspect rather than serving the customers staying in her hotel and introducing visitors to her town.
Overall the town of Waterton is pricey in comparison to US standards in Glacier National Park. For the cost at Waterton Glacier Suites, I would expect a warmer reception and eliminating the extra costs in the registration area. I got the feeling that they were trying to "nickel and dime" us as much as possible. The value is not here.
We will return to Waterton to experience the beauty of this wonderful place, but we will not stay at the Waterton Glacier Suites again and we recommend to readers to investigate other lodging options in this town or outside of Waterton.
Of note: When we paid for the bill at the end of our stay, we were told that the AAA discount would be applied to our visit. We showed them our Premier AAA card; however on inspection of the bill after we checked out, the discount was not applied. We did not have the energy to fight this discrepancy. The whole experience was very unpleasant. We looked forward to leaving the Glacier Suites and heading toward our new adventure and lodging in East Glacier the following night.

Room Tip: Do not recommend staying at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenacres_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertonalberta, General Manager at Waterton Glacier Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
I am glad you found the room comfortable but sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay and especially troubled that you did not feel our service was up to par as we pride ourselves on our service.I have looked into all your comments to see where we went wrong and where we can improve. As for our AAA designation we proudly display not only for the discount offered but for our AAA rating our hotel has. We clearly write on confirmation letters,The AAA book, on our website and on the telephone during the reservation process that we offer the discount seasonally. We do not offer the discount in July & August as these are our busiest months. I have trained the staff be be clear and informative so guests do not feel cheated as you did about the AAA discount. I checked into the torn screen in all our Loft suites and could not find one but it could have been repaired as we have a full time maintenance team that looks care of the building. As far as the view i have checked our website and we do not claim anywhere to have a few but i will make it more clear that we are located in the center of village. I think the $150 deposit was not explained correctly, we take a pre authorization of your credit card (not a charge) for incidentals or damage. This is a practice used by every hotel that is not usually disclosed to the guest. Every hotel asks for your credit card at check in and that is what they are doing, we just choose to disclose it. I will have my staff explain this better to guests. I am confused when you write that you can not turn the air conditioner on if it is too hot, that is simply not true. You can not have the fireplace and air conditioner on at the same time as they are on the same breaker and that what is written in the room, i am sorry if that was confusing or not clearly marked. You also state that there was a $5 charge per day to use the DVD system, that also is incorrect. There are DVD players in all our rooms for guest to use, to rent a movie it is $5 per day. Since your visit we have spent much time on customer service training , updating our website and confirmation letters to provide more information . We have also added free DVD rentals to all our guests, help with you luggage and fresh baked cookies upon check in. I hope you will give us another try to meet & exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
224 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location was good, but Waterton is so small just about anyplace is a good location. On the water would have been the only better location.The balcony was a nice place to sit and view the mountain. The room looked so much larger on the website. It really was just a big room rather than what I would expect from a suite. The soaking tub was great. The room was quiet but clearstory window near the ceilng let in a lot of light both from outside lights. The staff at the desk was mixed. Some more friendly than others.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smileyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertonalberta, General Manager at Waterton Glacier Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
I am sorry that you were not 100% satisfied and it sounds like the Romantic room was not properly described. We do not call that room a suite. We call it the Romantic room as it is not a suite. We have updated our description and also include a room layout on our website and in our confirmation letters to ensure our guests are informed & satisfied. I will work harder to have our staff properly trained in describing the Romantic room with better detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a great experience at this hotel, as the Manager Sunny Bain was exceptionally nice to us.
He took the time to personally show us the room before we decided to rent for one night. He invited us to a home cooked meal that he prepared himself, the food was great. We would recommend staying at Waterton Glacier Suites to anyone heading that way, but be sure you can meet Sunny, as he made our stay very special.
Ken & Debbie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger3101952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent 5 nights in a romantic suite. The room was large, quite & clean; the bed was comfortable & the bedding was of good quality. WCS is conveniently located within the townsite & is easy walking distance to the waterfront & to restaurants. It's a bit pricey but we always expect to pay more when visiting a tourist town or national park.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BKandAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was looking forward to a luxurious room at this price and was rather disappointed. We had a one bedroom suite but due to the configuration of the suite there was a lot of wasted space and it ended up feeling cramped. The layout woud work better for a family wanting to use the sofa bed than for a couple. The room had a balcony with a "lovely" view of the parking lot and garbage bin. There is a courtyard but why be in enclosed space when you want to see the beautiful countryside. The air conditioner was extremely noisy but you couldn't leave the sliding door open as it was on the ground floor and there were no windows.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterton Glacier Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Glacier Suites

Property: Waterton Glacier Suites
Address: 107 Wildflower Ave | Box 51, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Waterton Glacier Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterton Glacier Suites is Waterton's newest and highest rated hotel. We have three different types of suites - Deluxe, Romantic and Loft Suites with two full bathrooms! This all suite property boasts a fireplace, jetted tub, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, in room safes and heavenly bedding in all our rooms. We are located in the center of the village and we are a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterton Glacier Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Glacier Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Hotel Waterton Glacier
Waterton Glacier Suites Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing