We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay in Waterton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Waterton”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

For our one night stay in Warterton we decided on the lakes lodge resort. The reception area and restaurant are in a central building next to the main car park, with the lodges located around a couple of minutes walk from reception.

We were staying in the top floor of one of the buildings and managed to get a balcony which overlooks the mountains but unfortunately no view of the lake. The room was clean and tidy with comfortable beds. The TV was however dated and lacking a decent range of channels. The bathroom was particularly nice which had its own skylight. The location is perfect as you can see the main street from our balcony and we were a short walk from the lake. This resort would certainly be on our shortlist for a future stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetter1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    130
    123
    63
    30
See reviews for
131
199
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

After reading some earlier reviews I was expecting the worst, but our room turned out OK. We were given a room in the Lake House unit, on the top floor. It had 2 queen beds with balcony. This room type has sloping ceilings that restrict headroom near the head end of the bed and in the shower over tub. I liked the sky light window in the bathroom sloping ceiling. It made the room brighter and you see at night. It looked like there was some attempt at refurbishing this room not too long ago. The 2 queen beds were OK, and heating/ventilation in the room was good. Happy to report there were no musty smells. There is plenty of free parking, and a gas station in the next block. The Waterton village is inside the National Park, so there is a cost of about CAD20 per day to enter the park in order to stay at the hotel. They do not accept USA inter-agency annual pass.

It is a short walk down to the pier where you can catch a small cruise tour boat. We saw a huge grizzly bear sitting on the putting green at nearby Waterton Golf course. Not sure why he chose that spot to sit, but it sure looked funny.

Room Tip: The resort consists of several separate blocks, with about a dozen rooms in each block. I can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brizzyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Waterton, come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat,AB
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

If this was a deluxe room I'd hate to see a regular one. Everything about the Lodge had a tired look. The entrance to our part of the lodge was not clean. Dirty towels and garbage sat at the entrance way for 24 hours. The carpets in the hallway and in the room were stained. There was a hole in the back of the bathroom door. Minimal vacuuming had been done. Hesitated to sit on the sofa. No one made up the room for our second day. I had to go and ask for coffee and cups for the second day. We were rationing toilet paper the morning we left. The room had a gas fireplace that wasn't working. I was informed that someone would come up and light the pilot light. No one came. Didn't even check out the pool after seeing the lack of care in the rooms. We will not be returning!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are sincerely sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay at the Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort. We strive to provide each guest with an excellent stay, and we are humbled to hear we failed you. We have taken appropriate measures to ensure the housekeeping issues you mentioned don't continue to happen. These issues are inexcusable and again we sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

For the most part, the hotel was nice. The staff was typical of a resort town, not customer oriented. We had to ask for every thing at our catered meal. Restaurant and pool staff at least. We came to the hotel at the end of September on a Saturday night and the hot tub was cloudy and green with lots of foam.
When I mention the tub needed service, he advised that the manager wasn't in until Monday. It was the same on the Sunday. It didn't seem like there were any chemicals In the hot tub from the smell.
Took a swim in the pool. When I dove to the bottom of the deep end, it was slimy and slippery. No properly trained pool Maintenance staff. I have to say it tainted my impression of the resort.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DCVentures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, your feedback is important to us. Our pool facility follows all of Alberta Health Services regulations and passes regular inspection, the latest being Tuesday October 15th. We apologize you were unhappy in the facility, but we ensure you all of our pool services are of exceptional standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Quite nice. Stunning view from our balcony. Good restaurant for dining and breakfast. Room needs a facelift rugs etc. Swimming pool nice but fitness room was cluttered with machines half of witch didn't work. Over rated probably for the price

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We will be working on renovating all of our guest rooms over the winter with updated furniture, finishings and decor that I think you would be quite pleased about. Come back next summer and stay with us again, you won't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
283 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at this resort for one night while touring Waterton Park. The rooms are in the town off the main road, The rooms were clean and quiet, a little dated for a standard room. There is a place to eat right in the resort entrance. They give a coupon for 10% off a meal. Right across the street is a the best coffee shop in town and the most reasonable prices. If you are coming from the US to visit this park and stay in the park city be prepared for higher price even thought the exchange rate is almost the same. This was the best price with rooms available for this time of year in September.

Room Tip: They still use keys to get into the rooms, and they are tricky to figure out, push the doors hard, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, you picked a great time of year to visit Waterton when things are starting to wind down. We hope you stay with us again the next time you visit Waterton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This facility was a big disappointment. The room was not clean, the carpet was filthy, the TV was antiquated (tube type) and unusable. The food in the restaurant was tasteless. The whole facility looked tired and run down. We certainly expected more for $199. per night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with your stay at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort. We try to do our best to ensure pleasant stays for all of our guests. If you would have let the front desk know about the maintenance issues we would have happily dealt with any problems to make your experience a positive one. Again, I sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Property: Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Address: 101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort is located in the heart of the Waterton Lakes National Park town site. Surrounded by the Canadian Rockies, this property offers affordable rooms and suites; indoor pool and hot tub; fitness and recreation center; ski and snowshoe rentals; banquet hall and meeting space; and stunning mountain views! A good sleep, a good meal, and a great adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Lakes Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Waterton Lake Lodge
Waterton Lakes Alberta
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing