We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel room is good, but the service is poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel room is good, but the service is poor”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just went back from a trip to Waterton. Used a voucher from travelzoo, so the price is reasonable. The only problem with the room is that the AC was not that powerful. Room was kinda hot even in the

The location of the hotel is great, and the room is nice and spacious. As we chose a deluxe suite, so there is even a jetted-tub in the washroom besides a shower.

However, the room service is mediocre or poor to my standard. The second day when we came back from hiking, we found that the room service person only did the bed and took out the garbage, oh, and took the tip. All the used towels were left as is. Yes we understand if we left the towels on the rack, we are going to use it again. But at least the room service should fold or re-arrange them so that it doesn't look so messy. The other thing we notice was that they didn't replenish the coffee/tea bags and cups we consumed the day before. So, the 2nd morning we have only 1 clean cup and 2 coffee pods. Really disappointed. The service is not even as good as the B&B we lived in last year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi Andy,

I appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay.

We have looked into the room service issues, and I apologize that this occurred. This is not the standard we strive to achieve, and I am truly sorry.

I hope you consider returning, and give us another chance to impress you. Again, I sincerely apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    131
    123
    64
    31
See reviews for
134
200
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here over the May long weekend. We checked in early and our room was ready. We had a top floor room with 2 queen beds. The room was tidy, clean and comfortable. The bathroom is a little dated but did the job, the shower is not luxurious but was hot and worked well.
The first night we were woken by a noisy group of people at 3 p.m in our block, the same thing the second night with a young girl banging to get into a room. OH complained at front desk who were very polite and said they were dealing with the situation. The 3rd night there were no problems,so kudos to the staff for dealing with the problem. We found all the staff to be friendly,even those in training. We did not get to use the pool so cannot comment,and we did not use the restaurant either.
We would stay again.a

Room Tip: Stay on top floor , views are better & I should think the ground floors rooms ate noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC62Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I apologize for the disturbances you encountered during your stay, but I'm happy to hear we resolved the issues in a timely and effective manner.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your trip otherwise, hope to have you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

First of all, I reserved over the phone with Kierstin about a week ahead of time with credit card, to facilitate check in. When we got there it was busy, but the reservation had never been made. They had no idea where I was staying, what I needed, and that all took quite a while with no apologies or anything, until the very end, a cursorary 'sorry about the time.' from someone who seemed to be the manager. Oh, and I reserved a room with 2 queens, and they gave us a room with only one queen, with no apology or discount or anything.
The place was allright, clean, but they already turned the gas off, and in May it's still quite cold, so we cranked up the electric heater. We tried the spa/hottub/pool facility, but there were about 30 screaming children who kept opening the door to the sauna, so we didn't stay there long.
We were excited about the large jacuzzi tub in our room, as the spa hot tub was standing room only. The water in the jacuzzi came out lukewarm, and when we turned the jets on a ton of gross brown flakes from the pipes came out. We filled it up and ran the jets 4 separate times!! But it never came clean, so we had a lukewarm shower, as it didn't get hot either. When checking out we heard another guy complaining about the water temp as well.
Re: Checkout: When I was asked how our trip was, I answered honestly, and said we were rather dissapointed with the lost reservation, the room switch-up to only one bed, the water temperature, the dirty jets, and and on top of that my truck was vandalized and the rear tail light was broken (could have been a sheep or a deer trying to get at some road salt..). The reply I got from the front desk guy was 'oh, that's too bad.' Then no eye contact,. no apology, nothing. This place needs some work, and is definitely not worth the $160 a night.

Room Tip: Choose a top room, as noise travels, and the streets are loud if your ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I apologize for the issues you encountered while staying with us, this is not the standard we wish to uphold for our guests.

Please feel free to contact our Marketing Manager, Thom McCann, at thom@waymarker.ca to follow up on the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in a kitchenette, it was very spacious and comfortable. The flooring was outdated and not fitted properly with gaps but it was ok. The view from the front door was breathtaking. The pool and hot tub were great, the pool was deeper than most hotels and the gym facilities were good also. They charged $20 for us to bring the dog but at least we could have her there. The bed was comfortable but small.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A wintery wonderland...very quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Accomodations were good (not great) but had all the elements for a pleasureable stay. Dining was wonderful, nice setting, great food and service was excellent. Not many people around at all due to it being a regular weekend in the heart of winter. Will very likely do it again, if not this year then next year for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everyone was very accomodating. Restaurant on property was descent and friendly. Room was clean . We rented snowshoes right on the property. Very easy going and friendly place.Overall a good stay :). Yes, we would return in the summer time to check out the hiking

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Waterton Lakes Lodge is in the beautiful town of Waterton which is surrounded by mountains and sits on a lake. We went during the off-season in winter (mid-February), which is very different from the summer. During the winter, the town is completely shut down so don't expect to do a lot of shopping or that sort of thing. However, the hotel has a nice restaurant on site (I recommend the nachos), and a pool with a sauna, a steam-room and a hot-tub so we had no trouble keeping our kids entertained.
The front desk was friendly and helpful and the room was clean.
We stayed over on a weeknight, so they served a complimentary continental breakfast rather than opening their restaurant for breakfast as i'm told they do on weekends and presumably during the busy-season. However, the breakfast was very good, offering not just cereal, yogurt and baking, but fresh waffles and hot breakfast sandwiches as well. Definitely more than I was expecting!
If you can get a good deal and just want to get away, relax, see the beautiful mountains and perhaps spend a little time trekking around outside than this is a great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Property: Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Address: 101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort is located in the heart of the Waterton Lakes National Park town site. Surrounded by the Canadian Rockies, this property offers affordable rooms and suites; indoor pool and hot tub; fitness and recreation center; ski and snowshoe rentals; banquet hall and meeting space; and stunning mountain views! A good sleep, a good meal, and a great adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Lakes Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Waterton Lake Lodge
Waterton Lakes Alberta
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing