We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Had a great visit and will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort to your Saves list
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had a great visit and will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Lodge. It is central to everything in Waterton and right across the street from a great little coffee shop (Pearl's). We appreciated the aidarondik chairs around the grounds. The staff were friendly and courteous. I like having the swimming pool, hot tub and games room. The room was perfect for our needs - nicely decorated with access to the outside. A small fridge would have been appreciated. The whole complex was nicely maintained.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    107
    100
    50
    28
See reviews for
108
163
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this Hotel. We love to visit Waterton and find that for the quality this place give you the best bang for your buck! On this trip we upgraded and stayed in their Deluxe room. It has a gas fireplace, jetted tub, and a walk in shower. The room is very large and you even get your own exit and a little patio! The other 2 visits we had the standard rooms which are a little small if you have more then 2 adults and a child but they are still very clean!

You have to keep in mind when visitng Waterton everything is more expensive so expect to pay more for what you get.

I would recommend this hotel is everyone who visits Waterton! We are excited to go back next summer as we noticed room upgrades are taking place!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sillychell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed one night only in a "family/kitchenette" suite consisting of 1 bedroom, full kitchen, small bath and tiny living room area with cheap sofa bed. The cost was $274.00.
Check-in was delayed by staff until exactly 4 pm and checkout was reminded several times to be 11 am. This is both 1 hour later and 1 hour earlier than most hotels. We were then given directions to a different unit which left us driving around several times to find the correct one.

The kitchen had a sign stating we must do our own dishes or be charged another $10.00 for any dirty dishes left. What??!! It is a hotel kitchenette. Should I wash my own sheets as well??

Sofa bed was completely uncomfortable; Every sound from the unit above and the mutual entry way was heard all night long. Whether footsteps or doors opening and closing or talking or water running - every sound is audible.

I would definitely NOT stay here again, especially for the quality to value exchange. The only thing this hotel really has going for it is the fact it is in Waterton Park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solotravel903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was our second stay with Waterton Lakes Lodge. I just love this hotel. The rooms are clean and updated and the staff are very friendly. It is a bit expensive, but so is everything else in Waterton.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here with our 7-year old son for just one night on a Glacier National Park trip. Our room was clean but a bit cramped for the three of us, especially for the price paid. But the location is great. The little Waterton townsite has beautiful mountains all around. Deer wander through the town, grazing on all the lawns. We used the pool (hard to avoid with a youngster) and it was a bit of a hassle, as they ran out of towels and the changing rooms were kind of grubby and chaotic. We did not eat at the Lodge restaurant, but there are a few eating establishments in the village - the ones we ate at were good but be warned they are expensive for what you get! If you find yourself here, I highly recommend making the drive out to Cameron Lake - it is beautiful!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DBTNMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
251 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We paid CN$400 for a package of two nights in a standard room, 1 lunch and 1 dinner in the hotel restaurant. Arrived at 2:30, signed the check-in registration which noted our assigned unit 1103, was told room was not ready until check in time 4 PM. We had a beer in the hotel bar, used the wifi, and at 3:50 told the front desk we had to go to the post office. Drove back at 4 PM, parked by our building, brought our bags into the building and left them in the hallway. A housekeeping supervisor told me our room would be ready in 2 minutes and I said, "OK, I will go pick up the keys from reception.". Got to the reception, was told our assigned unit 1103 had problems, another room would be assigned when one was ready. After my questioning I understood that unit 1103 had no problem, but Housekeeping Manager Brenie did not want us to have it. I asked Brenie how could she punish us just because we went to the building before picking up the keys at 4 PM? Brenie finally gave the approval to reception to hand us the keys for unit 1103 after she showed us she was the big boss! Brenie's unprofessional behavior brought down our rating of the hotel which had a "Vacancy" sign out front.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kueimei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This hotel is too expensive. The hotel needs a good cleaning! The rooms, hallway, and recreation centre were dirty. The standard rooms are very tiny. The hotel is misleading on the Internet as using the word "newest" hotel. The hotel changes the name every two years (as told by a local resident of Waterton) to add to the confusion of frequent travelers to the area. The only positive thing about the hotel was the friendly front desk workers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterton Lakes National Park
0.1 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort

Property: Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Address: 101 Clematis Avenue, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort is located in the heart of the Waterton Lakes National Park town site. Surrounded by the Canadian Rockies, this property offers affordable rooms and suites; indoor pool and hot tub; fitness and recreation center; ski and snowshoe rentals; banquet hall and meeting space; and stunning mountain views! A good sleep, a good meal, and a great adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterton Lakes Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Waterton Lake Lodge
Waterton Lakes Alberta
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing