We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, amazing staff, but with its inconveniences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is stunning to look at, and filled with historical appointments and highlights. Waterton was the icing on the cake of our trip to Glacier. Staff was amazing - helping us print out a map to the border to make our crossing back to US soil quick and easy, giving us pointers about boat trips and restaurants. The elevator, however is activated only by staff, and then at the top of the elevator, you need to climb half a flight of stairs if you are on the 5th floor! Bellmen carried the bags, thank goodness. But if you need to go up or down before 7am the elevator is not staffed, so the stairs are the only way down 5 flights. And of course in the summer, the sun is up at 5:30am so you can get out and see the wildlife! Pretty, fun, but a bit challenging.

Room Tip: the higher floors have no elevator to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pwolfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

The title says it all. The location is second to none in terms of the view. Maybe none better in the world. That said, there is a lot of deferred maintenance at this hotel. Seems someone is milking the property and not making needed reinvestments. I looked out a window and saw a hole in the roof. The rooms are small, the walls are thin and you can hear every word your neighbors say. The sink is in the bedroom not in the bathroom (our room anyways). Prices at the bar are ridiculously high. No TV in the rooms, no wifi at the property. Heat is via a dial on an electric heater on the floor. Food in the restaurant was good. While the back of the hotel is the place to be, there is no door that opens on the back and you have to exit through the front and walk around. (Ok - maybe I'm piling on now). Would I stay there again - maybe - for the location and views. There was a nice motel in Waterton that I would explore as well and compare (I don't recall the name) which seemed really nice. If I did this, I'd go to the Prince of Wales to take pictures of the view.

One more issue - after being out of our room from about 8AM we returned at 4 to find a group of 4 (yes 4) from housekeeping cleaning the tiny room. I had to kick them out as our tour was leaving for the next stop and we had 20 minutes in the room to freshen up.

Room Tip: It's all about the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bankguy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We did not stay at this hotel; however, we came one afternoon to tour the property. If you're going to be in Waterton, you've got to come check this place out! Beautiful view from the sitting room. The architecture is so stunning, so much attention to detail inside and out. The chandelier is huge! They had a harpist playing in the lobby while we were there...very nice touch. There menu looked good as well. We would love to come back to eat or stay next time we're in the area.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank KTandLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This historic hotel is being badly neglected by the Canadian Park Service. We stayed 2 nights, but probably should have checked out after the first night. The hotel is infested with mice. We even saw mice in the front room in which they serve high tea. Mice crawled into my son's backpack during the night, and ate a hole in his trail mix bag. Mice droppings were on the carpet both mornings.

When the person upstairs showered, the ceiling in our bathroom leaked. The wood planks on the balcony have wood rot, and are so deteriorated they could not be sanded and painted. The chairs in the lobby are worn and the seat cushions deteriorated. There is no wifi, or television and the hotel's phone service is unreliable. We had to use the front desk phone to make reservations.

On the positive side, the views of Waterton Lake from the hotel are spectacular. Service was polite.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CitasDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Hi CitasDash,
Thank you for leaving some feedback about your recent stay. I want to take the opportunity to apologize for the mice you experienced during your visit. To ensure that this doesn’t happen in the future, we have deployed an aggressive mouse remediation plan that includes having obtained proper permits from Parks Canada, installing traps, and utilizing a professional pest control firm. Your additional feedback about the ceiling and balcony has been sent to the general manager who will address the problem with the maintenance staff. We also have plans to install wifi in time for the 2015 season.
Best regards,
Dan Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a great hotel with unsurpassed views down the lake and I do think everyone should stay here once. However be aware this is an old hotel and the rooms aren't equipped for people with lots of baggage on longer holidays. Also for those British folk passing by be aware the restaurant has a faux English menu including shepards pie so you may prefer to eat in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you appreciate the charm of an historic property, this is for you. The views are beyond beautiful, the food was delicious, and the accommodations were very comfortable. We loved this hotel. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. I wished I had time to enjoy high tea - the selection of treats looked amazing, and the setting was perfect. The town of Waterton, located below the hotel, is lovely and must be experienced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location and can't be beat views. Good bedding and comfortable beds. Service was above average... But as one could expect small rooms, no sound proofing etc. I find it interesting that people are surprised by this... The imperfections are part of the experience... It's fun! Would stay again!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank annabellecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: $179 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing