We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay only...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Moray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Short stay only...”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a great hotel with unsurpassed views down the lake and I do think everyone should stay here once. However be aware this is an old hotel and the rooms aren't equipped for people with lots of baggage on longer holidays. Also for those British folk passing by be aware the restaurant has a faux English menu including shepards pie so you may prefer to eat in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishExposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    256
    138
    124
    80
See reviews for
197
439
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you appreciate the charm of an historic property, this is for you. The views are beyond beautiful, the food was delicious, and the accommodations were very comfortable. We loved this hotel. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. I wished I had time to enjoy high tea - the selection of treats looked amazing, and the setting was perfect. The town of Waterton, located below the hotel, is lovely and must be experienced.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location and can't be beat views. Good bedding and comfortable beds. Service was above average... But as one could expect small rooms, no sound proofing etc. I find it interesting that people are surprised by this... The imperfections are part of the experience... It's fun! Would stay again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank annabellecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The reason to stay at this hotel is the view. Were it not for the fact that we had the prime view overlooking the lake and mountains, we would not have stayed here. There are few places on the continent where you can wake up to such majesty.That is what you are paying a premium for. Everyone, I think, agrees on this point. The lobby and public areas are lovely and retain their old world charm. The wall of windows in the lobby offers an unsurpassed view. But let's talk about the rooms. They are quite small and barely adequate. No luxury here. The walls are thin and we could hear our neighbors quite clearly. Maybe because there was a connecting door. The bathrooms feature a tub with wrap around shower curtain, a commode and a stand alone sink with a medicine cabinet above. Ladies, there are no hair dryers, but you could most likely get one at the front desk (I brought my own). And you cannot use a hair dryer in the bathroom due to lack of electrical facility. The toiletries consist of a shower cap, very small bath bar, smaller bar for the sink and a combination shampoo/conditioner (ladies with long hair take note). These items were not replenished. The shampoo was enough for two people to use once each. And the soap bar was barely big enough for two people to have two showers. Three showers would not have been possible with the one bar. I had to hunt down toiletries, which one should not have to do at the rate of $300 per night. I believe the elevator is original or close to it and, if you want to use it, you must ring for assistance. The much preferred way is to use the stairs- which practically everyone does regardless of what floor one happens to be on. We were on the 4th floor and did not mind the stairs (they are designed quite well). This splendid property should not be permitted to deteriorate into a 2nd rate property. It has way too much going for it. The staff, it must be said, is friendly and accommodating. The bell staff is exceptionally helpful. We did not eat here so I cannot comment in the food. This property gets 4 stars from me rather than 3 because of the view.

Room Tip: Try to get the straight-on lake and mountain view, but these are quite limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB4469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
236 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This aging hulk has seen its glory days come and gone long long ago. The architecture is classic, but the building has become a compromise of decades of shortsighted maintenance and is beginning to acquire a seedy feel. It is sad to see a potentially great site like this die a slow death owing to poor care over the decades.

Staff means well, but are too overwhelmed by tour groups to attend to individual overnight guests.

All that being said, our room had an incomparable view. It is absolutely stunning! The view is the ONLY reason this gets a 4 rating. Otherwise, it would be in the 2 or 3 range.

My advice would be to acquire accommodations in the small village of Waterton (there are a number of options) and visit the bluff on which this venue is placed. It is walkable from "downtown" Waterton.

Room Tip: Stay in town. Walk up to the site to see the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Second time at the Prince of Wales, loved it. Stayed for two nights, small rooms, smaller bath room, hey it is almost 100 years old. Stay for the history and ambience, otherwise try a Comfort Inn or best western. Are four meals in dinning room, exuberant staff maybe a bit "clumsy" moderately priced food very crunchy parsnips and beets. The view is outstanding, you would pay double anywhere in Europe. Greeted by four foxes playing on the front lawn, it is a very special place, to enjoy a wonderfully preserved piece of time. Our only regret was the original chandelier had been removed and relocated to another of their properties, too bad it was stunning!

Room Tip: Lake side fourth floor or lower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We passed through Waterton Lakes on the way to Calgary so there was no need for a room for the night, but we decided to stop in the hotel for a cup of coffee just to check it out. I am so glad we did. I highly recommend stopping by to sit in front of the giant windows to look out over the lake while drinking some tea or coffee. The hotel is very charming and the staff wear uniforms fitting for the hotels swiss theme.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
465 reviews
0.9 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing