We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and pricey, but glad we stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tired and pricey, but glad we stayed”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel was the most expensive of the 4 we stayed at during our trip to Glacier. We appreciate the age and size of the rooms, but found that some well-needed cleaning and paint would have made our stay more enjoyable. Loved the view from the lobby. Found the food to be extremely expensive so we ate in the village for most meals.Very glad that we stayed there despite these short-comings. It was an amazing sight as we drove from the Chief Mountain border crossing. You could see it from everywhere we went in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake can be noisy with wind shaking the windows - but the views are amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    258
    138
    124
    80
See reviews for
198
444
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is impressive. It sits up on a hill overlooking the town. It is a short, easy walk to the town.
The rooms are small, and not well insulated (you can easily overhear your neighbors). We overcame this problem by running the suitcase fan in our room all night (white noise). The beds are comfortable.
The hotel is historic. It deserves at least 1 night of your stay in Waterton. It is pricey, but you have to remember Waterton is a tourist town. The hotel closes in mid-September for the winter.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 376laurar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is an old building, relatively unmodernised, but a magnificent place to stay in this corner of Canada. Handy for the border crossing at Chief Mountain, if you're coming up from the Glacier National Park in the US, it is a relaxed hotel with a superb view over Waterton Lake. The bar is probably better than the restaurant for meals, as you can have a window seat in a relaxed atmosphere and choose from the same menu. We were there for the last two days before the hotel closed for the winter, so one or two items were missing from the menu. There is no buffet for breakfast, so you order from your waitress, who is quite likely not to be Canadian. Afternoon tea English-style is served in the lobby, but it can be very hot sitting in the sun near the windows. Although our lake-view room was just off the lobby and above the restaurant, we were not disturbed at night. Neither the accommodation nor the food is cheap, but nonetheless the hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room if you can, but even if you don't get one you can enjoy the lake view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a stately, wonderful place. It oozes history and beauty and majesty. A must stay. Well worth it! On par with Old Faithful and all the old lodges ( Paradise Inn, Mt Ranier and Timberline Lodge, Mt Hood; built when the railroad went West. The view from the lobby and dining room is breath taking.

Room Tip: A view facing the lake, looking south would be best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

all have seen the pic of this hotel jutting out on a cliff. Finally got there and it was just as amazing. ask for odd number room with the lake views. it's worth the extra to be able to sit outside and see the lake going on for miles. One of the few places in national park where i'd have been just as happy hanging out in my room rather than traipsing in the wilderness. The hike up a short steep trail- the Bear Hump- is worth the views. Do early in the morning. Was going to abort because of knee issues until i spoke with 85 yo who'd just done it! Take poles. Town is also worth a lazy afternoon of meandering. Take passport, the drive is worth the experience once you are in Glacier National Park. Was feeling sorry for the male attendants who have to wear kilts, but they were feeling sorrier for those at Many Glacier Lodge who have to wear lederhosen on hot days:-) Only downside: all porch lights stay on all night. Probably designed for visuals for those who might be out on the road in the dark and not necessarily for those wanting to sleep. Walk away to view the stars- truly remarkable without ambient lights.

Room Tip: Odd numbers face the lake. the higher odd numbers are near the generators or some machinery which c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabond2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderful view and relaxing hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. If visiting the National Parks make sure to include this as a stop even if only for the view. If staying you might need to take the stairs so make sure that you are aware of the floor that your room is on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired1FortMyers_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It takes very little imagination to appreciate what a grand hotel the Prince of Wales was in its prime. It is starting to show its age. Our room, on the third floor (with balcony), with a lake view was dated and over priced. It had an old cast iron deep tub with a hand held shower. The room had dark pine paneling which made it a little gloomy. I did enjoy thinking about the reactions of guests arriving back in the late 1920’s.
On the plus side, they serve “high tea” overlooking an incredible view looking down Waterton Lakes. This is worthwhile whether you are staying at the Prince of Wales Hotel or elsewhere.
We ate one meal in the Royal Stewart Dining Room. It was ok but felt that we had a better value by eating in the town of Waterton, just a few minutes drive away. Having breakfast at Pearl’s was a wonderful experience! My wife best summed it up by saying that she was glad that they were not near our home, because she would spend all her time there! We tried their cinnamon roll (huge, gooey, and delicious), breakfast panini, and french toast stuffed with blueberries & cream or apple pie mixture. The town of Waterton also offers some interesting shopping.
Just outside of town there is a waterfall that is a worthwhile side trip. While we we there, eight mule deer came walking down the same path that we had just traversed and milled around eating some of the foliage and then went down to the water at the base of the falls. As you drive around the area, be aware that wildlife may be right around the next corner. We encountered black bear and bison up close and personal while driving in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick_Marian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
467 reviews
0.9 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing