We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grandeur of the past”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Franklin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grandeur of the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

It takes very little imagination to appreciate what a grand hotel the Prince of Wales was in its prime. It is starting to show its age. Our room, on the third floor (with balcony), with a lake view was dated and over priced. It had an old cast iron deep tub with a hand held shower. The room had dark pine paneling which made it a little gloomy. I did enjoy thinking about the reactions of guests arriving back in the late 1920’s.
On the plus side, they serve “high tea” overlooking an incredible view looking down Waterton Lakes. This is worthwhile whether you are staying at the Prince of Wales Hotel or elsewhere.
We ate one meal in the Royal Stewart Dining Room. It was ok but felt that we had a better value by eating in the town of Waterton, just a few minutes drive away. Having breakfast at Pearl’s was a wonderful experience! My wife best summed it up by saying that she was glad that they were not near our home, because she would spend all her time there! We tried their cinnamon roll (huge, gooey, and delicious), breakfast panini, and french toast stuffed with blueberries & cream or apple pie mixture. The town of Waterton also offers some interesting shopping.
Just outside of town there is a waterfall that is a worthwhile side trip. While we we there, eight mule deer came walking down the same path that we had just traversed and milled around eating some of the foliage and then went down to the water at the base of the falls. As you drive around the area, be aware that wildlife may be right around the next corner. We encountered black bear and bison up close and personal while driving in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick_Marian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    254
    138
    123
    79
See reviews for
196
433
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Capistrano Beach
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Can't remember when I had a better view from a hotel room and we stayed in Machu Picchu. All you have to do is lie on the bed and turn your head to the side to see a view better than the one in the main picture above. The view of little town below is also visable. Tourists stand below on the lawn for pictures-up above you have a better view.
Other places the extra fees for a view weren't worth it because we were never there. Here the view from the room was so good we didn't want to leave. See it when the moon rises!
I didn't dock them for "deer migration" causing horse flies in the room and dining area, no usable electrical outlets or hairdryer, pipes (for sprinklers?) running the interior walls because the character of the overall architecture more than compensated to me.

Room Tip: Lake Front View, Third or Fourth Floor (But not for those unwilling or unable to carry luggage up st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel staff are excellent , friendly and efficient. The rooms are not easy to get to, only one small elevator that must be operated by an employee. But was most helpful as were all the staff!. Our room was on a corner the balcony is shared with others , but the view is simply breathtaking.....Expensive place but if you get a view overlooking the lake.....it was magnificent. WIFI is only in the lobby and doesn't work all that well, antique furnishings were interesting and adequate in need of a little TLC. Food was good in the PUB though flies were a problem and service was a bit slow since the food comes from the Restaurant Kitchen across the lobby . A bit Pricey in the restaurant. A historic facility, with the most spectacular view I have ever enjoyed.....our room was on a corner so we had windows on all sides for cross ventilation and that was quite nice....didn't need to use the box fan.....Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConsultantCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

While we didn't stay at the hotel, I suggest you stop there and look out to the mountains at then end of the lake. It's a beautiful sight. We walked around the inside of the hotel's lobby area which also has a terrific view.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This proud old girl is running on fumes. There's not much gas left in the tank. Everything is tired, dated and dirty. It desperately needs a deep cleaning. The beds, bathrooms, everything is just plain old. The staff is GREAT. There is only one small elevator that must be run by an employee (if available). My trek from the 6th floor to the basement (for ice for my foot) and back was painful. Even the plugs in the wall were so worn they wouldn't hold my iphone charger. The contacts were so loose the plug wouldn't stay in. We had dinner there and it wasn't bad, actually, but the dining room was lit up like a ballpark and we never ate there again. We stayed in 2 different rooms and they were consistently fair. The location is fantastic, but you know that. The lobby just doesn't give you that warm feeling where you want to sit down and rest for a while. Busloads of tourists run through this place on a daily basis so if you are facing the mountains you will probably have to listen to an idling bus for an extended period every morning as it parks in front of the hotel with the engine running.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear John G,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We were glad to read of your kind words regarding the staff. We apologize for any inconvenience in regards to the plug-ins and elevator. I am passing along your comment about the dining room and we will keep that in mind for next season. We hope you will come back to stay with us again!


Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park, Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Norris, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Princ e of Wales in September, 2013. Although we travel on a fairly tight budget, we decided to splurge and get a balcony room facing the lake. In our opinion, it was worth it. Like most lodging inside national parks, the rooms are smaller than many of the more modern hotels and some of the fixtures are not as up-to-date but we were staying for the view rather than the luxury. All in all, the room was clean and comfortable and perfectly satisfactory.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony room facing the lake, be sure to get your reservations early. We made ours in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siteseers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is in Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park and is located in Alberta, Canada. It was one of the original inns built in the park. No elevators (well, not on demand) and we were on the 4th floor so that was a challenge. Dining room unremarkable although the food was good. No Wi-Fi service but, hey, you're in the woods! Waterton town was very cute with a bunch of nice eateries. Room was clean and comfortable but not spacious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing