We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wow what a view!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a historic hotel so don't expect all the upgrades of a modern hotel. This hotel is over a 100 years old. The view from the lobby and the grounds is incredible. Our room was small and clean . a pleasant surprise was that we had a bath tub which we did not find at the other historic lodges of Glacier. Staff is all young college students who were very nice. The food is good and don't pass on the High Tea....it was cool. Go down to Waterton and take a boat ride on the lake. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    256
    138
    124
    80
See reviews for
197
439
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had originally vowed to avoid this place because of all the negative things we'd read about it on trip advisor, but after having two days of our vacation washed out by rain and in need of something to lift and engage our spirits we threw caution to the wind and stayed here. Yes, the Prince of Wales is expensive. Yes, the rooms are nothing fancy and yes the walls are thin. But for what this place lacks in its accommodations it makes up for in charm and experience. The views across Waterton Lake from the richly decorated lobby are phenomenal, the dinners in the lounge tasty, and you get to experience the rockies from a hotel steeped in guilded age charm. If you keep your expectations in check you can't help but love what this place DOES have to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KADtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear KADtraveler,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at the Prince of Wales Hotel. We are sorry to hear about your vacation being rained out, but are very glad to hear that your experience at the Prince of Wales was enjoyable. We hope you will come back to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon. Overall, the Prince of Wales Hotel has some amazing views (although it was foggy when we were there). Staff was fine. If you are expecting a glamorous hotel room, you will be disappointed. You pay for the atmosphere, not for the luxury room. For example, our room had 2 beds (one twin and one double). Would definitely recommend the food at the restaurant!

Our two biggest complaints were the inconsistent temperature of the water while showering, went from cold to scolding hot. Also, our room had a door to the room next door and you could literally hear the other peoples conversation.. Not a ton of privacy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Brandon W,

Congratulations and thank you for staying with us on your honeymoon. We appreciate your feedback you left us on Trip Advisor. We will have maintenance look into the inconsistent water temperature and we are looking to improve the sound quality in the rooms. We hope the fog cleared up during your stay and that you were able to capture some great pictures of the view.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc.
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The setting is undeniably beautiful. However, the hotel rooms could use some work. Like the Glacier Park lodges on the U.S. side, rooms are disappointing and just short of gross. The bathroom was tiny and peeling in places. The room is tiny. We were on the fifth floor. There is a tiny old elevator which requires a staff person to operate. So better to walk up unless you have a ton of luggage. Food OK - but just OK. Place is run by seasonal labor - friendly enough but a little disorganized. For almost $300/night - should be better.

Room Tip: Would not stay on the fifth floor attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear WanderingTrio,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us at the Prince of Wales Hotel. We disappointed to read that you felt the value of the room should be better. We will use your recommendations with our management to evaluate a higher level of value to our guests in the future. We hope you will offer us another opportunity in the future to earn your stay with us again.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc
Guest Relations Manager
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
303 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is a one-of-a kind historical lodging experience and while you owe it to yourself to experience it, you definitely need to be aware of what you will get before you decide to stay here. I think the mixed reviews given here reflect the fact that many did not know what to expect. We found it to be a wonderful old building situated on a knoll that juts out into and overlooks upper Waterton Lake. The view of upper Waterton Lake from the lake side of the hotel is outstanding, providing a view of the lake and mountains south to the US border and Glacier National Park in the distance. The bar/lounge, tea room portion of the lobby, and the restaurant all have windows looking out onto this view. There is a traditional English tea served in the afternoons but we did not partake – price at $30.00/each seemed a bit high. The lounge serves a limited menu as well as beverages of all sorts. The veggie wrap was wonderful, filled with many different flavors and textures. Food in the restaurant was very good and surprisingly reasonable in price. Our only complaint was at breakfast when my wife asked for just one egg. The waiter said that would be fine, yet when served it was obviously two eggs which was confirmed when the bill arrived. Highly recommend the Mountain Man omelet which was excellent.

The building actually has 7 stories with a vintage elevator serving the first four floors with the upper three floors accessible, by stairways only, from the fourth floor. The elevator is the original elevator and must be operated by the bellman, thus it is only convenient for initial arrival or departure with luggage unless you have real difficulty with stairs. Our fourth floor room was on a corner so we got a pretty good cross breeze when the windows were open. There is no air conditioning, but heat is provided by electric baseboard heaters. In early August, we did not miss the AC and needed the heat only one morning. There is no TV or WiFi but there is a telephone. Our room, as expected, was small yet had one double and one single bed and the bathroom contained the toilet and an old style bathtub modified with a wrap-around curtain to provide a shower. Taking a shower was a bit claustrophobic at first but not too bad once you got used to it. A very small sink was in the bedroom which was a bit inconvenient. A turn down service is offered each evening by a staff member that comes around knocking on doors around 8:00 PM and asking if guests need anything such as towels, etc. The floors creak and the walls are thin but, all in all, I'm pretty sure the room and amenities are considerably better than those available in the 1920's when the hotel was “new”. Even so, it is possible to stand on the fourth floor landing looking over the lobby below and imagine that your experience is not unlike that of a guest over eighty years ago.

No guest rooms are on the first floor of the hotel which contains restaurant, tea room, bar/lounge, gift shop, lobby, and offices. Rooms are on the second through sixth floor. The seventh was accessible by staff but did not appear to be open to guests. Above the first floor, the rooms surround a rectangular open area that extends to the ceiling some six or seven stories above the lobby area. There is a walkway on each of the first four floors around the open area with a huge chandelier in the center suspended from the ceiling. Access to the fifth and sixth floors is from stairways on the fourth floor. All of the staff wear some piece of clothing made from the Prince of Wales tartan and many wear kilts of the same fabric which, according to our waitress in the restaurant, are made by a lady in Great Britain and provided to the hotel each year. All staff that we encountered including registration, information desk, bar, and restaurant were extremely pleasant and helpful and seemed genuinely happy to have us as guests and to meet whatever needs we might have.

While we usually bemoan the fact that most lodges in the US national parks are pretty spartan with no TV or wifi while charging an arm and a leg simply because of location, we were so charmed by this wonderful old hotel that we did not miss the lack of those amenities (though it sure was nice to have them at the next hotel on our trip). Highly recommend this hotel for at least one night if not more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have the best views. Fourth floor rooms got a pretty good breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've uploaded a couple of photos for why it is worth staying at this property even when you are paying double the price of anywhere else in Waterton. The one photo is sunrise from our 4th floor King lakeside room. We left all the curtains open all night to be waken by the sunrise the next morning. You just cannot get that view and that experience anywhere else in Waterton. We even brought pizza back to the room the night before so as to spend as much time enjoying the view. There is no internet at the hotel (go to the town of waterton - a little park kiosk has it intermittently - nor is there anything else that remarkable about the accommodations or service. Be prepared to haul your luggage up four floors, unless you pay the bell hop to do it. They won't let anyone but a bell hop run the elevator. It's too over-priced to stay there again, but am so glad we did it once.

Room Tip: Just spend the money and get a King Lakeside room. I think we stayed in 415 and it was unbelievable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iownit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I saw a picture of this hotel and had to go there in person.The hotel is located in the Waterton National Park and was built in 1927 and the hotel has been essentially preserved in that state.
It sits high above the lake with a spectacular view of Waterton Land and the surrounding mountains.
The view is absolutely breath taking and a must see in your life time,
We had the king room on the second floor with a non private balcony. What a wonderful place to sit and take in the view.
There is a grand 4 story lobby with huge wood beams
The character is charming
And all of the hotel employees wear tartan kilts.
As for the foo it was good but not spectacular.
I had a mountain trout with the whole fish served on the plate including the head. Maybe a turn off to some but at least I knew it was a real fish.
It was done perfectly.
My wife had a chicken pasta dish which was seasoned nicely and more than enough to eat.
The wines were priced fairly but not a huge selection.
The rooms were small and modest but the beds was very comfortable, and no TV's in the room.
This is a place to go to experience the grandeur of a gone period.

Room Tip: King Suite facing the lake a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
465 reviews
0.9 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing