We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a perfect view, like a historical site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went to the Prince of Wales Hotel to find out the room rates but seems the place inside is outdated. Needs sprucing up. it has a very nice view outside wth that very elegant castle look specially from afar if you view if down the port. It adds a majestic sight of the olden times. But basically seems a little dark inside. so we booked ourselves in Aspen Villahe Inn which was real homey and is inside the town. It is only good for some photo ops... The rooms are not that comfortable as we went to see one. anyway the hotel's building still shows majestical essence to the place. Needs spring renovation and rugs are real old.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irmaontravel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
There are newer reviews for Prince of Wales Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We so wanted to like this historic hotel, but the view simply couldn't make up for the high price tag, the unnecessarily dated furnishings, the poorly appointed rooms and dismal bathroom. My suggestion - find a place to stay in the village, hike up the hill for the view, and stay a few extra nights with the money you'll save.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank TravelElixirofLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

While the view from the hotel is spectacular you would be better serves staying elsewhere and coming up to the hotel for dinner in the lounge where you can also order off the dining room menu. The rooms are small and overpriced. I would definitely stay in the town of Waterton should I return. Service was good at the hotel as was the food in their restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Prince of Wales is definitely not for the budget minded and you have to prep yourself for a different kind of an experience. This hotel has a charm all its own and a person going into it needs to not expect a large room with new amenities and conveniences. This hotel was built in a time when rooms were a place to sleep and all the activities and gatherings took place in the lobby, restaurant and lounge.

We stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms because we were a bit late in getting our reservations and plans together. The first night we were in a 2 double bed room with a sink in the room and an attached bath. It had 2 windows overlooking the lake but no door onto the balcony which we knew ahead of time. The beds were comfortable and clean and the woodwork was in good shape. No issues with the room.

The next night was spent in a 5th floor Queen with a door to the balcony (which in truth is a wooden fire escape). The view southward was incredible (this is what you’re really paying for). I was able to pull a small chair out and enjoy the twilight as the lights came up on Waterton Village. The attached bath was fully equipped.

We only ate breakfast in the restaurant and the food was excellent, although our waitress on the 2nd morning wasn’t very good and couldn’t keep our drinks filled even though the restaurant was somewhat empty. Didn’t get to experience the afternoon tea (not our type of thing).

The lounge was excellent with a view southward towards Montana and the wait staff there was great. They have a bar menu and you can also order from the full restaurant menu if you wish. This dining experience was more to our liking and worked out well for us. Decent selection of beer, cocktails and coffees.
I really wish they had outside seating on the front porch. Not really sure why they don’t because there is ample room for it and it would have made for a comfortable place to relax. The bellmen were excellent as well as the cleaning crew and front desk folks.

All in all, it was a great experience. It was expensive but I suppose that the fact that it is only open during the summer means that they have a limited time period to pay for the upkeep. It’s a great hotel and I’m glad I got to spend part of my vacation there with my wife.

Room Tip: Facing down Waterton Lake is excellent but I know they charge more for it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kegger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was our first time in Canada. We were so excited to stay at this hotel. We always read reviews before choosing hotels, so we knew that it was old (which added to our interest). When I say "old" it was old in a charming and historic way, not falling apart old. We knew that were not TV's (with a view like that, and all the things to do outdoors, who wants to sit in thier room and watch TV?!). We knew that the wind can get loud (and it did when we were there, but we weren't surprised since we read about it) It sits high on a hilltop afterall. We knew what we were getting before we stayed and it was amazing. We loved the "old" rooms. They were clean and had all the amenities you need (bed, toilet, sink, shower), and the views - WOW. The bellboys were always helpful when we needed them to help with the elevators (and got tips for greeting us and helping so quickly). My ONLY two dissapointments were 1) we ordered a bottle of Pinot Grigio with dinner ($34.00 per bottle) and they didn't have any, so they went to get some from the bar and they didn't have any more so they had to get some from the basement but it wasn't cold. They offered to chill it for a while, but honestly, we didn't want to wait for our wine that long. We had to order another bottle of wine, all more expensive and got one for $50.00. It would have been nice if they would have offered us the more expensive bottle at the lower price since it wasn't our fault they couldn't offer us what we wanted in a timely manner. 2) They should have the larger industrial size coffee dispensers for the morning coffee in the lobby. They had a few carafes of coffee (and hot water for tea) that ran out quickly leaving the guests standing around waiting for someone to bring fresh ones. Other than that, it was a great experience and I am glad I got to experience it in this lifetime!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SNoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

While vacationing in Waterton National Park, we decided to stay one night at the Prince of Wales. From the outside it is a gorgeous hotel -- very rustic and period. The scenery is breath taking, however it was a very pricey room. My husband referred to it as the Motel 6 with a view. There are no special amenities such as WiFi, television, or typical hotel services. There is one very tiny elevator that must be worked by an employee. If you are handicapped this is not an accessible hotel. The staff was very sweet and gracious -- mostly young people on summer vacation. The restaurant provided a fairly good meal although probably overpriced. The views are incredible and please note that it is very windy! Apparently the 2nd windiest place in North America. I am glad we had the experience, however when we return next summer, we will stay down in the village.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scoutArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped at the Prince of Wales for lunch while traveling with Disney. The Swiss architecture and beauty of the area make this a must see. Its a golden relic from the Railroad hotels of the Gilded age. The lobby is breathtaking, complete with the staff dressed in traditional attire, it has the second oldest working elevator in North America along with many other historical tidbits. W got a brief history and tour from the staff before sitting down to a fabulous lunch. I would love to stay here when we're back in the area , but even if you're just passing through, stop for lunch and enjoy this Canadian treasure.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank KBD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: $181 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing