We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the grand hotel of the 1920s built by Great Northerrn Railway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince of Wales Hotel
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Experience the grand hotel of the 1920s built by Great Northerrn Railway.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This vintage hotel stands on a bluff overlooking Waterton Lake presenting a wonderful view south into Waterton Lake National park which abuts Glacier National Park in the US. The rooms would be considered rustic by today's standards but have hardly changed from the original style of 1927 when it first opened. The bathtubs reflect the European influence and the wash basin is in the room. The open lobby gives the impression of going back 85 years in time. There is a very pleasant and comfortable lounge on the first floor, the only place with TVs. There is live music in the late afternoon in the lobby at the traditional Tea Time served daily. The Royal Steward Dining Room is very good and offers good views of the lake and town site. Service is very good. The very small elevator is rather unique and remains the same as the original of 1927. It is hand operated by staff members for guests who do not wish to use the stairs. While we were there, a black bear could be observed on the lake shore from the top of the bluff each morning and late afternoon.

Room Tip: Rooms with a southern exposure would offer spectacular views of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jproctor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    337
    158
    138
    88
See reviews for
275
557
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have wanted to stay in this hotel for years and finally had the chance. The hotel is gorgeous and the view is unparallelled, but the rooms are small, dark, and desperately need updating. I understand that they want to keep the hotel historic, but it would be nice to have a TV, internet access, and a larger tub/shower. The restaurant food was fine but not as good as it should have been given the caliber of hotel. The wait staff seemed poorly trained; perhaps they were just ready to move on to their next jobs because the hotel was closing for the season a couple of days after our stay. I would not stay here again; it was a unique experience but just too outdated for me.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake on the 2nd or 3rd floor so you have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Our company operates eight properties, all of them seasonal and historic making the operating challenges quite different from operating year round properties. We also hire about 1,200 seasonal employees each year. Many of them are return employees who understand and agree with our goals of quality customer service. We try very hard to train our new employees each season in our values and goals, but as you might surmise, this is a challenging process. That being said, there is no excuse for the lack of service and for that we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

First and foremost: Purchase the book High on a Windy Hill. You will have much more appreciation of this hotel especially during your stay. Extremely interesting history.

When calling the park service for reservations, Prince of Wales was booked for 3 of the 5 days, so they referred us to the Bayshore Inn for the first 3 days. If we knew better, we would have booked the first 3 days at another location because $257 for the Bayshore Inn was way too much.

At the end of the 3 days, we moved to the PoW. Once registered, within minutes we reserved an extra night - $257/night - because of this being such a unique experience with astounding views.

The room had a "full" and twin bed. The full size bed was too small for two adults, so we used both beds. If you expect luxury for the price, don't stay here. You are paying for the view and history of the hotel - not accommodations. But we have no regrets. Apparently all rooms are not alike because we had a writing table and chair with lamp (room 303). Initially we were assigned to a mountain view, but asked for a lake view to the south. IF you have your choice, you may want to check the weather for winds because that day the winds started howling... literally. It was necessary to stuff towels around the door and window frames (keeping in mind this is a 1920's hotel) to keep out the wind and to try and reduce the hurricane sounds. I took a video because I was in such disbelief on how strong and noisy the winds were (gusting 40-60 mph??). (there were whitecaps in the toilet bowl).  Could not even open the balcony door. My husband finally determined that the window was not engaging properly. After some shifting, he finally was able to properly latch which slightly reduced the noise... only slightly. I had to use earplugs for sleeping.

Winds continued for 36 hours. Temps dropped to the 40's with some clouds. But, we decided to do a driving tour of the area and enjoy the weather as much as possible with short hikes. Went to the Bison Paddock, but only saw them from a distance.

Each day from 1:00 - 5:00 p.m., a live musician played in the lobby, which added to the warmth of the hotel. (Clarinets, harp, and piano).

All staff were very accommodating. But as is our custom, we decline all housekeeping services during hotel stays (we can make our beds just like at home, and use the same towels, etc). Unfortunately the message did not get conveyed to each staff change, so we did have a day where they came in and tried to tidy our room. No big deal.

Be prepared for a cold room if it's cold outside. Immediately turn on your heater and leave on even if you feel comfortable. The room cools down quickly but takes a long time to heat up.

Shower was very nice. Great hot water.

Walls are very thin. Get used to whispering or sign language. Bring ear plugs for loud snoring neighbors. No t.v., no hair dryer, no elevator for general use. But there is one available with a bellhop. Be prepared to huff and puff up and down stairs.

Bartender Jeremy makes fantastic cosmopolitan drinks with flaming lime juice in the hotel bar. The apple walnut salad, spinach berry salad and avocado appetizers were good.

It seemed more fitting to pay $257/night for the PoW than the Bayshore Inn. But if we were to return, we would stay at a different, less costly location in town only because we've had the experience of the PoW. Otherwise, we're very, very glad we stayed there for 3 nights. Would definitely recommend for a 2-3 night stay or at least a lobby visit with lunch/early dinner so you can take in the view.

Room Tip: 303 had a direct middle view of Waterton Lake. But can be very noisy during windy conditions. Full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I did a day trip to POW in 2005; stayed one night this year on the last day of their season. The rooms are small, with the sink in the sleeping area and a small toilet, bath/shower in a separate space. Noise carries easily. We opted for a room with lake view and balcony, which means a small porch that all the rooms on that level share. The winds are fearsome; you need to hold on to something to take pictures (about 40 MPH). But, oh, what pictures...wake up at dawn and take photos of the alpenglow as the sun rises in the east, and watch the lights go out down below in Waterton! We enjoyed High Tea in the four-story lobby overlooking Waterton Lake; also had breakfast...the hotel closed after breakfast on Sept. 18. The staff was from around the world, and all were heading home that afternoon.

We found a number of great souvenirs in their gift shop. Took the boat trip to the US end of the lake, 8 miles south; watched elk emerge at dusk on the flats north of the hotel and swim in the lake at dawn. Excellent restaurants in Waterton, also.

Room Tip: All lodgings within the Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park are expensive because of their ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Prince of Wales Hotel on our first stop on an organized tour; however, after also staying in Banff (at the Fairmount), if you're traveling in the Canadian Rockies and do not stop here, you have missed part of the experience. Yes, it is an old hotel, with very few of the room amenities found in hotels that may cost the same. However, what you are paying for is the location (can't be beat!), the "old time" ambience, and the VIEW! The service was splendid, and yes, you do have to ring for the elevator, but the staff couldn't have been more responsive. The food was outstanding... however, all that can be found in any other location. The evening stars were incomparable... and coming from the NYC area, that was ... priceless!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a balcony. I'm certain that the rooms fronting on the lake are mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryPat1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you wish to stay at the Prince of Wales Hotel in Waterton Natiolal Park make sure you book directly with the hotel.I made the mistake of booking our 3 day stay throughThe Lodging company in Kelowna BC.The hotel rate was $259.00 per night.The Lodging company charged me $334.00.That was an over charge of $195.00 pus tax.
Also we had a gift certificate that was supposed to be applied to the room cost.
They credited it by crediting to our credit card then took it back,this was the hotels accounting.
So between the booking company and the hotel we are out $350.00 for a 3 night stay.
The Staff were excellent.Enjoyed our stay as it was our 60th anniversary but fighting with both
outfits makes us to remember not to go again.

Don D

Room Tip: Sorry,I marked the swimming poor but they do not have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel had one of the most beautiful view with Waterton lake surrounded by ten peaks. We stayed on the 6th floor. The elevator goes up to the 4th floor and you carry your bag thru narrow staircases to your room so we re-packed lightly to carry our bags up. We has two small rooms with a private hallway connecting to a bathroom and a door that opened up to the balcony with the below view . The wind was brutal and loud our two nights there and the walls thin but we slept well. The staff was excellent and the rooms clean. I agree with the other travelers who say this place is unique.
P.S.We took the boat ride on Waterton Lake to Goat Haught which is in U.S. to hike for the day and customs stamp a Goat in your passport!! What fun!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1717Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterton Lakes National Park
0.5 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
236 reviews
15.0 mi away
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
Rocky Ridge Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mountain View
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Off Hwy. 5, Glacier Park Inc., Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the Prince of Wales Hotel is located on the bluff overlooking picturesque Waterton Lakes and the township of Waterton, Alberta Canada. This stately hotel, named after Prince Edward, offers 86 guest rooms and a traditional British atmosphere complete with Afternoon Tea, the Royal Stewart Dining Room, Windsor Lounge, and the distinctive gift shop, Princess Gifts. The Prince of Wales Hotel is a smoke free, 7-story facility with designated outdoor smoking areas. Check-in time is after 3:00 p.m. and checkout time is 11:00 a.m. All rooms are accessed via stairs and are sold based on view or room size. An antique elevator is available for floors 2 through 4 and requires assistance to operate. There are no ADA-accessible rooms available at Prince of Wales Hotel. The self parking lot is located a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince Of Wales
Prince Wales Hotel Waterton
Prince Of Wales Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing