We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hosts, wonderful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Fabulous hosts, wonderful spot”
Reviewed September 20, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Crandell Mountain Lodge during the winter for a romantic getaway. We would highly recommend it. Our weekend romance package included a room with a queen-sized bed - complete with lots of pillows and quilts - a full bath, fireplace, small fridge, champagne, roses, and one breakfast and dinner voucher for the Lamp Post restaurant across the street. (This is the only restaurant open in the park during the winter, but their food is outstanding.) Darcy was extremely accomodating, the room was spotless and we definitely didn't hear any mice in the walls! It was a perfect weekend. We definitely plan on going back again this winter.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Camping_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    73
    37
    26
    5
See reviews for
41
106
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
189 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2005

We stayed at Crandell Mountain Lodge for three nights in a two bedroom suite. The room also had a full kitchen, dining room table/chairs and living room with a fireplace. The lodge has a large deck that all rooms share. Our room was clean, spacious and very nice. The beds were comfortable and the staff was terrific. The lodge is in walking distance to everything. My family (two adults, two toddlers) loved this place and highly recommend it to all Waterton visitors.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank citysuburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2005

My wife, myself and another couple stayed in the deluxe standard room (two std beds, microwave, mini fridge, fireplace) for $159/night (CAD). The room was clean and big enough that the four of us were comfortable; the bathroom was suprisingly spacious and the gas fireplace was a nice touch. Darcy (manger and owner I think) was extremely helpful and friendly. The cookies were very tasty! The location is also nice in that it's a few blocks away from the 'downtown' area (albeit a very small downtown)...I saw some other motels in that area that seemed to get a little more congestion that we did.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MEP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 15, 2005

We enjoyed our stay at the Crandell Mountain Lodge. The owner was very helpful. The room was very clean and cozy. The lodge itself was very attractive and peaceful. We really enjoyed the cookies that were on the patio tables. If you are looking for a weekend away to relax and be comfortable , this is certainly the place to do it. Make sure to have a meal at the Lamp Post restaurant across the street, We would certainly return to this wonderful retreat spot.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 25, 2004

My wife and I have stayed at the Crandell Mountain Lodge every year for more than ten years to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is attractive, recently extensively refurbished, comfortable and well-maintained, and the owners are nice people. We have never once heard mice in the walls, though that is not to say this would be impossible, because this lodge is in a beautiful and wild park with deer roaming even through the village, tundra swans on the sheltered end of the lake, moose in the wetlands, and bear in the forests! We are confident that visitors will enjoy their stay at the Crandell Mountain Lodge.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 14, 2004

We stayed there for two nights beginning 12 Sept. 04. We found the room to be clean and well furnished. The chocolate chip cookies were an added touch, but made the stay more pleasurable.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2004

This hotel is a super small hotel. It gives you the feel of a boarding house. The owers are nice and very helpful. The rooms are clean and quite affordable. We could not have asked for anythng more (except maybe an elevator).

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#3 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crandell Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crandell Mountain Lodge

Property: Crandell Mountain Lodge
Address: 102 Mountview Road, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crandell Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated a Charming Inn of Alberta, Crandell Mountain Lodge is a rustic and quaint property that, with no telephones and few TV channels, feels like a true getaway. Guests receive complimentary use of the outdoor BBQ and access to the local Recreation Center. Choose from standard, deluxe, kitchenette, or the “Bear’s Den” that has a king size bed, fireplace and in-room jetted tub; it’s a favourite among our guests. The Crandell Mountain Lodge is a jewel within itself; with a feeling of a country bed and breakfast and the comfort of a lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Crandell Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crandell Mountain Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Crandell Mountain Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing