We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
630 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Tiny room!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was by far the smallest room I have every stayed in so two of us were pretty cramped. It was a little shabby but very nicely located right at the entrance to town so it was easy to fine. The staff was very pleasant, parking was a concern because there was little room between the end of the parking space and the street but it all worked out fine. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    73
    37
    26
    5
See reviews for
41
106
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sask Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a quaint place to stay while in Waterton although I would never stay there again ..., I found our room to be expensive for what we got ($175.00) . I also could not do a proper check out until 8 am ...we had to leave before then so ended up just leaving and locking the keys in the room. Also the TV was horrible the 2 channels you got were awful reception .....They need to update and get satellite!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justmesk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our recent stay at the Crandell Mtn Lodge motel was a very enjoyable experience.
The manager was very helpful. He took us to our room and made sure we were comfortable with it. He also gave us great information on the area and how we could best spend our time while visiting Waterton Park.
Our room was a delightful suprise. It far exceeded our expectations. All the amenities in the room made for a pleasant and memorable visit.

Room Tip: Call for reservations well in advance of your visit and discuss your needs with the desk clerk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We were pretty disapointed with our hotel room. The place was too small and cramp. The room smelled like pee. Their were no bathtub to gave my kids a bath. The place needs an up grade. Who has bunny ears for antanas anymore?? Lucky we only stayed an night. We will not stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed one night in a room with kitchenette. The bedroom was small, the kitchen very small, the bathroom maybe a converted hallway, long and narrow. But everything worked, most things were fairly new and very well kept, everything in working order. The kitchen had a refrig, a gas stove, coffee maker and new toaster. Decent utensils, plates, cups, etc. TV is just two channels over the air. Bed might have been a little too soft, but slept ok. Hotel is right at entrance to the town, the room is on ground level, but they had put in new double paned windows, I didn't hear the traffic at all. Can tell it's an old hotel, I could hear the people up stairs on a couple times, but not a problem at all. The hotel has a 10:30 "quiet time" notice posted. This place is about the location, right in the little town of Waterton, walk to everything, shops, resturants, along the lake, just strolling around is great. I will say it is overpriced, but from what I've seen, it's in line with what goes in Waterton - your paying for the location. Compared to Glacier Park where you pay a lot and get some run down room, here at least it's a good room for the price. Note - there really isn't much of a store in town, just a small one catering to the campers at the lake, so if you get the kitchenette, should bring your food with you before arriving. If you want to stay in Waterton and pay the rates, it's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMF_Redm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Spent a warm August weekend a CML. No complaints. Great location, every thing was within walking distance. Our room was just fine, although it wasn't one with a kitchen. The price was reasonable, especially for Waterton, which I found pricier than Glacier NP, but cheaper than Banff. The deck out front is a great place to hang out and have a drink (byob) before or after dinner. The cookies were delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bondguy1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Crandell Mountain Lodge 3 times over the past 12 years. It's a lovely Lodge in one of the most beautiful places in the world.
But I did have a couple of complaints with this visit.
The major complaint is the beds. We had a 2 room suite. The one bed was extremely soft, worn and non-supportive. The second room had a very hard uncomfortable bed. I woke up with a very sore back. Until the mattresses are replaced, we won't be staying at this Lodge.
Also worth noting is the dirty dishes in the cupboard. Pans with egg (or ??) stuck to them, and cups that didn't look properly cleaned. I realize that each guest is responsible to clean up the dishes after themselves, before the next guest arrives. But the cleaning staff should take a minute to give the kitchen a good look over to make sure it's appropriately cleaned for the next person. Washroom was very clean and overall the rooms were clean enough.
It's also time to change the door handles. The glass decorative door handles do add to the decor, but they rattle and squeak. This is especially problematic when the washroom is in one of the bedrooms. Anyone needing the washroom at night makes a lot of noise just opening and closing the door.
Another noise concern is the other guests. If you stay in a lower level suite be prepared to hear a lot of noise from guests in room above. The building is a bit older and noise really travels.
Overall I do still love this little Lodge, and would recommend it as a place to stay IF they replace the mattresses.

Room Tip: Try to stay on an upper level, as rooms on main floor hear a lot of noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GranolaGirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crandell Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crandell Mountain Lodge

Property: Crandell Mountain Lodge
Address: 102 Mountview Road, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crandell Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated a Charming Inn of Alberta, Crandell Mountain Lodge is a rustic and quaint property that, with no telephones and few TV channels, feels like a true getaway. Guests receive complimentary use of the outdoor BBQ and access to the local Recreation Center. Choose from standard, deluxe, kitchenette, or the “Bear’s Den” that has a king size bed, fireplace and in-room jetted tub; it’s a favourite among our guests. The Crandell Mountain Lodge is a jewel within itself; with a feeling of a country bed and breakfast and the comfort of a lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Crandell Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crandell Mountain Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Crandell Mountain Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing