We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Cozy, very comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crandell Mountain Lodge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and Cozy, very comfortable.”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

First visit to 'friendly' Waterton and this suited our accommodations. The Crandell is quaint, clean, comfortable and cozy, and no traffic noise. Management was knowledgable and friendly, rooms had a country/cozy theme with homemade quilts, queen bed was very comfortable with cushy pillows.
The hotel is open year round where as a lot of Waterton closes down over winter. Would definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildernes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    72
    37
    26
    5
See reviews for
41
105
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed in the Bear's Den suite which was lovely. The room was spacious and clean, and not a lot of traffic walking past our window. A wood burning fireplace made it extra cozy, and the big jet-tub was romantic.
Jimmy was extremely helpful and friendly and completed our excellent experience.
We went to Waterton for show shoeing but ended up spending most of our time in our room because it was such a comfortable atmosphere.
Will definitely come again!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

My grown sisters and I decided to get away for a weekend and connect. We didn't want all the pomp and fuss that many destinations bring. We wanted to reconnect and spend some quality time together! Crandell Lodge, some of us had stayed at before and we knew this would offer us exactly what we were looking for! The winter months are so beautiful in Waterton and we knew we would be in our element with cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. We stayed in the suite and cooked our own meals. There's a TV but not many stations so we brought a favorite movie and DVD to hook up which we watched later at night after a full day outdoors with lots of laughter and exquisite scenery. The rooms are so very clean, well equipped with kitchen items and blankets should we need them. The fresh cookies baked daily we'll never forget as such a small-town welcoming gesture. Jimmy, our host, was full of friendly advise and information when i booked as many people don't realize how quiet Waterton is this time of the year. I'm almost afraid too many people will get wind of our getaway spot and the best kept winter secret will get out!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OutdoorGalCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Our purpose was ice climbing in Waterton. When we arrived, I had noticed much to my horror that I had forgotten my harness. We did an internet search and also talked to Jimmy (who manages the place) at the front desk of the hotel. With Jimmy's help, we found that the closest store that had a harness was Awesome Adventures in Lethbridge - about an hour and a half drive away. The problem was that it was 3:40pm and the store was only open until 5pm - that would be cutting it close especially with the winter driving conditions. I decided to give it a shot and try to drive out to Lethbridge thinking that my entire trip would be spent on the sidelines watching others climb the impressive ice in Waterton.
This is where Jimmy comes in. Jimmy decides to contact his son and daughter-in-law who were spending an afternoon in Lethbridge. Then he contacted Awesome Adventures to find out if we could pay over the phone and have someone else pick up the harness! Then he tells me to come to the front office. Much to my surprise, I walked into the front lobby and here's Jimmy telling me that he has someone picking up the harness for me as he is handing me the phone with Awesome Adventures on the line waiting for me to choose which harness to purchase!! Once I completed the sale, Jimmy gave me the names of his son and daughter-in-law so that the store would know who would be there to pick up the harness. What is quite amusing here is that once I finished the sale over the phone, guess who was at the front desk of the store asking to pick up the harness!
To make a long story short, I drove over to Mountain View (much closer than Lethbridge) and met Jimmy's daughter-in-law and picked up the harness. As far as I am concerned, Jimmy has made us permanent patrons of the Crandell Mountain Lodge, and that his (and his family) hospitality and generosity far exceeded what was ever expected. Because of Jimmy, we were able to have an incredible weekend of ice climbing!
Oh yeah, the cookies were awesome, too!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derrick6718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Crandell is a warm, cozy and quiet place to be. It kind of has a country feel, very relaxing. We wanted to get away from the hustle of the big city and relax, it was perfect. Jimmy and his wife were great, very hospitable and kind. As we were staying for a week, when we arrived they upgraded our room to a larger one with a full kitchen for no extra cost. Included with the room you get full access to the pool, sauna and hot-tub in the Rec Center. There is a full work out gym and recreation area with a Pool Table and Foosball. We used these daily. Free Continental Breakfast, which has lots of selection. We also went cross country skiing, there are lots of trails! Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaymac75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Small but very comfortable room with all the amenities. There is access to the Waterton Rec Centre, with dry sauna, hot pool and swimming pool: Perfect after a day of skiing or snowshoeing. Jimmy was super welcoming and friendly. Definately will return!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KootenayDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We booked into Crandell for a one night stay on a 5 day road trip that would take us 1800 km. through southern Alberta and B.C. Our reception at Crandell by Jimmy was very friendly and informative. Jimmy gave us tips on hikes that we could do the next morning as well as some additional literature on things to do in the area. We had booked into the room called 'Bear's Den', which has a king bed and a 2 person jacuzzi and a wood burning fireplace. What a lovely room!! It was decorated with evergreen swags and even had a little tree with lights on it - all for the upcoming Christmas season. The bed was very comfortabable, the room warm, the jacuzzi clean, and water ran hot and fast. I would have to say this room easily exceeded the Mariott room we were in the night before in Calgary!!!! Also....Jimmy's wife makes the absolute BEST cookies!! The basket in the reception office was always full. Nummy!! At this time of year, only one restaurant is open in Waterton...Vimy's, at a sister resort in town. Our meal there was very good, but as we were wanting to get a hike up to Bear's Hump in the morning, we did not go over there for breakfast. So maybe Jimmy's wife could be convinced to prepare muffins too???!!! We will be back, most definitely!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crandell Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crandell Mountain Lodge

Property: Crandell Mountain Lodge
Address: 102 Mountview Road, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crandell Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated a Charming Inn of Alberta, Crandell Mountain Lodge is a rustic and quaint property that, with no telephones and few TV channels, feels like a true getaway. Guests receive complimentary use of the outdoor BBQ and access to the local Recreation Center. Choose from standard, deluxe, kitchenette, or the “Bear’s Den” that has a king size bed, fireplace and in-room jetted tub; it’s a favourite among our guests. The Crandell Mountain Lodge is a jewel within itself; with a feeling of a country bed and breakfast and the comfort of a lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Crandell Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crandell Mountain Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Crandell Mountain Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing