We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Budget Choice, maybe cheapest in the park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aspen Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspen Village
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Budget Choice, maybe cheapest in the park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here after moving from a different accomodations. We figured because of the low price that this would not be a very nice hotel, but it was better than expected. It is an older property, but it was clean and the service was very good. We had free wifi and access to a swimming pool which is across the street in another hotel, (but we did not go swimming). The hotel with the pool in it was a bit more money and I suppose if it was a big deal it might be more convenient to stay in that building, but we were there mostly to see the park.
The room was basic but adequate, bed was okay, bathroom was decent. Not a new property by any means, but for the price you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Aspen Village, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate your feedback and hope you stay with us again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    67
    45
    24
See reviews for
82
77
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albert, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here early in September, had a 1 bedroom suite the first 3 nights, and regular room the last night. Stay the first 3 nights was very comfortable, although missing some basics, like Kleenex and ice bucket. The regular room was sorely in need of an update. Oh yeah the bad directions. When we arrived asked if there was a bathroom that we could use after a 5 hour drive. We were told across the street. That was it, wandered around for almost 10 minutes couldn't find a bathroom across the street and had to go back for more detailed instructions Success the second time around but really should we have had to go back?

Room Tip: Definitely choose the 1 bedroom, it was worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Aspen Village, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We apologize you were unable to located our sister property, The Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort, located just across the street from us in the main lobby. We hope this doesn't keep you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went there with friends to get away after working too hard last Summer. The Frontdesk was very accommodating..And the cottages was amazingly clean and beautifully design. I will definitely comeback and recommend this to all my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leyjan0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Aspen Village, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed Aspen Village. We are now closed for the season, but we look forward to having you back next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Roche-sur-Foron, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was really surprised how the room looked like. it was actually very nice. A kind of French chalet look, it reminded me where I come from (the French Alps). Hence that was very nice, good feeling.
The staff was very nice and friendly. Offered us their help in case we needed it.
Also the location is awesome, right in the middle of the park, near by the lake!
For the price I paid I don t really have any critics to make ...my rank would have gone up to excellent if continental breakfast was offered!
But still Bravo! I am very satisfied!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Aspen Village, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate your kind feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Aspen Village and hope to have you back again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, N Ireland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Somewhat shocked to read johnboy102 review of this hotel. Judging by the date of review and mention of Titan, I can assume that we were on the same trip. Yes there was a bit of peeling on bathroom ceiling, but this wouldn't put me off staying there again. The suite was both comfortable and clean with all the amenities you would expect. The walls did appear to be thin but you certainly couldn't hear what people were saying in the next room and there was no sound of toilets being flushed or doors being banged. The two nights we had there were comfortable. When you are on touring trips like ours, you have to take the rough with the smooth or else pay for 1st class accommodation and travel. If this is what you expect then this kind of holiday isn't for you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Aspen Village, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, your feedback is important to us. Accommodation preferences are unique to each traveler, and we are happy to hear we provided you with a pleasant stay. Unfortunately it is impossible to please everyone but we do our best to provide each guest with a comfortable stay while in Waterton Park. We hope to have you back to stay with us again if you find yourself in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Not sure about all the negative reviews - it's a hotel room in a national park which is what you are paying for. A little dated. but comfortable (the bed was nice), clean, quiet and very convenient to everything in the townsite. Yeah, I prefer Glacier Suites (because of the extra elbow room - maybe Aspen has that in the little cabins) but if the Suites are full or the price is much better at Aspen, then there is no reason not to stay here. An enjoyable experience for a reasonable price. And you get the only king sized bed in Waterton, as far as I know.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAlbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We were here 2 nights. No soundproofing between rooms. We were in a large group so all tried to be as quiet as we could for each but the noise just traveled. Paper peeling of walls and ceilings in bathroom lime scale on fittings poorly fitting doors. Have paid less and stayed in far better. Suggest to Titan rep that hotel be removed from their list. Will wait and see, but would suggest you avoid this hotel lilt the plague.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Aspen Village, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I am sincerely sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay at Aspen Village. We try to give each guest an amazing experience, and I am sincerely sorry we failed to impress you. We have been in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms at Aspen Village, and it sounds like you may have been staying in a room that is still waiting on those renovations. We are replacing flooring, wall coverings, updating furniture and decor, as well as ensuring our staff do their best to have each room prepared for you to its fullest extent. I hope if you're ever in Waterton again you will give us another chance to impress you. Again, I sincerely, apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crandell Mountain Lodge
Crandell Mountain Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Village

Property: Aspen Village
Address: 111 Windflower Ave | Box 100, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Aspen Village 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From business class to budget conscious, the Aspen Village offers 3 selections of hotel accommodation on one property. The Windflower at Aspen Village, newly renovated motel rooms; The Aspen, deluxe suites; and The Cottages at Aspen Village, a community of 16 guest cottages, comprised of family units, duplex cottages and bachelor suites. A small playground area, green space and BBQ pit make it a family friendly place to stay. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aspen Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Village Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Aspen Village Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing