We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but overpriced and dated.”
Review of Aspen Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspen Village
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We passed through Waterton and stayed overnight. Rooms are quite dated and cramped, beds uncomfortable (fitted sheets popping off and mattress pad bunching up), no air conditioning, TV had a high pitched noise when on, shower wouldn't turn off completely. It felt more like a boarding house, little privacy (thin walls). However - staff were nice, free internet, free parking, the rooms were clean and you can't beat the location, walking distance to everything. I thought it was overpriced for the quality of accommodation and would not stay there again.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "good" room, average at best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destination55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 240 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here in June 2012.

The location was excellent, right in the centre of town. Also the hotel had plenty of free parking.

It was only a short walk to restaurants and a fast food place (subway) - which was good because the hotel had no restaurant.

The room was ok, nothing special, and quite pricey for what you got, but everywhere in Waterton is pricey! It was a tad tired (loose electrical sockets etc) but clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRP789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in this Inn for one night on 30Th June 2013. This is an overpriced Inn compare to other standard hotels in Canada. Room is large enough with two queen beds. Internet and parking is free. Location is very good. 10 minutes walking from Aspen Village Inn to Cameron Falls and couple of minutes from starting point of lake cruise. Check in is at 4:00pm, check out at 11:00am.
Carpet is not clean, and bathroom is not that great. A small size TV with limited (7 or 8) channels.
Overall, staying for a night is okay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Debasis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night at the start of the July 1 weekend. I knew the cottage room I had chosen was expensive but was disappointed that the cost was not commensurate with the value. Our room was one of four in a townhouse like building. We had an end room so only had to deal with neighbours on one side. While the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was not great. The walls had been patched and not painted and the hairdryer was located outside the bathroom in a place where it was impossible to stretch the cord far enough to be able to dry one's hair in front of a mirror. The water temperature for the shower was not very hot even when turn fully up. We were given a discount coupon for a restaurant in the hotel across the street for breakfast but at $10 for a basic 1 egg/bacon meal we passed on it. The food services in the village itself were very expensive. I wouldn't choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitby06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Waterton is a very small place and the Aspen Village was exactly what I expected it to be: motel-style accommodation with some amenities (WiFi, Television), The fridge wasn't working but my husband just filled the ice bucket and put our water bottles in it. The staff would have replaced it but we were only there for one night. The restaurant was at another location. The staff were most helpful in offering recommendations and the location in Waterton itself is perfect. The room was clean and well-maintained, albeit a bit old-fashioned, but this is what was expected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovetouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Aspen Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your feedback. Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The appearance was shoddy outside, the grass needed cutting as dandelions were growing fast.the cottage rooms were no better than a standard motel room. Rubbish bin in bathroom had not been cleared after previous guests. The bathroom needed refurbishment looking tired, room generally a little unkempt. Having said this the beds were very comfortable

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for superior accommodation, it's not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davidfrost63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This Inn is unassuming and budget priced. parking close to every room. The room was spotless, The beds were very comfortable. The coffee machine was for individual cups and could be much improved! Nevertheless we had access to a pool/jacuzzi close by. Everywhere was easy to walk to. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterton Lakes National Park
0.1 mi away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#5 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
1,137 reviews
15.0 mi away
Bear Country Inn and Suites
Bear Country Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Mountain View
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Village

Address: 111 Windflower Ave | Box 100, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: $121 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aspen Village 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic travellers hotel, the Aspen Village offers 3 selections of hotel accommodation on one property. The Windflower at Aspen Village, newly renovated motel rooms with newly done bathrooms; The Aspen, deluxe suites; and The Cottages at Aspen Village, a community of 16 guest cottages, comprised of family units, duplex cottages and bachelor suites, recently renovated and updated! A small playground area, green space and BBQ pit make it a family friendly place to stay. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aspen Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Village Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Aspen Village Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing