We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about small town atmosphere”
Review of Hummingbird Inn

Hummingbird Inn
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's all about small town atmosphere”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The food was great, but the atmosphere was excellent. If you are going to the Hummingbird Inn just relax and enjoy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WendyLou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    49
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Pub”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We ate here twice during our few days on Galiano. A really enjoyable experience with surprisingly good food. Busy spot with a great atmosphere and very pleasant staff. Terrific service. Wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hummingbird is Awesome”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We loved the Hummingbird Pub during our week staying here on Galiano Island. During this week, we visited five times (twice today!!). It's above average pub grub, there are some decent beers and the service is very friendly and accommodating. Is the service super-fast? No, but it's Galiano. People need to learn to slow the heck down. Relax ... spend a little extra time chatting at the end of your meal, listen to the music, eavesdrop on your neighbours :-). Yes, there are fancy-schmancy places on the Island, but for us, the Hummingbird was all that we wanted or needed. We plan to return to Galiano (we're totally in love with the place) and we will look forward to visiting the Hummingbird when we do.

Recommendations: the nachos are seriously good (cheese right through), the fish and chips, the Galiano Burger, and unless they run out, they have the best potato salad I've had in a very long time. Good french fries, cut fresh every day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonCarol_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We ate here twice on our visit. The food and ambience is wholesome and worth the visit.

Our visit was in the winter time of the year and unfortunately they did not have a full menu of both food and wine. This was the only disappointment of the visit. The staff was terrific.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank flamesfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere and service!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

As our only option for a restaurant to eat dinner at during our stay, we were pleasantly surprised by this pub and ate there twice! Very comfortable, cozy atmosphere, friendly service and reasonably priced food, which tasted great. We felt that the alcoholic drinks were overpriced ($8.75 for a fancy coffee) and, unfortunately, my boyfriend's beer was expensive and flat. We were not able to experience the "pub bus" as it doesn't run during winter. Looking forward to riding it in the future. Overall, we would definitely recommend eating here for a casual meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 723Nicole-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummingbird Inn also viewed

Galiano Island, British Columbia
Galiano Island, British Columbia
 
Galiano Island, British Columbia
Galiano Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Hummingbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing