We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only life could always be that relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Galiano Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pine Ridge, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If only life could always be that relaxing!”
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Galiano Inn during our honeymoon. The Galiano was the only resort-type place we stayed at; the rest were B&Bs. Our room was lovely, and had a wonderful view (having gorgeous weather helped). The ferry dock/pier compromises the view a little bit, but the convenience of having the inn located close by made up for it I think. While there, we partook of a spa treatment - the "Spirit of Galiano" package, which seems like a great bargain for the variety/duration. We enjoyed it a great deal. We found the food at the restaurant quite good, if a little limited. There seemed to be very few people staying at the Inn while we were there, which was a little eerie at first (was there something we didn't know?). The staff said that it had been full to capacity on the previous weekend though, so we just assumed it was due to regular ups and downs in numbers of guests, and perhaps the bad economy. Regardless, we found nothing to complain about, and we certainly weren't complaining about having the place mostly to ourselves. Better that than a crowded resort where one is constantly tripping over people.
As for Galiano Island, it has a great deal of natural beauty, and a surprisingly small population. Or maybe it just seemed surprising to us, having just come from more-populous Salt Spring Island. We found about one of everything (one good bookshop, one good bakery, one good diner-style lunch spot), but had some nice little hikes, and a pretty drive up to the more remote northern part of the island one evening. Our best meal was at Berengerie, a French restaurant about 10 minutes from the inn (near Montague Harbor).
The only odd thing we noticed was that the main desk often had no one to staff it, even during business hours. A couple of times I had to hunt around the deserted bar/restaurant or wine shop area looking for a staff person to handle something (when we checked out, for example). When we checked in, the office was quite busy with people coming in from, and departing on the ferry. At that time, the desk was staffed, but it could have used a second person to help things go more quickly.
Overall, we had an excellent stay, and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrairieEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    69
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
64
205
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We had lovely oceanfront rooms with a beautiful view, the Inn's restaurant, Atriveda, was excellent. The rooms and the Inn itself are immaculate, the grounds are manicured and absolutely gorgeous. The spa treatments were heavenly, the staff are caring and attentive and went out of their way to ensure our comfort. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandgirlCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2009

My husband and I were looking to get out of the city for a few days with our small dog and friends recommended the Galiano Inn. How did we not find this place before? We had ferry reservations so the trip was not a hassle and the resort is absolutely beautiful.
We were in an oceanfront suite that was pet-friendly and well appointed - loved the shower tower and hot tub on the outdoor patio. The meals at the resort restaurant were
beautifully prepared and we were able to sit by a door leading to a landing and short flight of stairs where our dog could sit and see us. I experienced one of the best aromatherapy massages I have ever had - my masseur's name is Vai. We spent our days just being lazy and enjoying the many beautiful places to walk with our dog.
Jane, Eli and Tali

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaliVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We came to Canada for the marriage of good friends and to make holiday plans. We came to Galiano Island and Victoria and also Vancouver Island with family and friends.

Galiano Island was the most beautiful place we have been. We stay at the Galiano Inn and it was fantasticl! The staff made us feel at home and even made our English perfect to them. Our room was immediately by the seaside and the spa was better than Europe for massage! The best massage was even German. The food was perfect every time and the staff made things special for us even though our English could not explain.

The island has also good travel with kayaks and beaches. We saw whales seals and eagles from our room. There is a good bakery and very good artists. We listened to music at a bar cafe close to us. We recommend that you go to Galiano Island and stay at the Galiano Inn, it is wundervoll!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JungerReisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Our yoga group had six days of warm sunshine, ocean breezes wafting through our balcony doors, great food and a wonderful selection of wines.
The yoga space was perfect with French doors all around so that you had a feeling of being outside even from the inside.
The rooms were very spacious, with a fireplace and a coffee and tea bar. The deep tub was very relaxing after a long day of exercise. Hiking and kayaking were available nearby.
The spa was excellent offering many different treatments to revitalize and relax you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmegaAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner and Manager at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2009
Thank you so much for your kind comments.

We have had several wonderful yoga retreat groups stay with us and we have enjoyed them as much as the participants!

If you are interested in joining any of our other yoga retreats, email spa@galianoinn.com and you will be put on our mailing list. We also have one day workshops, led by our very talented teachers, for people on the island or coming for the day: our next one is July 19.

Our new glass yoga room in the garden is a beautiful space, and we are very pleased you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again.

Warm regards,

Conny Nordin, Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2009

My friend and I wanted a spa trip not too far away from home. The Galiano Inn and Spa turned out to be the perfect place. The weather was perfect too. We took a float plane from Vancouver and were picked up by Jennie from the inn. We arrived to our rooms with an ocean view and the flowers and cheese plates that we ordered were in our rooms. Needless to say, we split a bottle of sparkling wine and enjoyed the locally made cheeses. Ah Bliss. But wait, there was yoga and the spa to add to our bliss as well. We had booked our appointments ahead of time - one or two treatments for each of the 3 days we were there. We were able to have a yoga session with the inn instructor on the grass facing the ocean and take long walks from the inn. We thought of trying another venue for dinner but why would we after totally enjoying a lovely breakfast each morning (included in our stay) and the wonderful, organic dinners in the evening. The food was simply beautifully prepared by the new chef. Why go anywhere else? Sat. night they had live piano music. The spa was professional and used organic ingredients only. The staff was attentive and professional. Each of us had a massage in our rooms with the built in massage table. However, there is also a private massage place for couples in the garden perfect for a romantic weekend away. The garden is stunning and the yoga studio (for yoga retreats) is located here. There is a lovely pond with fish and a waterfall. Ah tranquility. Service on all levels was attentive all over the inn. The wine shop on site has an excellent selection of BC wines and goodies at very good prices. For a retreat, spa weekend, girls getaway, romantic weekend etc. you cannot beat this place. The owners have created a paradise on the island of Galiano. Special things we loved in the rooms were the olive oil and lavender pump soap and lotion which is also for sale in the spa, the quiet ocean view and the attention to the environment. All in all, can't wait to go back. P.S. For the those who arrive on the ferry (5min. walk from the inn) or without a car, the inn is also providing Smart cars to rent. There is hiking, kayaking, biking available as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musica9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner and Manager at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2009
Thank you so very much for all of your kind comments!

We have tried very hard to create a place that everyone will enjoy and bring their friends to share it with. The Gardens are a favourite with everyone.

Attention to detail is important in everything, and our staff are responsible for it! I will pass on your kind comments to the Chef and the Restaurant Staff, as well as the Spa Manager and her staff.

I am glad you liked the amenities: because of our concern for the environment, we do not like to use small plastic throw-away amenities, but as you saw, we have sourced out very special large size refillable amenities; some have proven so popular that we do now retail in the spa and by mail: especially the lavender and olive oil soap you liked, as well as the Nezza Naturals shower products...made on Galiano!

We hope to see you again,

Warm regards,
Conny Nordin,
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Incomparable views, amazing food and wine, delightful spa, easy access to hiking or beachcombing, beautiful gardens, and a truly helpful, friendly staff. A perfect package. Our room was attractive, with all the amenities (minus really good reading lights), and a deep, incredibly relaxing bathtub.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrace2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner and Manager at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2009
We very much appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your stay.

And of course we are all pleased that we helped make your vacation getaway a special one. Your kind comments about our very helpful staff and our spa will be passed onto the staff...they are the ones that truly make the experience. I also appreciate your comments about reading lights and we will look into how we can improve the experience.

We hope to see you again on Galiano Island: there is lots more to explore!

Warm regards,
Conny Nordin,
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
8.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
234 reviews
8.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
423 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 3 in Galiano Island
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bodega Ridge
Bodega Ridge
#1 of 1 in North Galiano
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa

Property: Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Address: 134 Madrona Dr, British Columbia V0N 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galiano Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular West Coast island resort, minutes from Vancouver, yet a world away. Luxury retreat in natural surroundings enhanced with beautiful gardens. Every Room and Suite has ocean views, fireplace, terrace, luxury ensuite. Our Oceanfront Spa has treatments unique in Canada,luxury steam rooms, garden treatments, flotation therapy. Award-winning Atrevida Restaurant in an architecturally stunning setting or casual outdoor setting with wood-fired pizza oven. Free WiFi, Free Phone, Free plane pick-up. Smart Cars, Dock for boats, golf, kayaking,whale-watching, shopping, hiking, famous Kunamokst mural. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galiano Oceanfront Hotel Galiano Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing