We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Approaces Napa Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Galiano Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Approaces Napa Quality”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The scenery here is fantastic. The location is perfect for its beauty and convenience. (We walked from the boat, with two roll-aboards, no problem.) The 1BR suite rooms are lovely, with a luxe-felling contemporary decor. There's a fully stocked kitchen and eating area with table--you could easily spend a week here on vacation. Personal spa tubs, wood burning fires and grills compliment the massive outdoor spaces. The only minor gripe was the shower, which was a tad small, and oddly laid out. Did I mention the views? You could spend all day sitting on the grass watching boats steam by, then all night on your patio watching the moon rise over Mt. Baker. In terms of the mechanics, check in was a breeze (3 mins, tops) and Connie, the owner, personally, gave us a friendly welcome and just enough info to get us up to speed. The outdoor pizza bistro is charming and quick while the dining room menu (did not try) featured West Coast cuisine standards and thoughtfully curated wine list. (Or you can just buy fresh fish off the ferry dock Saturdays and cook in your room.) Yes, I paid almost as much as I paid for my last stay in Yountville -- but I felt I was getting value, as opposed to paying extra just to be where the action was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank view_h0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for all your wonderful comments! It is great for the staff (and yes, I confess, this happy Innkeeper and Owner too) to get acknowledgement for all the efforts we put into our resort and our guests.

It is also great getting the perspectives of different guests in reviews. You loved all our favourite things too: the decor, the full stocked kitchen, personal spa tubs and wood fire outside on the terrace.

Yes, you can definitely stay for a week in our villa suites (or more): you should really come again, then you can explore the other Canadian Gulf Islands, using Galiano as a home base! Besides, you really do need to try our restaurant and spa to get 'the whole effect'.

As they say in California's wine country....Cheers!

Conny Nordin,
Owner, Innkeeper and Happy-Welcomer-of-Great-California-Guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    69
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
64
205
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

As soon as you walk into the lobby you'll be wowed by the Kunamokst mural and the relaxing atmosphere of this wonderful resort. The grounds are spectacular and well groomed - such a great variety of flowering plants and bushes. Our King room was spacious and very comfortable. Loved the heated floors in the bathroom. Top notch resort with helpful and courteous staff. Galiano Island is a treasure and so is this Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello, Robin,

We are a "treasure"??? That is a wonderful compliment. hank you so much for coming all the way from Sarnia to the other side of Canada! We are so happy that we met your expectations in every way. People tell us that the Kunamokst Mural in our lobby is worth a trip to Galiano Island alone.

Our spectacular gardens (thank you for that superlative: we agree!) are so beautiful. The enthusiastic Innkeeper (me) is not allowed to week or plant: that certainly conributes to the quality.

And of course I am pleased you loved the special touches in all of our rooms. Our Staff try very hard to be the "helpful and courteous" ones that you encountered. Thank you for acknowledging them.

Warm wishes,
Conny Nordin, Owner, Inn Manager and One-of-the-Helpful-and-Courteous-Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
351 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our first visit to Galiano, though we have stayed many times on some of the other Gulf Islands. We stayed here on a mid-week special, which made the price a bit more reasonable. Our king room overlooked the ferry dock. The room was a good size, nicely decorated and comfortable but the layout was a little odd, with the sofa facing the door. The bathroom had a spa tub, but it took forever to fill it to a level above the jets. (Water conservation is a constant issue on islands, so it seemed strange to have this kind of tub in the room.) The shower was good, with decent water pressure. Our room was on the end of the building and it had windows on three sides, so it got nice cross breezes (it was a hot week on the mainland). It was nice to be overlooking the water. The grounds are well kept. Ferries go by and sound their horns fairly regularly as this is at the entrance to Active Pass. We didn't find that it bothered us. There is a long dock that runs into the bay where you can watch the ferries unload. We also saw otters and a seal in the evening from this dock. A tree right outside our room was a landing spot for at least 6 species of birds, including a downey woodpecker and a rufous hummingbird.

Our midweek special included a $25/day restaurant credit, so this covered some of the cost of breakfast each morning in the restaurant. The food there was very good, and the service was friendly. Breakfast service didn't start until 9:00, which I thought was a bit late. There are some places within walking distance that serve breakfast if this is too late for you. If you want to venture further afield for lunch and dinner you will need a car (either your own or a rental from the inn). Several places nearby serve lunch, but dinner options (after 3 p.m.) are very limited. The restaurant at the inn is fine dining only, with prices to match. There is a food cart at the ferry terminal (5 min. walk) that serves Indonesian and German food, and there is an ice cream shop that serves burgers. For anything else you need to drive. The Hummingbird Pub is the best bet for a casual dinner in pleasant surroundings. Near the pub is The Flying Black Dog food cart which serves a great outdoor lunch from Wed. to Sat.

I would recommend this place for people who want to do some serious relaxing. It's amazing how close it is to the mainland, but you could be in a different world. If you want to chill out and watch the ferries go by and read a book on the porch or the lawn overlooking the water, then this inn will do nicely. (There's also a good bookstore nearby.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TPT_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect for leaving your vehicle at home and save the ferry expense.it is a short walk to the Inn from sturdies bay.
The reception was welcoming and the lobby art mural is delightful.Our one bedroom suite came as advertised out door tub,wood burning fireplace,ocean front,king size bed,flat screen TV,interesting shower with jet features.
Took advantage of the smart cars to travel the island $10 per hour,rustic beaches with local knowledge access required,definitely some interesting hiking possibilities.
Hummingbird pub was a Greta spot for lunch and looks as if it is party central in the evening with its own shuttle bus.
Unique stores close to the Inn,Now & Zen check the opening hours!
The spa at the inn was very good with a couples massage cottage with water features to listen to,managed to get a RMT by request,good service.
The restaurant food and ambience were good as was the value.A rather grumpy waiter overshadowed our meal although not completely and recommend the restaurant.Did not have a wood burning pizza although looked smelt excellent
Hot tub at the spa had its ocean front view obstructed by a massage tent,sauna was out of order which was placed in some enchanting gardens.
Grocery store at the end of the road was well stocked with a good stock of beer,wine and spirits
Overall a great place to relax and tranquil setting although the wireless Internet still allowed for contact with the real world if you needed which was very convenient.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello, Keith J, and thank you for taking the time to prepare such a thorough review. I both appreciate and agree with each item....
I would like to acknowledge each item, as you took the time to write about them:

1. "Location is perfect for leaving your vehicle at home": It is close too! First ferry stop from Tsawwassen, save on car ferry costs, 6 minute walk..
2. "The reception was welcoming" (Woot! Woot! I hope that was ME)
3. "Lobby art mural is delightful" I have to put a word in here...check out the Kunamokst Mural website or the TripAdvisor site for it. Amazing AND delightful!
4. ."Our one bedroom suite came as advertised" Glad you enjoyed the outdoor bath, ,wood burning fireplace,and ocean views" :Lots of people say the pictures don't do it justice: what do you think?.
5. "Smart cars" BIG island, that's why we decided that renting these would be great for guests
6. "Hummingbird pub": We love that you loved the Island's Pub. We do, too (^:
7. "The spa at the inn was very good": You had the best part: the Couples Massage in the waterfall cottage in the garden. Pretty romanic!
8. "The restaurant food and ambience were good as was the value....but grumpy waiter" We acknowledge and agree with your assessment of the grumpy waiter who was also our Restaurant Manager. He is no longer with us. I hope you will try us again. Our current staff are insanely and cheerful!
9. WHAT? No pizza?? It is a must when you visit Galiano.
10. Hot tub at the spa had its ocean front view obstructed by a massage tent: True in the summer. We may have to revisit that experience.
11. "Sauna was out of order , in some enchanting gardens": The Infrared sauna is being installed as we write
12, Grocery store at the end of the road was well stocked" Yes! You do not have to bring anything to Galiano, we pretty much have it all (although fresh meat and fish are in the restaurants, but not in the grocery stores in our quiet season) Good selection of everything else.
13. "Wireless Internet": Yep, can't break our guests of those habits to stay connected. But it's free internet,so that's a good thing.

Thank you for acknowledging our strengths and where we need to improve: we have already made some of those changes. Hope to see you again! Since you did not try our pizza, stay with us again and it's "on me".

Conny Nordin,
Owner, Inn Manager and Consumer-of-too-many-wood-fired-pizzas-this-year
c.nordin@galianoinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I love the rooms... Such a beautiful place
The shower was incredible
Great pizza at outdoor restaurant
Heard waves in the morning and was great to wake up to
The artwork a nice touch
Outdoor tub amazing
Huge bed was so comfortable
Will definitely go again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 426Jennifer_D426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello! And greetings again from Galiano. You have certainly covered all the great parts..
-Comfortable bed: Check!
-Outdoor amazing bathtubs Check!
-Art everywhere Check! (I think you liked our Kunamokst Mural, too?)
-Special showers Check!
-Great pizza: yup everyone loves that! Check!

Glad you liked us a lot. Next time you come you will have to check out the Spa too, as you did not mention it.

Sound of waves waking you up. ...what do you think of the idea of taping those sounds to take back to the city? Next time.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope you do so again.

Warm wishes,
Conny Nordin,
Owner, Inn Manager, and Enthusiastic Customer Service Representative ... Check!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just got home from a three-night stay at the beautiful Galiano Inn. We were there for a conference, so our room rate for the oceanfront villa was very reasonable - we were in Santiago 20, which is the dog-friendly villa. We fell in love with it instantly, as did our pooch.

The villa itself was really lovely - nice finishes and comfortable furniture. There was a full kitchen, a spacious bathroom, a very comfortable king bed, a dining and sitting area and, outside, a really spectacular patio with wrought iron furniture, a jetted bathtub, a grill, a fireplace and, of course, that amazing view.

Out in front of the villas is a great stretch of lawn for dog frolic as well as that beautiful ocean view. During the day when the tide is out, you can wander down to the little beach in front of the hotel - great for dogs, kids or anyone who enjoys a little seaside exploration.

There were some great little shops nearby - we walked to the bookstore, discovered yarn at the post office (!) and had daily lattes at the Sturdies Bay Cafe. Everyone was very laid-back and friendly.

The hotel staff were all fantastic - particularly Barry at the front desk, the hardest working man in show business, who checked us in, showed us to our room, sat us for breakfast, took our dinner orders and was always super helpful and friendly. The cleaning staff was also very friendly and sweet and put up with our elderly dog glaring at them while they worked.

Since we were there for business, it's worth noting that the wifi and cellphone signals were very good.

We ate at the restaurant once on our own and then for the rest of the week with the conference - it was okay, but not great (but the service was always super). Since we're a little pick-ay about food, we'll likely just bring our own next time and skip the restaurant.

Check out time was 11 a.m. but the conference didn't end until 4:30 p.m. - since we had our dog with us and no one was scheduled to check in to our room, the front desk staff VERY kindly gave us the use of the room until we left, which was really lovely and much appreciated.

We would definitely stay here again - next time, we'll be sure to arrive with a car full of groceries so that we can take advantage of the kitchen and the grill!

Room Tip: The oceanfront villas are pretty spectacular - great view and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rorokimtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hands down one of the nicest places I have had the honour of staying. Front desk staff was so pleasant and knowledgeable. The owner an absolute gem. From the early check in, to having the use of a Smart Car for a day, It was just a really laid back pleasant stay. You MUST check out the gourmet restaurant at the Inn, its to die for! The rooms are very clean and very, very well appointed. The spa is very comfortable and the services are top notch, we will without a doubt be returning for another stay.

P.S!!! The bathroom floors are heated!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
8.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
234 reviews
8.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
421 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
Poets Cove Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pender Island
425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 3 in Galiano Island
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bodega Ridge
Bodega Ridge
#1 of 1 in North Galiano
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa

Property: Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Address: 134 Madrona Dr, British Columbia V0N 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galiano Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular West Coast island resort, minutes from Vancouver, yet a world away. Luxury retreat in natural surroundings enhanced with beautiful gardens. Every Room and Suite has ocean views, fireplace, terrace, luxury ensuite. Our Oceanfront Spa has treatments unique in Canada,luxury steam rooms, garden treatments, flotation therapy. Award-winning Atrevida Restaurant in an architecturally stunning setting or casual outdoor setting with wood-fired pizza oven. Free WiFi, Free Phone, Free plane pick-up. Smart Cars, Dock for boats, golf, kayaking,whale-watching, shopping, hiking, famous Kunamokst mural. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galiano Oceanfront Hotel Galiano Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing