We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Galiano Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a family Christmas get-together at Galiano Oceanfront Inn & Spa and were extremely happy with the location, the views, the service, and the overall experience. The management and staff went out of their way to help us with everything we needed and we felt like we were being welcomed into someone's home - they were so accommodating. It's a beautiful place, with ocean views, and the beauty of seeing all the BC Ferries passing nearby. Villa rooms have well-equipped kitchens for making your own meals (the restaurant was closed during much of our stay, but we knew that ahead of time and planned accordingly - it was not a problem) and all have stunning ocean views. They also have jetted tubs and wood fireplaces on the deck. Luxuriant! This is a lovely place and well worth a return visit!

Room Tip: Top floor villa suites have an amazing view, and more privacy for using the on-deck jetted tub and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hammsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for choosing us as your family Christmas get-together: Galiano Island is beautiful in any season, but especially in this quiet time of year: we call it our 'Secret Season'. When we read that you were extremely happy with the location, the views, the service, and the overall experience, well that covers pretty much everything...and it makes all our efforts worthwhile!

You mentioned that the management and staff went out of their way to help you with everything you needed ... yes, we do: we do try to make it absolutely special getaway, combined with what you described as being welcomed into someone's home. A luxury retreat that is comfortable and welcoming: that is our goal.

A BIG THANK YOU from every one of us at the Inn, as we are all about making this everyone's chosen retreat.

Conny Nordin
Owner, Manager, and Proud to be a Staff Member too of the Galiano Oceanfront Inn & Spa
c.nordin@galianoinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 379 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Galiano Inn for 2 nights last week. We booked through BC Ferries Vacations, who gave us excellent customer service, thank you! The resort is a 1 min drive from the ferry terminal. We were pleasently greeted and shown to our room, which was beautiful and spotless with a jetted tub and wood burning fireplace. It was peaceful to sit outside and listen to the waves and watch the ferries. The spa was relaxing and therapeutic. The Owners and Manager where extremely friendly and professional, which really completed our stay. We ate at the bakery and cafe that's within walking distance, and the pub in the evening. All great food! Our trip away so relaxing and rejuvenating. Truly a slice of Heaven, that feels so far away from everything, yet it's so close. This was our first trip to the Island and the resort, it wont be our last and we look forward to returning again soon. If you need r&r or a quick getaway this is the place, you will leave feeling refreshed. I was told Galiano Island is a healing Island, so very true! Thank you again to all of the staff at the Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa for making our stay pleasurable, we had a fantastic time, just what the doctor ordered!

Room Tip: All room are ocean front :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey-Nicole-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Wow! Thank you SO much for the great review! Making mother-daughter getaways special is indeed very special to us, too. We love our BC Ferries too, bringing great guests on a cruise to our island (^: I am glad you enjoyed our healing island and the healing treatments in our Spa. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, for taking the time to write a great review: I will post your kind words so all the staff can see. Being keen sleuths of happy guests, we think we know who you are, so we will send an extra special thank you in the mail to you (^;

With sincere appreciation,
Conny Nordin, Owner, Inn Manager and Happy-Overseer-of-Mother-Daughter-Getaways

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Every year we are so looking forward to our "girlfriend" gateway. We have been to the Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa once a year for the past four years. It is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the good food at the restaurant, very nice spa treatments and what a beautiful location! You really feel somewhere else on Galiano. We always rent the villa and we are always really pleased because everything is there. It is very comfortable, clean, quiet and the ocean view is stunning from room. The staff is always helpful to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
The resort is a 5 min walk from the ferry. If you need a vehicle to discover the Island, Smart cars are available on the spot for rent.
We are still planning to come back next fall when it is so quiet...
Thank you for making our stay such a pleasant retreat for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marychoc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Our favourite kind of guests? The ones who come back every year (or more frequently) like these guests of course! Because that means we are doing a lot of things very, very right. The staff enjoy seeing familiar faces too... we feel like we are greeting old friends.

Your kind comments about it being the perfect place to unwind and enjoy great food and spa is exactly what we are trying to create. And yes, to do it all in a beautiful location where you feel you are "away from home" in someplace very very special, and as you said: comfortable, clean, quiet and the ocean view is stunning from room (we liked your description so much we just had to repeat it!) I will pass on your comments to the staff about how they were helpful to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

We are glad you liked our Smart Cars and we liked especially that we will see you next fall!
And while you thanked us for making your stay such a pleasant retreat for you...we must thank you for making that so easy! You are great guests.

Warm regards and many thanks from all of us,
Conny Nordin
Owner, Manager, and Proud Staff Member of the Galiano Oceanfront Inn & Spa
c.nordin@galianoinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What an amazing place this is to get away and do your work! I usually think of places like the Galiano Inn for a 'holiday stay' or an 'event stay'. I was overwhelmed with project deadlines and just needed to be somewhere that I could get things done without interruption. Somewhere that I could take my computer, my paperwork and my lists of things not done. I had heard about the Inn from a friend who had attended a wedding there. She raved about the good service, the good food and the fantastic peacefulness of this spot right on the ocean. And only a 50 minute ferry ride from Vancouver! Just enough time for a cup of coffee! So.....I booked 3 nights and headed off with a bag full of paperwork. And.....it was perfect, exactly what I needed. The room was exceptional. Quiet except for the lovely ocean sounds and the arrivals of the ferries at the dock nearby. The meals were very good and there was also a local bakery and cafe nearby. Also great and within walking distance. I didn't even need to take my car (except I couldn't carry all my paperwork on without my car!) I got every bit of my work done and was able to connect with my workplace in every way -- by cell phone and by computer. I headed back to work feeling almost euphoric. So, so many things done and completed in the space of 3 days of uninterrupted work. It would have taken me two or three weeks or even more to achieve what I did during my Galiano Inn stay. So......beautiful place to visit and relax. But also a beautiful place to book a personal retreat and be surrounded by peace and quiet and all amenities and......have someone else look after your daily responsibilities like eating and cleaning, leaving you to simply get down to your work. I highly recommend the Inn -- I'm glad I stepped outside of the box and looked for what I needed. Somewhere close by that I could escape to and work!! I'm now thinking that it would be a great idea to come here with another workmate(s) when we're just needing to brainstorm or work intensely on a project. The possibilities are endless!

Room Tip: All are great but if you're wanting a room with a kitchen, ask for a "Villa Room". On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Our favourite kind of guests? The ones who come back every year (or more frequently) like these guests of course! Because that means we are doing a lot of things very, very right. The staff enjoy seeing familiar faces too... we feel like we are greeting old friends.

Your kind comments about it being the perfect place to unwind and enjoy great food and spa is exactly what we are trying to create. And yes, to do it all in a beautiful location where you feel you are "away from home" in someplace very very special, and as you said: comfortable, clean, quiet and the ocean view is stunning from room (we liked your description so much we just had to repeat it!) I will pass on your comments to the staff about how they were helpful to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

We are glad you liked our Smart Cars and we liked especially that we will see you next fall!
And while you thanked us for making your stay such a pleasant retreat for you...we must thank you for making that so easy! You are great guests.

Warm regards and many thanks from all of us,
Conny Nordin
Owner, Manager, and Proud Staff Member of the Galiano Oceanfront Inn & Spa
c.nordin@galianoinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a lovely way to spend a wedding anniversary in front of a fireplace in a beautiful suite overlooking the ocean. The Spa treatments were great. The Salmon served three ways was delicious paired with local Gulf island wine. Thank you for the warm hospitality..

Room Tip: The Inn restaurant was closed on Monday and Tuesday. While there are available places nearby they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrPooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for the great review! We love romance: whether it is new romance, old romance (is there suggest a thing?) elopements, weddings, or anniversaries...we try to make it an extra special remembrance for each couple. And it looks like we hit the mark with you, which is what we go all out to do: spa: check! dinner: check! wine: check! hospitality: check! Thank you, thank you, for the Thank you...I will pass on your kind words to all the staff (^;

With appreciation,
Conny Nordin, Owner, Inn Manager and Enthusiastic-Promoter-of-Galiano-Romance ♥

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at Galinao Inn and already we are talking about a return visit. The room is very spacious and comfortable. We simply love the private patio with a built-in bbq, fireplace and soaker tub. Can there be anything more perfect than sitting at the ocean front by a crackling fire? There are two on-site restaruants - one features fine dining and the other is a an outside pizza cabana. Both are beyone wonderful. The staff is a delight. Loved the mural art in the reception area. The grounds feature a garden sactuary that is serene and restfull. Although we live miles & miles away, we must return again & again, gotta love it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

We love new guests: but we love love LOVE ones that return. It makes us feel like all our hard work and our customer service is being noticed! So glad you enjoyed the Villa suite with the outdoor fireplace and bubble tub...so livable regardless of sunny days or cool evenings: we agree that there is nothing more perfect (^;

Calling the restaurant 'beyond wonderful' and our 'staff a delight' and our gardens 'a sanctuary' ...well, we're all pretty pumped about that: could we hire you as a publicist??? The famous Kunamokst Mural is a destination in itself, isn't it? you can help it go viral by sending a link to your friends, that would be a boon to the artists.

It is too bad you live 'miles and miles away'...but so good you will be returning. And with our wonderful BC Ferries, the last part of your trip is really a relaxing "cruise". Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review.

Conny Nordin, Owner/Manager and In-Need-of-a-Fan-Club-President-like-you!
c.nordin@galianoinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We traveled from Australia to attend a wedding at Galiano and still smile at the memories of our stay. What a magical place. Our room was spacious, well kept and came with that beautiful view.
All our meals were lovely and met our expectations. As for the grounds; well they were just a delight to walk around, we felt like we were in a little oasis and our camera had a great workout.
Thoroughly enjoyed the massages and spa treatments too.
Finally, the staff were just delightful; yes all of them and exceptionally attentive to our needs from the moment of arrival to our departure.
We thank you for making our stay such a lovely experience and hope one day to return.
D & S

Room Tip: Top floor has less noise and more private than one downstairs opening on to lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalianoInn, Owner at Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

G'day! And a big HELLO and an equally big THANK YOU to our new "friends down under"...We so very much appreciate your taking the time to write in and post this review. We are particularly appreciative of the kudo's and recognition given to all of the great staff who helped you and your family and friends have a great few days (It was pretty easy work actually, you were all such great people). The food and Spa and Gardens are all our favourite parts too (^;

So glad your camera had a "great workout'...will we see some of those photos? Hope so! You can post them on our Facebook page or send them to us. We would love to ogle and / or use them ourselves! All the best, hope to see you again.

Conny Nordin, owner/manager and enthusiastic-greeter-of-all-Australians
c.nordin@galianoinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
8.5 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ganges
448 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Serenity by the Sea Retreat
Serenity by the Sea Retreat
#5 of 11 in Galiano Island
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 4 in Galiano Island
53 reviews
6.3 mi away
Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast
Arbutus Point Oceanfront Bed and...
#13 of 45 in Salt Spring Island
39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bodega Ridge
Bodega Ridge
#1 of 1 in North Galiano
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa

Address: 134 Madrona Dr, British Columbia V0N 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galiano Island
Price Range: $165 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular West Coast island resort, minutes from Vancouver, yet a world away. Luxury retreat in natural surroundings enhanced with beautiful gardens. Every Room and Suite has ocean views, fireplace, terrace, luxury ensuite. Our Oceanfront Spa has treatments unique in Canada,luxury steam rooms, garden treatments, flotation therapy. Award-winning Atrevida Restaurant in an architecturally stunning setting or casual outdoor setting with wood-fired pizza oven. Free WiFi, Free Phone, Free plane pick-up. Smart Cars, Dock for boats, golf, kayaking,whale-watching, shopping, hiking, famous Kunamokst mural. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galiano Oceanfront Hotel Galiano Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing