We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break Family Magic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galiano Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Beach B&B and Cottage
Ranked #4 of 11 Galiano Island B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spring Break Family Magic”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent the week with family (two kids, auntie, and parents in the cottage unit) in this amazing spot. The yard and the beach were really all we needed for hours of fun and relaxation together, although Galiano has lots of great exploring places too (Montague, Pebble Beach, Mt. Galiano). The kids adored tidal pooling and also sandcastle building (nice to have both) right out front. The cottage officially faces the woods (which are so green and pretty) but the ocean view is right there from the comfy deck chairs and hottub... bbq, swing, electric fireplace if you get a chill.... it was soo comfy and wonderful. Mel and Carol can help you with anything you need to know about Galiano and brought us fresh baked goodies for treats too! The kids and auntie enjoyed sleeping in the upstairs loft, and mom and dad had the bedroom. Full size kitchen and living room with books, games, dvd player - everything you need. Absolute perfect spot for quality family time. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbcottage, Owner at Morning Beach B&B and Cottage, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are so glad your stay was a week of great family time. It was a pleasure to observe your children enjoying their time with yourselves, auntie and gramma and grampa.
You emailed you saw the whales on the ferry going home, what a great ending to your holiday.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Mel and Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

we have just had a wonderful short stay on Galiano, staying in both the cottage and suite. The Morning Beach location is idyllic and the owners extremely friendly, hospitable and helpful with info and suggestions. Muffins, views from the hot tub and roaring wood burner all very memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbcottage, Owner at Morning Beach B&B and Cottage, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Shona,

Winter on Galiano is a nice get a way from the city, so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

As a young family with two small children, the cottage at Morning Beach B&B was perfect for our week long holiday. Days spent exploring the shoreline and beach, swimming daily, a private deck and yard for running around and the cottage had all the amenities we needed, plus Carol's fantastic homemade muffins! Lots of parks and areas to explore, though we enjoyed staying close to our cottage 'home' as it was so relaxing and serene. While we visited mid-summer, Morning Beach would also be a great place to visit in the fall and winter, as the cottage is cozy with its fireplace, waves crashing almost outside your door and of course, the great hot tub. Mel & Carol are lovely hosts - you couldn't ask for nicer, more welcoming people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbcottage, Owner at Morning Beach B&B and Cottage, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Dave, Lisa, Isla and Aran,

July is fast approaching, and we look forward to seeing you again this summer. I am sure the kids will have lots of fun in the tidal pools this year.

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful stay in Mel and Carol's oceanfront suite and we are looking forward to returning! I can't say enough about the hospitality, we were greeted like family feeling like we'd just arrived home. Carol and Mel cater thoughtfully to young families and had many "extras" ready for our arrival, like great retro Little People toys and a baby monitor so that we could enjoy the oceanfront hottub without worrying, among other personal touches that won't be forgotten. All this, and I haven't yet mentioned the endless hours of fun on the private beach, tidal pools and larger beach next door. We saw mink, eagles, seals, crabs, and all kinds of sea life. The sunrise is spectacular from this location, looking east across to the mainland.

This is a memorable and magical place to spend a few days and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbcottage, Owner at Morning Beach B&B and Cottage, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Megan & family,

We are looking forward to your return visit this summer, I am sure Jasper and Mica will enjoy the beach and tidal pools again this summer. See you soon

Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here in late winter. Unlike previous reviewers, we stayed in the main house (lower level). The owners live upstairs but we were, for the most part, unaware of their presence. We chose the main house over the cottage as we really wanted the view - and we weren't disappointed! The expansive sea view is great from the living room, dining area, and kitchen. The unit was clean, and the bed very comfortable. The hosts were very nice as well, available just the right amount of time, and giving us drinking water and information as needed. A lot of places on the island were closed when we were there, but we were able to use the market to pick up food to prepare in the amply provisioned kitchen. The hot tub for this unit has got a dynamite view as well. We would definitely stay here again.

While there, we toured all over Galiano Island. A few weeks earlier we had visited Saturna Island and Pender Island. In many ways Saturna Island was my favorite of these 3 islands, but I have to say that for visitors, I think I like Galiano the best as there are more trails and other visitor ammenities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninebark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed the weekend at the cottage. The grounds are spectacular - right on the ocean. The cottage is set back, behind the main house, but very private with trees. You can sit on the side of cottage deck and enjoy the view. From there, you can watch the dawn over the ocean if you get up early.

The kitchen was adequately supplied with dishes and pans, coffee, tea, salt and pepper, but be sure to bring your own spices and butter for cooking.

The owner, Carol, was extremely respectful of our privacy and marvelously helpful. She got us milk for our coffee from her own fridge. She left us home-made muffins for breakfast, hand-annotated maps, made phone calls at request, and then took us to the marina in her car to catch our plane back to the states.

The outdoor hot tub is a marvel. It is private and clean. At night you can watch the stars from there.

It's about an hour's walk to the town from there if you don't have a car. I recommend that you rent a bicycle. The Hummingbird Pub is only a five minutes bike ride. You can breakfast or eat dinner at the golf course club house next door. They had an evening surf and turf BBQ that was a good price.

This is a marvelous vacation cottage and I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Autumnwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We spent a wonderful night in the cottage at the Morning Beach B&B.
The cottage was private from the main house, well equipped, clean and very cozy.
We loved sitting out in the hot tub in the evening drizzle.
The property is waterfront and very beautiful. Next time we go we would like to launch our kayaks from the beach out front.
The Hummingbird Pub was an easy walk from the cottage as was the town center.
Carol, the owner was very pleasant and friendly, offering advise on places to see on Gabriola.
We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shimmeringlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
7.7 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bodega Ridge
Bodega Ridge
#1 of 1 in North Galiano
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 3 in Galiano Island
53 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
327 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hedgerow House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Beach B&B and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Beach B&B and Cottage

Property: Morning Beach B&B and Cottage
Address: 109 Harper Rd, British Columbia V0N 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galiano Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morning Beach offers lowbank waterfront, sandy beach, wildlife, tidal pools, beachcombing & panoramic views from the hot tub. Located at the south end of the island and within walking distance to stores, market, pub & golf course. Morning Beach is a great place to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, honeymoons and romantic getaways or a relaxing few days with family and friends. Open Year Round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing