We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A getaway that brought serenity and serendipity!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galiano Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serenity by the Sea Retreat
Ranked #5 of 11 Galiano Island B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A getaway that brought serenity and serendipity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

It was serendipitous to find this getaway in Galliano at a time in my life when I needed this type of vacation.
'Serenity By the Sea' has great karma,lovely charm and lots of natural beauty.
Hosts Shera and Chidikash are gracious and giving.
The architectural design of this retreat is beautifully thought out.
The round table breakfast of french toast with an array of fruit sauces was comfort food par excellence! Not to mention the delicous orange juice accented with ginger.
I will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhavusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    16
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
35
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Recently our family spent some time at the "Serenity by the Sea Retreat", on Galiano Island in BC's Gulf Islands.
We had a wonderful time at Serenity by the Sea, starting with a warm, hospitable and light-hearted welcome from hosts Shera and Chidakesh Street. We found them to be charming and genuine hosts, most willing to do anything in their power to make their guests' visit special. The view over the Gulf Islands from our room was spectacular by any measure, and the highly creative landscaping soothing to the soul - an aesthetic treat. Highly recommended - we're already looking forward to a return visit.
Tom and family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas4702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Beautiful, peaceful, private, life in harmony. No phone, no internet, no key. We stayed in the cottage with kitchen and the deck overlooking the forest and ocean. The cliffside tub is a must. Amazing natural beauty. This was trip was a welcome retreat from the crazy life we live in the city.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereIsKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Serenity is a retreat focused on contemplation and relaxation. The hosts provide a b & b type atmosphere, more family-style than hotel-style. Our room was the Windsail - it was magnificent. The entire experience (almost 3 days) was too short and we will be going back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djwgilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Loved the amazing view from the bath tub carved into the cliffside, the babbling brook into the sea, the funky outdated decore, the meditative labyrinth and welcoming hosts!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kuba154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Français à Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Me and my partner at the time went to Serenity by the sea on a complete random impulse. It was a last minute trip to spend new year's eve and we decided we would rather spend this time together than party with lots of people. We decided to take the Sunrise suite as the other cottages were already taken but we were not disappointed at all by our choice. I think the pictures cannot speak enough about how amazing is this place. We were lucky to see the sunset from our warm and cozy room by the sea, the calm and spirit of the place is really re-energizing and we spent the days roaming Galiano Island under a clear blue sky or me practicing Yoga with our hosts early in the morning.
Our hosts Shera and Chidakash were amazing, welcoming and generous. They directed us to beautiful places on Galiano and we also connected on a really high spiritual level. These are real people that will connect to you honestly. I cannot thank them enough for this time of peace and reflexion that they gave us. I think that Serinity by the sea and Shera and Chidakash are filled with the same energy. The house, its beautiful location and the spirituality that lies in the place and its host are comforting.
Anyhow, I can only recommend this place, looking back to when I first found it using TripAdvisor I realize that some people did not like their experience. I would only suggest that these people were merely not looking for a Bed and Breakfast but for a 5 star hotel or something alike where their experience would have been the same anywhere else . This is different here, you are entering a really special place and welcomed by really special people, expect to be surprised.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rigden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

My spouse and I spent two nights at Serenity by the Sea last week and loved every minute of our stay. We hope to return some day and spend much longer. We stayed in the self-contained 2-story cottage which has a lovely loft bedroom with views to the ocean, and a balcony - also with ocean view. The hosts were friendly and warm people who inspired us in many ways through their creative work. Their kind and wise spirit makes Serenity much more than just a place to stay on one's vacation. We left feeling relaxed, rejuvenated, and very lucky to have found such a gem. We've been visiting the Gulf Islands for about 10 years now and Serenity stands out as one of the most memorable locations we've stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarietheGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galiano Island
4.7 mi away
Hastings House Country House Hotel
Hastings House Country House Hot...
#1 of 3 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
6.7 mi away
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa
#1 of 11 in Galiano Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
10.4 mi away
Mayne Island Resort
Mayne Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mayne Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Driftwood Village
Driftwood Village
#2 of 3 in Galiano Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bodega Ridge
Bodega Ridge
#1 of 1 in North Galiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wisteria Guest House
Wisteria Guest House
#7 of 44 in Salt Spring Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity by the Sea Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity by the Sea Retreat

Property: Serenity by the Sea Retreat
Address: 225 Serenity Lane (off Ganner Dr) | RR2 Galiano Island 42-14, British Columbia V0N 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Galiano Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galiano Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenity by the Sea Retreat is a waterfront retreat haven with quiet, creative spaces--perfect if you are seeking quality time alone or with a friend, for re-connection, reflection, or healing and creative play. Cocoon yourself in a cozy, nurturing accommodation to relax and recharge your batteries. Enhance your retreat with massage, reiki, and a myriad of special features and services. Enjoy nature, sky and sea from our cliffside tub by the sea. Our garden embraces the dynamic vibrancy of waterfront, the soothing energy of our ponds and waterfall gardens, and the personal gifts of our meditation circuit and classic labyrinth. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing