We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super friendly and helpful hosts, convenient yet tranquil location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quatse River Regional Park and Campground

Quatse River Regional Park and Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quatse River Regional Park and Campground
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super friendly and helpful hosts, convenient yet tranquil location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in June 2013. We were initially booked in to site #12, but we weren't thrilled with it. We asked to be moved to #33 (bigger and not muddy) and our request was pleasantly granted. The host gave my husband some fishing suggestions (fresh water) and excellent recommendations on where to ocean kayak. The washrooms/showers were meticulously cleaned every day and the on site laundry was much appreciated. The campground sites could use a bit of TLC (i.e. gravel because of the wet climate), but overall it's a lovely campground with a nice walk along the river with some interpretive signs. On our last morning we visited the salmon hatchery, which was amazing! The firewood provided is really good stuff! If you are planning to plug in your RV note that some sites have the plug-in at the back of the site, rather than at the side. Not really an issue if your cables are long enough. It's great that there's an on site sani-dump too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandxterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet RV park close to Port Hardy. Campsites are a good size with power and water. Central holding tank dump, firewood available. We hiked the Quatse River Trail and saw salmon waiting to go upriver to spawn. Had trouble getting on the WiFi with my iPad - could be an improvement there. Salmon Enhancement facility adjoins the campground, which is also well worth a visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Islander8869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Peaceful amongst the local old huge forest trees. Free wifi, free showers, fire wood(donations accepted), onsite laundry and great Quatse Salmon Stewardship Centre on site worth the tour and interesting. Great hosts and walking trails even one down to Port Hardy downtown. Bears in the area and Bald Eagles.

The drive up from Nanaimo was stunning and views amazing with lots of rest stops and not any traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helpoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had lots of space for the tent and the car. The camp site is in the Forrest and next to the river, lots of fish. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beatiful area of Vancouver island not so busy as the south and west side. Highly recommendable, worth the drive up to this part of the island.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kees-Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Excellent campground with lots of trees in and around most sites. Walking trails with wonderful interpretive signage. Loved the sound of the river as it flows through the campground. Washrooms definately above average. Free showers, paper towels and very clean. Hosts were very friendly and knowledgeable. wi-fi worked well. It has the added bonus of supporting the Quatse River Hatchery.

Room Tip: Choice of next to the river or in the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had an excellent camping experience at this easily accessible (from Port Hardy) campground which includes spacious sites in old growth forest all located close to the Quatse river. Further positives: clean bathroom facility with warm showers, laundry facilities, plenty of firewood, and very friendly couple managing the campground.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HDCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night. The manager was very friendly and helpful. The campsites were fairly good, reasonably level, and definitely clean, but many of them lacked privacy. Interesting to note that the property is shared by the Quatse River salmon hatchery.
Facilities included showers, laundry, wi-fi (addn'l donation req'd), firewood (addn'l donation req'd), sanidump.
A decent enough stop-over campsite, but not one that I'd go out of my way to travel to or plan to camp at for an extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oom-papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Hardy hotels
1.6 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn
Quarterdeck Inn
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ecoscape Cabins
Ecoscape Cabins
#2 of 15 in Port Hardy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Escape B&B
Escape B&B
#1 of 16 in Port Hardy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.2 mi away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quatse River Regional Park and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quatse River Regional Park and Campground

Property: Quatse River Regional Park and Campground
Address: 8400 Byng Road, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Port Hardy
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quatse River Campground is within a richly forested regional park, with trees hundreds of years old. 62 tenting or RV sites private and treed or riverside. Power, water, sani-dump, free showers, coin laundry, firewood, WIFI, pets welcome. Enjoy hiking, swimming and fishing. Close to town, airport and ferry. Take a tour next door at the Quatse Salmon Centre and Hatchery. All proceeds fund salmon conservation efforts on Northern Vancouver Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing