We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you must”
Review of Providence Place

Providence Place
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Providence Place
Ranked #13 of 16 Port Hardy B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Only if you must”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

As other reviewers have mentioned, the location is good and the hotel clerk was kind. But that is about the only good things that can be said about the place. It is old, dirty, and you don't feel very safe. Certainly not worth the price. Only go if there are no other options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christophe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    19
    17
    7
See reviews for
12
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is an old hotel, with no amenities, but close to everything you would need. Given the price I expected more, however, the front desk clerk was very helpful and friendly. Also, although not fancy, the shower had lots of very hot water with a powerful stream.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exceliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good staff make this hotel a place worth staying at. The building is old but clean. It is not fancy and a bit overpriced for what you get. it is convenient to downtown, easy to get to and not too far from the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: All the rooms are much the same. The security on the ground floor seemed to be somewhat lax. Windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DT1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked this hotel online as a place to stay overnight before taking the 5:30 a.m. ferry from Port Hardy to Prince Rupert. The hotel is located close to the local shopping centre, gas stations and A&W restaurant; however, the exterior is run-down and not terribly inviting. That said, the receptionist on the desk was friendly and helpful. She provided us with our room keys and told us that because we were leaving so early in the a.m. there would be no overnight clerk to check us out so we were just to leave our keys on the front desk. She also provided us with a code to access the hotel if we went out in the evening and there was no desk clerk when we returned. My first thought was: "so what if there is an emergency?" Apparently, we have to call 911...The room, although a bit run-down is clean and although there was is no air conditioning, the front desk clerk provided us with a fan when we requested one. In fairness, this is a small, rural town and the selection of hotels is limited. Also, as the saying goes "you get what you pay for" and at $100 per night, this is it.

Room Tip: No Air Conditioning; close to ferry; no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedroverOttawa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Hardy hotels

British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was the only place we could find with availability on short notice in Port Hardy. We were catching the ferry out early in the morning, and wanted to spend the night so that we wouldn't have to be driving in the middle of the night.
The furnishings were old, the beds tired, and the bathroom was dark. Although tidy'ish, it didn't seem very clean. Thank god we were only there for one short night.
The positives though was the lady at the front desk was very nice. The room had a mini fridge and microwave, which was great for traveling with our 15 month old, and it was in walking short distance to the gas station (which sold milk and snacks), and the Mall which has Subway and A&W.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseyWol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a church-based low-income residence peddling rooms on the side for exorbitant fees. At least the sheets appeared clean.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macaronic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We payed $117 for a room at this motel which is far too much for what is provided however given the demand for accomodation in Port Hardy good luck to them.
The hotel surrounds are badly in need of a facelift and a good lick of paint would be a good start.
Check in was good with a pleasant young lady helping us out. The room was large and airey with two double beds, frig, microwave limited coffee making facilities.
The carpet was an off white colour and I don't know what genius chose that colour for a motel -
was a bit grubby however the remainder of the room and bathroom were nice and clean.
Beds and pillows were comfortable except the sheets seemed a bit worn to me but did the job.
The room was adequate after a long ferry trip.
Free wifi and parking and was nice and quiet

Room Tip: Overpriced but not a lot of other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
0.2 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
162 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
44 reviews
5.3 mi away
Airport Inn
Airport Inn
#5 of 6 in Port Hardy
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Place

Property: Providence Place
Address: 7050 Rupert Street, Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Providence Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Providence Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing