We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and sufficient”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Glen Lyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glen Lyon Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Hardy
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean and sufficient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has friendly staff, clean rooms with views and Internet access. Meals were basic pub fare. The seafood is fresh but drowned in their respective sauces. Two wines were on offer It's a bit of a hike from the bus drop off to the hotel. Staff at the bus station were happy to phone a cab for us. If you are catching the ferry to Prince Rupert there is a shuttle bus with a 4.50am pick up from the hotel. Town is a short walk away but not worth the effort if the weather is bad.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SargentMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    68
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
32
71
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed there for a night after getting of the ferry late.
Clean and tidy, but badly needing updating.
Good food though and very friendly helpful staff
I am surprised at the price though, it cost me $160 for one night, very expensive!!
I should have pre booked through trip advisor!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammyjo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
283 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Its an ok place with nice people. Needs a little more attention to housekeeping and if you were wondering this is where those tiny soap bars ended up.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The views of the harbour were good and the staff friendly and helpful. Enjoyable walk setting out from outside hotel. The room was a good size but rather past its prime, though generally clean. Unfortunately the bed had the appearance at least, of not having had the sheets changed and was not that comfy. Not the best value hotel/b&b we stayed at in Canada but OK for 1 night and fairly convenient for ferry/airport.

Room Tip: We has a downstairs room. Maybe an upstairs room would have avoided the noise of people walking arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorisBolero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Not a great choice of accommodation in Port Hardy, but the Glen Lyon was fine for an overnight stay before catching the ferry. Spacious room, comfortable bed, and good-sized bath tub. Lovely views and lots of bald headed eagles. Staff were very helpful at all times, and especially when I arrived late morning and my room was not yet ready - they made sure it was the next one to be cleaned.

The restaurant was not so good: I had both lunch and dinner there and for some reason all the food, and the coffee, was served tepid.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on the way to catch the ferry to Prince Rupert. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious and had a view of the harbour. Reception was very friendly and helpful, offering wake up calls and early coffee at reception for all who had to rise early to catch the ferry.

The only criticism was the dining room where the meals were simple but OK but the service was terrible. It could well be that the server had an off day.

We would certainly stay here again but would find somewhere else for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithmccubbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Good accommodation just south of the town centre. When the tide is in, the balconies are almost right over the water of Hardy Bay, with a view towards boats, trees and the beautiful Coast Mountains to the east. The hotel’s restaurant was closed for renovations when I was there, but the bar was open. A couple of doors down is another hotel with a pub/restaurant.
No decaf coffee packets available, no newspapers available in the morning, no encouragement of recycling or energy conservation. Old clock-radio, but it works. Pillows too soft, but mattress nice and firm. Wish they would promote recycling.
Perfectly pleasant room and stay. Quiet, all non-smoking rooms. Microwave and fridge, hair blower. Good desk chair and free wireless.
The walk into town takes about 15 minutes.
Loved my view of the Quarterdeck Marina and Fishermen’s Wharf next door and forest and snow-capped mountains beyond.

Room Tip: upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
0.2 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
0.9 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
190.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Lyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Lyon Inn

Property: Glen Lyon Inn
Address: 6435 Hardy Bay Road | P.O. Box 103, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Lyon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
44 Room Motel Type with Doors to the outside - 3 floors, with 2nd and 3rd floors all having balconies overlooking Hardy Bay All rooms have a great Ocean view. We have Restaurant and Lounge on the Premises: open Daily Walking distance is 1 mile to the center of town along the Inner Harbour and 15 minutes driving to the Airport and 7 to 10 minutes driving to the ferry terminal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glen Lyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Lyon Hotel Port Hardy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing