We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last option”
Review of Airport Inn

Airport Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airport Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Hardy
Reviewed June 9, 2013

One of the most basic motels I have ever stayed in in North America- Stuffy corridors with a strange smell- dated, ugly décor, concrete block walls, flimsy windows (?secure). Cleanliness questionable. No coffee in room. Arrived late at night as part of transfer off ferry from Prince Rupert. Strangely, the motel boasts a large liquor store next to reception. This might help drown one's disappointment on arrival. The bed springs were squeaky and the mattress lumpy. Let's not mention towels and sheets. Breakfast was good but took 45 minutes to arrive the next morning (reception was locked and barred). There aren't many options in Port Hardy but this must be at the bottom of the list.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKHEDGEHOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortHardyAPI, Public Relations Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Hello UKHEDGEHOG,
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

We appreciate feedback because it helps us improve our service and ability to address issues within our facility. We take pride in maintaining our facility and also are planning for a transition to upgraded décor and more modern furnishing. We are making headway with our transition but it does take time - we have a small dedicated staff that supports and runs the operations from day to day and we are striving to do the best we can.

In regards to cleanliness - this is one of the things we take great pride in - we have spoken to the manager and cleaning staff regarding your experience and changes have been made to the inspection routines within the Inn.

S.P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Airport Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were booked at this motel as there were no vacancies in the preferred motels in town. As many have said, it is basic. Front desk staff were friendly enough but no enthusiasm. No fridge or kettle, although when I asked a kettle was found. The room furnishings were old and looked tired but all was clean. We had a car so were able to "escape" for the afternoon and evening. It was hot when we were there and the room was a little difficult to sleep in until late in the night. We were on the ferry out in the morning so did not try the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HAMACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

bad odor in the rooms, no fridge, no coffee maker in the rooms but there is one for everyone in the main lobby to use. very old and needs some upgrading. only restaurant is the one in the hotel and is basically japanese, only a few western items on the list. not close to anything. cab ride to port hardy cost us $25 and well worth it for a good meal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortHardyAPI, Public Relations Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello Liane F,

I am sorry that your stay with us was not great.

I would like to apologize for the lack of coffee and fridge. For a brief period this last year we removed coffee in the rooms to gauge what the impact would be. Many Guests like yourself found this an inconvenience and so we have put back coffee makers into all the rooms. In regards to fridges - not all our rooms come with them - however, we are currently in the midst of adding more fridges so that the majority of rooms have them. I regret that your room did not have one.

If you were in the region taking part in our amazing fishing and had perishables - we often do take care of the fresh fish for our guests. If in the future if you are back this way and require any special care for the goods you are transporting - our team would be more than happy to assist you.

I do understand that the restaurant at the Airport Inn did not meet your needs on the night that you stayed with us. Karai Restaurant does specialize in Japanese, Korean and some Western Cuisine.

The Airport Inn is currently moving forward with changes around the property and within - we are working on modernising the interior and working hard to make sure Guests have a comfortable stay with us.

Thank you again for your review.

S.P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Like some reviewers, I booked this with a bit of trepidation. I originally called another hotel, closer into town, but it was much more expensive, so opted for this hotel. As we had our own vehicle, its location out near the airport wasn't an issue for us. Again, we arrived off the ferry from Prince Rupert at 10.30pm and didn't arrived at the hotel until well after 11pm, but they cater for lots of travellers coming in off the ferries at that hour of night. Our room was spacious and clean, the beds very comfortable, pillows good and the bathroom worked well with a good shower. The carpets may be a bit tired looking, as are some of the fixtures, but it is clean and functioning and comfortable. It was also very quiet, and in a nice area, and the staff were very friendly and helpful, and there was ample parking for our vehicle and camper. The restaurant serves a limited breakfast menu, but it was all we needed. It would seem that all the hotels are pretty busy with people arriving off the ferries, and we were glad we booked a couple of nights before or we wouldn't have got a room. It would seem that some of the bus tour companies have discovered it and are using it for a night's stopover, taking up quite a few of the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronmoon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortHardyAPI, Public Relations Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hello ronmoon66,

Thank you for your comments.

The Staff at the Airport Inn are glad that you had a comfortable stay - we strive to take care of every guest as best as we can. We are very familiar with late arrivals (due to ferry schedules) and we are pleased that everything worked out well during your stay.

The new Management is aware of the items on our property that need addressing (carpets and fixtures) - we have a plan in place to modernize many aspects of the Inn.

We do hope that you will visit again and see the changes that we are making.

Regards,

S.P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Clearly, the Airport Inn did not have the best reputation -- certainly not on TripAdvisor -- until a somewhat positive review from earlier this year. Based on that review, and on an exchange of e-mails I had with one of the owners, I decided to give it a try for the final night of my two-week trip that was primarily through the B.C. Rockies. (Port Hardy isn't in the Rockies, but I previously had fallen in love with the gorgeous ferry ride from Prince Rupert to Port Hardy, and wanted to take that ride again.)

All of that being said, that didn't completely my feeling of trepidation as I walked in. But first off, the people behind the desk were very pleasant, even with the clock approaching 11:30 p.m. I opened the door to my room -- it was large and it was clean. The carpet seemed a bit old (but very clean), so I'll give the benefit of the doubt and assume that it's coming up on their to-do list. When I opened my bed, the bedding looked and felt brand new. The bathroom was clean, with ample towels, hot water, and good water pressure in the shower. The whole area is very, very quiet.

There is a small Asian-style restaurant downstairs, but it does serve an American-style breakfast. It's a limited menu -- eggs, pancakes, waffles, French toast, and the typical side orders) -- but it was a good start to the next morning.

Some FYI observations:
-- This is a LONG cab ride from the ferry terminal (but so is downtown Port Hardy). It would have been $30 with tip, but fortunately, I shared it with two other travelers, so we split it three ways. The shuttle bus at the ferry terminal does not come out here.
-- There's no getting around the fact that this is an older motel. But whatever it might have been like before (based on reviews here), the new owners seem to be making a genuine effort to improve it. I spoke at length with one of the employees upon checking out the following morning. She had worked for the original owners, who were from the area. It apparently started going downhill after they sold it. The new (current) owners also are from the area. She is back working for them and says they really do want to do things the right way.
-- If you are flying out of the Port Hardy airport, it's an easy five-minute walk on a recently paved road. If you're carting a lot of luggage (I wasn't, so was glad to make the walk), the motel does offer a shuttle service.

Bottom line: I felt safe here and felt I was sleeping in clean, comfortable surroundings. Particularly if you're flying into or out of Port Hardy and just need that kind of a place to stay for the night, I now have no hesitation in recommending it. It's not a 5-star hotel -- but it's a good solid 3 1/2.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muskrat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortHardyAPI, Public Relations Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Hello muskrat88,

Thank you for your comments.

The new owners and staff are striving to maintain and improve the Inn - we have recently updated the Wireless network so there is greater coverage.

We do hope to see you in the near future, as many changes and updates are coming soon.

Regards,

S.P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Cigarette burns on the blankets and carpet, no coffee makers, no bar fridge,wifi did not work. The hotel restaurant( only one in the area) only serves sushi !!! The pub is shut down. The front staff are pleasant enough, the rooms are as clean as they can be given the age of everything. If you are spending more than one night I recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingwrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We were just at the Airport Inn for a hockey tournament, after reading the reviews on this site, I was terrified to stay here. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, staff very helpful and accomodating for us. Very quiet. The options in Port Hardy are limited but this hotel is out of the "downtown core". Others who stayed in the hotels closer to the arena saw lots of trouble; drinking and drug use right outside their balcony!! I felt very safe at this hotel and would stay here again over the other hotels closer to the arena.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoriamom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hardy
5.6 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Hardy
73 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
5.2 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
45 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
170 reviews
14.9 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Inn

Address: 4030 Byng Rd., Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Hardy
Price Range: $88 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Hotel Port Hardy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing