We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Can Only be so Lucky to Stay at the Best Place in Port Hardy.”
Review of Orange Tabby B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hardy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orange Tabby B&B
Ranked #3 of 16 Port Hardy B&B and Inns
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One Can Only be so Lucky to Stay at the Best Place in Port Hardy.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It happened by accident that I met the amazing woman who runs the Orange Taby on a morning walk my first day in Port Hardy. A very wonderful accident as I hadn't found accommodations yet and needed them. Susan is very friendly and offered that I come by later and look at her B&B. So I did and I will never forget the 2 amazing months I spent in Port Hardy with Susan and James as my hosts. They are knowledgable about everything you need to know, from the right way to cook fresh caught crab, to all the great hiking and fishing spots, and where to eat and what to see. The guest areas are very private and separate and include your own washroom and a fully equipped kitchen with laundry as well. The rooms and living areas are tastefully decorated making you feel as comfortable as you would be at home. Susan is very particular and meticulous about cleaning and disinfecting. Some of the rooms have an amazing ocean view and with the excellent location you are in walking distance from everything you need in town as well. On occasions you will come home to fresh baked bread and scones or a home cooked meal, but my favorite will always be the molasses raisin bread. Thanks for the amazing stay Susan and James! You two are fantastic ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Its a very quiet clean and comfortable Bed and Breakfast. Susan and James were without question the friendliest hosts ive run across. I work on the road 10 months of the year, it is hard to find such a place in my travels. They were there making sure all my needs were taken care of, without being bothersome. I happened to be there on ST. Patricks Day, they had an excellent meal prepared, and then after we went down to the local sports lounge and had a couple green beer, i enjoyed my stay there and made friends with them that i will not soon forget. If you are out that way you must call them and book your stay, you will not regret it. Thanks again Susan and James for all the meals the baking and pastries you had for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Enroute via ferry to Prince Rupert my wife and I stayed for two nights and another night when coming back. Rooms were clean but a little small, beds were okay and breakfast was very good. Town is quite small so almost any place would do for location to ferry.

Room Tip: Only three rooms to choose from. The Pug room is the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NEB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

James and Susan, owners of the Orange Tabby, truly go above and beyond in every aspect of their role as innkeepers. Both are superb cooks, gracious hosts and knowledgable residents of the northern island. They are attentive without being intrusive. Guest rooms are at ground level and very private. One of our party misplaced his wallet. How many hosts would drive a worried guest to the ferry terminal late at night to set his mind at ease? Without question, this should be your first choice of where to stay in Port Hardy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

James and Susan make sure that every detail is taken care of...from booking a tour with Larry (we saw bears and elk), making sure a dinner was waiting upon our return, raincoats for an adventure in the woods, homemade champagne (wish we could buy some of that in the states!) to toast my parents 50th anniversary, healthy and hearty breakfast, comfortable and spotless rooms....there is no where else to stay in Port Hardy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband Tim and I have never been to this part of the Island, so we were excited,but unfamiliar with the area and what to do when we got there. The owners, James and Susan were fantastic and the first thing we were asked is "What will be your adventure for today?" They know everything there is to do and are gracious and friendly and eager to help you create your perfect adventure. Between the lovely room, yummy food and especially the charm of the hosts, we had a wonderful stay and plan to make it a yearly stop when we visit Canada. I do not have enough time to tell you about our adventure but let's just say that it was "paved" with lots of excitement .
Lynda & Tim .

Room Tip: We stayed in the orange tabby room. It was beautiful and cozy :) Even has a small fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

fabulous hosts, clean and well thought out rooms, immaculate linen. i cant say enough good things about this 5star gem in the middle of nowwhere. We went out on the beach with Susan and James and that was a new experience picking up clams and crabs and geoducks. Everywhere in town feels like 5 minutes walk, max,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Hardy hotels
0.7 mi away
Quarterdeck Inn & Marina Resort
0.3 mi away
Kwa'lilas Hotel
Kwa'lilas Hotel
#2 of 6 in Port Hardy
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier Side Landing
Pier Side Landing
#4 of 6 in Port Hardy
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glen Lyon Inn
Glen Lyon Inn
#3 of 6 in Port Hardy
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Coast Trail Backpacker's Hostel
5.2 mi away
Escape B&B
Escape B&B
#1 of 16 in Port Hardy
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tabby B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tabby B&B

Property: Orange Tabby B&B
Address: 8755 Hastings Street, Port Hardy, British Columbia V0N 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Hardy
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe rooms with private entrance one block from the beach and walking distance to all amenities. All rooms have private en-suite bathrooms, queen beds, TV, DVD, bar fridge, bistro tables, bathrobes and slippers to make your stay more comfortable.We now offer a brand new common area and a kitchen has been aded downstairs for longer term rentals. A fully cooked breakfast is served every morning to start you on your day. James & Susan have an extensive knowledge of the North Island and are always willing to help. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing