We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillcrest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel(Biggin-by-Hartington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Mousehole(Whiston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
137
19
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
19
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthorpe cloudhonesty barhomemade breadpot of teab bon arrivalpeak districtdovedale areafresh eggsstayed in the twin roomcouple who rununbeatable locationfamous stepping stoneslovely gardenbreakfast was deliciousperfect staynew venture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 159 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a really lovely, relaxing B and B. Margaret and Dan are truly wonderful hosts,very welcoming and friendly and always ready with offers of hot drinks and biscuits as soon as you walk in the door. In beautiful surroundings with lots of excellent walks, for which you don't always have to use the car. The rooms were extremely comfortable and the beds the best we've ever slept in. We are hoping to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aprilia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After a hard days walk on the Limestone Way we had a great welcome at Hillcrest with tea and biscuits. The rooms were excellent even though we shared a bathroom. Excellent choice for breakfast.
Hillcrest is 1/4 mile off route for Limestone Way walkers but there is no pub in the village so a taxi is required to the nearest pub for evening meal, ours cost £6 return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walker003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hillcrest house is not "boutique"; it doesn't have trendy (aloof) staff; it doesn't have minimalist decor (or breakfast), or a busy night life. But what it does have in abundance is charm, hosts who pay just the right amount of attention to you, a truly great breakfast, and bags of little extra touches like a hostess who provides you, without any prompting, complimentary afternoon tea, with homemade cake, and Sunday papers in their sunny lounge (perfect after a 6 mile walk along Dovedale (virtually on the doorstep) and back).

Room Tip: great views all around, so would be hard to go wrong
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

As a family we are very familiar with the area & come at least once a year. This was the first time we have stayed at Hillcrest & certainly won't be the last! My dad booked the accommodation as we were coming for just the two nights for an unfortunate family loss, it just so happened my aunt & uncle had also checked in to the same B&B! We were immediately welcomed by the warm, lovely & friendly Margaret & a welcoming pot of tea & homemade biscuits after being shown around & to our rooms. We took our tray of tea & biscuits out into the beautiful garden to join our other family members & a lovely friendly American couple (also guests)! We had a very comfortable clean & tidy room with a tea/coffee/water selection, hairdryer & magazines etc. The bed & linen has to be THE MOST comfortable I have ever slept in, it was like sleeping on a cloud! Breakfast times are very reasonable & VERY tasty with great portions & plenty of toast with homemade breads & jams & preserves, cereals, juice & fruit! Considering the unfortunate reason we were visiting Derbyshire this time round, we were made to feel extremely comfortable & relaxed! Infact on the day the American friends we had met were due to leave they were hoping to stay another night, but unfortunately it was already fully booked! On the day we then came to leave we also decided that we loved it so much we would like to stay another night ourselves but as Hillcrest is such a wonderful place to stay, again, they were already fully booked. After we had checked out, myself, my mum, dad, aunt & uncle sat in the exceptionally comfortable & relaxing lounge for easily a good 1-2 hours chatting & reading papers & were offered a pot of coffee & biscuits from Dan, whilst the family dog Lady sat & relaxed with us & they're beautiful grandson kept us entertained! There is no doubt we shall ALL come to stay again & again, together or separately! Margaret & Dan & also they're lovely daughter are fantastic warm hosts with a beautiful B&B x

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laionie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I highly recommend Hillcrest House! It's extremely clean and the bedrooms are beautifully furnished. The breakfast is amazing and biscuits and tea are replenished in your room daily :-D! The couple who run the place are extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. There is a nice sitting room where you can read the paper and relax and there is also a beautiful garden area where we sat and watched the sun set. There is also a great little serve yourself bar - the prices of drinks are very reasonable! It couldn't be closer to the hills and the scenery is absolutely beautiful. There are lots of things to do in the area too.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews