We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for our New Year stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hollington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian F
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our New Year stay”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived, the Mews lived up to expectations. Phillipa, the host, made sure we had everything we needed and left us to get on with our weekend. Champagne in the hot tub to see in the New Year, local pub for meals - all brilliant. The cottage was well equipped and everything worked. The fires and heating kept us cosy when we got back from walks in the Peaks (Dovedale is only 20 minutes away in the car). Will certainly consider booking again - you should too!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Annie54
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay ”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned from midweek break at The Mews. (Family get together )
Totally agree with previous reviews... Best cottage we have ever stayed in.
Everything was so well thought out ... Simple things that make the difference.... Large kettle ,teapot & toaster made breakfast hassle free. Numerous pots & pans & crockery.
Plenty of literature on local surroundings, games & cards for rainy days, although we had great weather.
Plastic cups for the hot tub & a lovely welcoming gift of fresh farm eggs, jug of milk & home made cake.
We visited the Red Lion one evening & were given a friendly welcome so of course we had to go again on pie night.
Can't wait to return to the mews & the red lion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your family get together at The Mews, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. That welcome with the lovely fresh goodies sounds fabulous, and with everything else the owner has provided we don't think it could get much better! We are so pleased your stay was "perfect." We hope you return again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The hot tub rocks!”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I booked the Mews for a girls weekend away, with the hot tub being our main lure! And we were not disappointed! The hot tub comfortably fitted all 7 of us. The cottage is beautifully decorated and so homely. The photographs really do not do it justice- it's much bigger than I expected. We are all already considering booking our next trip with husbands and partners. Simply can't fault it. Brilliant!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub!
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful property, friendly owners”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

beautiful property! The photos do not really do it justice. Well equipped and in a picturesque setting. We loved the hot tub with its lovely outlook. The owners Phillipa and Julian could really not have been more hospitable or helpful during our stay. The local pub,The Red Lion, which is 10 mins walk away serves good food and is very friendly. A slightly longer stroll takes you to the Saracens Head which is a gastropub well worth a visit. Close by,Ashbourne is a nice market town with some great shops and cafes. We will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allyson H
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful home from home”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Home from home ~ I wish my home was like The Mews or The Retreat which we also rented for our group.
Beautifully finished accommodation, a kitchen with everything we needed, a lovely lounge, nice bedrooms with comfortable beds, 2 with ensuite shower rooms & a lovely house bathroom.
We loved the hot tub facing the field with the friendly sheep that were fairly interested in us humans especially if we had bread & gorgeous lambs frolicking about.
One of our group was in a wheelchair & The Retreat was perfect all on one level.
The weather was mixed, but the Sunday was sunny & warm, some of us went to nearby Alton Towers with the rest relaxing in the hot tub & on the back terrace.
The Red Bull within walking distance is friendly with a good reasonable menu, they also have a good range in pies.
The owners Philippa & Julian were lovely & very helpful :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peacefullness in modern barn conversions
Liked least: the rain on Saturday afternoon :)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonsco...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Gorgeous !”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just come back from a weekend at The Mews and we absolutely loved it. Philippa and her family are the perfect hosts - they make you feel so welcome and then leave you to enjoy your time at the cottage.
All the bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the hot tub is the perfect way to finish the day. The only regret is that we didn't stay longer ! We'll definitely be back and will recommend highly to family and friends.
Sharon
x

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda K
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage for a quiet, relaxing escape”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at the Mews in Hollington. Its was very easy to get to with a sat nav, making the journey there completely pleasant. When we walked into the cottage there was a real "wow" factor as the converted barn has a warm but open feeling as you walk in. The kitchen is well stocked with pots and pans and general equipment, and there was a jug of milk left for us on entry and some yummy crumpets. We though the lounge area was lovely - a lovely room with seating and dining space for 8 people, although the dining table was in a slightly cramp position. There was a lovely feature fireplace with gas powered fire making the cottage have a very cozy feel. There are enough "real" beds for 6 people, 2 double and 1 twin, but there are also at least 3 temporary beds, leaving plenty of room for plenty of people. The upstairs double bed is a particularly lovely room. The hot tub is excellent - plenty of space for all of us to get in, and quite advance in terms of features with various levels of bubble settings. the hot tub is set on a lovely patio with a table for dining al fresco, and overlooking a lovely back yard filled with sheep and phesants.
A great cottage for a quiet relaxing escape, not suitable for those looking for a bit of a party cottage, as there isn't a town to be seen within a 20min drive. Walking in the surround area is fairly flat, but there are (very muddy when we were there) bridle paths around. The cottage is on the edge of the beautiful peak district so you don't have to go far for a more adventurous and glorious countryside. Perfect for those looking to really relax for the weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing