We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, shame about the weather”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Wetton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great pub, shame about the weather”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Twelve of us went for lunch at the Royal Oak in Wetton on the 29th December last year. We arrived at the pub soaking wet and were met by a lovely warm log fire. The pub is dog friendly has a good bar menu and a good selection of ale. The sandwhichs were good, the local ham was recommended. There is lovely walking from the pub making this place an ideal stop off for those walking and exploring the Manifold valley and surrounding area. We will definately be back and look forward to camping at the pub's campsite in the summer.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolied_egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    90
    17
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Old Fashioned Village Pub”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed in Wetton over Christmas and the Royal Oak was a friendly and comfortable pub for a drink or food.

We ate there once and had the 'special' which was steak pie and for £5 it was great value, very tasty and great portions.

This pub also has an attached camp site and is walker/cyclist friendly, so if your in the area pop in.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamborock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peak District Gem”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This pub is quintessentially English. We just happened to pop in after walking to Thor's cave, and along the Manifold track yesterday afternoon. A local folk music group were playing in one corner, the real ale is fantastic, and they serve good pub grub.
I have often been disappointed by pubs in the peak district, but not by The Royal Oak. It was packed, so I guess others share my view.
They do have a notice up asking walkers to remove or cover muddy boots with plastic boot covers.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tez-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good pub grub in a village inn”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at the camp site at this little village inn for a night on our way across from Nottinghamshire to Wales. The camp site is good value at £5 per adult per night with basic but clean facilities (one shower/toilet for men and one for women) and is situated behind the pub in a field between the churchyard and a field of sheep.

The pub itself is quite old fashioned; it's still a village pub, with friendly staff and friendly locals. The food is reasonably priced and tasty, with a small menu. My husband's gammon was juicy and not too salty and my Stilton crumble was flavoursome. The main courses were both served with some salad (none of the fancy bagged stuff here - just iceberg lettuce, onion, tomato and green pepper), garden peas and some excellent chunky chips. For dessert, we had a sticky toffee pudding and the chocolate orange explosion (chocolate and orange marbled sponge topped with chocolate sauce), both of which were really good.

When we arrived at lunchtime, there was plenty of people eating what looked like very generously sized sandwiches and the lovely shady beer garden was busy.

The pub also has a couple of friendly cats hanging around for treats and cuddles.

All in all, we had a good meal, a hot shower and a comfy pitch for the night, so all was great for us.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ad&Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Level Contributor
276 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional village pub in a relatively quiet peak district village”
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Lovely traditional village pub that serves good traditional pub grub- large sandwiches, soup, chips, typical pub main meals at very reasonable prices.
Wetton, although only a few miles from Hartington, is much less crowded - so parking is easy and the village is much more relaxed. Excellent walking in the manifold valley from here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Inn also viewed

Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
Wetton, Peak District National Park
 
Hartington, Peak District National Park
Alstonefield, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing