We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”
Review of The Saracen's Head

The Saracen's Head
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Shirley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Faultless. Really nice country pub serving excellent quality food. Helpings are very generous and the choice on the blackboard is very good. Don't rely on the menu on the website as we found the blackboard had an even better choice. Prices are very reasonable ranging from £10 - £14 for mains with steaks £18 - £20. We skipped the starter and pleased we did as we were very full after our mains and bowls of fresh veg and chips. The staff were very attentive and really friendly. We will be definitely be going back - what a find!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    91
    23
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Pub food....... as it should be !”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Going to keep this one really short. We visited here last week for the first time having heard good reviews from other people. This really is great, a large menu on the blackboard (they could really do with 2 as everyone stands around the one and it's not very nice for the table by it) covering all types of food and tastes.

Everything we had was very hot of excellent quality, with pleasant staff. It is recommended to book and think this is wise as they were turning people away when we were there. I would also advise going early as the car park is a bit small and you can struggle to park.

Keep up the good work, we'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, Leics
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxed quality”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked a few weeks ago to celebrate a 21st birthday. Lovely atmosphere and busy, which was expected for a Saturday evening. Attentive, but not over-attentive, staff helped and the food was generally good. Only issues were one of our number having insipid chips, which were replaced, but not until the end of the meal so a bit pointless. Also, a steak had hardly any accompaniments (eg potatoes of any sort, other vegetables), but was itself good. But we stayed for 3 hours and really enjoyed the occasion. Would we return? Definitely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ads677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Midday Lunch”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Lovely cosy pub in a beautiful villiage location, offering a pleasant welcome and friendly atmosphere. Good selection of well presented meals at reasonable prices.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everthing, sevice and food top quality, Robin and Terry and all their staff are excellent, look after you and make sure your meal is enjoyed in great surroundings

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saracen's Head also viewed

 
Thorpe, Ashbourne
 

Been to The Saracen's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing